We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, Great service”
Review of Berns Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Berns Hotel
Ranked #67 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, Great service”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed at Berns for 3 nights over New Year. This being the start of our honeymoon we were very excited to ensure everything was smooth running! I cannot agree more that Daniella was a super receptionist, her manner and helpfulness was great, and the staff on reception really helped us, from choosing a boat trip to booking us into restaurants. We booked a Large room with balcony and ended up with ( this maybe due to honeymoon) what resembled a small apartment! We had a kitchentte, large walk in shower and foyer/dressing room. It was slightly wierd being off a fire stairwell, but we found made it all the more private. The NYE dinner was amazing, and the ambience there relaxed and fun. The ONLY gripe that I had, was the noise from the club downstairs. We were on the fourth floor, and NYE is NYE, there is going to be a party going on, but when it is a week day and there is still reverberating music at 3am, it may get a little much for some people ( I am thinking about how my father would have not have been impressed) so this is my only constructive criticism for those booking and maybe adverse to noise. Location was central and easy to walk to the Old Town and do some fab sightseeing. We loved sitting in the bar chiling out with a glass of wine and service again was always friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Room 431, down the fire escape, but private and has an amazing large circular window overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    252
    84
    50
    30
See reviews for
68
244
50
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We booked through Mr & Mrs Smith, to stay over the New Year's Eve break. We requested a room on a high floor (to avoid noise from bar/restaurant) and were given a room on the 5th floor which was perfect- no noise what so ever and even had a little platter of chocolates & fruit waiting for us on arrival!

Overall the location is great, beautiful building with the most amazing restaurant. On New Year's Eve we had a lovely 6 course asian-fusion dinner, with a DJ and dancing until the early hours along with very cool Stockholm people who had queued for hours to get in! This is obviously the 'place to be'. Staff are friendly and attentive.

The rooms- booked a deluxe room (one up from standard) which was fine. Large room with separate lounge area, the bedroom had a little balcony, nice views over both sides of Berns. My only complaints would be, no tea and coffee facilities in the room and the bathroom was small and slightly dated. Apart from that, excellent.

We requested a late check out which was no problem- great.

Thanks to all the staff, great stay. Would love to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurena7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This hotel has a great city centre location, a stunning dining room and good bedrooms. Our friends were concerned about noise so moved rooms for the 1st to a higher floor however we stayed on the first floor and had no noise issues from the bar. The bathrooms are good with good quality toiletries. We went into the bar on return from town and one of our party had issues with a very rude barman complaining about us ordering a large round of drinks at the bar and getting him confused - very poor customer service and a bad attitude, hence the only reason for the average rating. We were completely ignored and it took 20 mins to get served afterwards.
Breakfast the next morning was very good with a good range of options and thankfully great service!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brightonbeachboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Having stayed at Berns several times in november and december in both business and leisure I get more and more convinced that this is the best hotel in Stockholm. Comfortable rooms, spectacular breakfast, wonderful restaurant and perfect location. The service is also great, nearly asian standard. The receptionist Daniella has been chosen "nicest receptionist in Sweden" by me and my colleagues. Try to get rooms on the 6th floor; they are really something. Dont miss the garlic haricots vert in the asian restaurant!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scaniahelsingb0rg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Me and my family stayed there over a long weekend in August and the four of us did all enjoy
our stay there. Great rooms spacious with a great bed and a flatscreen TV. Very good restaurant, asian cuisine. The service from the hotel staff was good, overall a great experience. I hope we will go there again someday, and I will and have been recommending this Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annamj_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallorca
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Stayed here four nights over Christmas and had an indifferent stay.
The hotel has a really nice charm and feel to it with delightfully large chandeliers gracing and lighting the dining room and bar area...
We ate breakfast in the hotel every morning and found it to offer a good choice of continental food and in addition bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs etc. Given the cost of food in Stockholm, breakfast at euro 22 was a good deal.We ate in the hotels Thai style restaurant on several occasions and enjoyed the Christmas plate which included excellent sushi.
Staff in the hotel were all excellent and the reception was always staffed with a smile.
The location of the hotel is also excellent.
The major negative of this hotel is without doubt the intrusive noise generated by the night clubs within the building. Even though we were on the third floor and wore ear plugs to bed, you could still here the music and feel the thumping of the sounds below...and this until 4am plus..
The night club is only on Fridays and Saturdays and it was also on for a Christmas holiday party on the 25th so unfortunately we encountered three noisy nights.
We would stay at the hotel again, but, we would make sure that our stay is not for a weekend...when the club is on.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel for their guaranteed quietest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hobsonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Uppsala Län, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

A very good hotel, in the middle of Stockholm. Berns is probably the most classical restaurant, bar, etc in Stockholm. Strindbergs book "the red room" takes place in Stockholm and the red room at Berns is one of the key locations and also the reason for the name of the book. The hotel has small, but good rooms, fantastic service and as a bonus you get a VIP-card to some of the most popular nightclubs in Stockholm.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunnar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#18 of 154 in Stockholm
1,373 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
552 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 154 in Stockholm
1,561 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#19 of 154 in Stockholm
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berns Hotel

Property: Berns Hotel
Address: 8 Naeckstroemsgatan | Berzelii Park, Stockholm 111 47, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#38 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#47 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Berns Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the best-kept secrets in Stockholm. Located in a central city alley, Berns Hotel is a premium boutique hotel full of modern design. At the same time it is part of the legendary house of Berns dating back to 1863. Maybe it's the secret entrance that has made guests such as Rihanna, Bill Gates, Noomi Rapace and Dalai Lama pass through the doors. Or maybe it's the majestic breakfast hall with crystal chandeliers and mirrors. Either way, Berns Hotel is known for excellent service.Berns Hotel also opens the doors to Stockholm's hottest nightlife. When your stay include days from Wednesday to Saturday you will get a VIP wristband allowing you to jump the queues to the best nightclubs of the central city. You may also sleep in the morning after and receive a refreshing Bloody Mary before your late check-out. Private parking is found nearby and costs 550 SEK per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Berns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berns Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing