We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend at Berns Hotel”
Review of Berns Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Berns Hotel
Ranked #71 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Weekend at Berns Hotel”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Had a terrific weekend at Berns Hotel, room comfortable, staff very helpful (particularly Micaela) who made every effort to make my stay as comfortable and fun as possible. Couldn't recommend Berns Hotel more.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    244
    83
    50
    30
See reviews for
61
233
48
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed at the Berns Hotel at the end of last month and were most satisfied. Location can't be beat, our room was on an upper floor away from the noise of the disco, and the staff did everything they could to cool the room when temperatures soared. Bed was very comfortable. We would return to the Berns.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor to avoid noise from music below. Rooms have no A/C so be prepared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
96 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

If you are unfortunate, and happen to book into this otherwise beautiful hotel on a Friday or Saturday night, you will be lucky to sleep. The owners need to take a hard look at their business and decide whether they operate a night club business or a hotel. It is impossible to sleep, and while lying awake waiting for 4am, I was actually angry, not just awake. I had booked a wedding party in the Berns. The reservations people were great, good deal, but it was on no occasion pointed out to me that sleep would not be possible. I did not read the reviews carefully enough. If you stay here at the weekend, do not expect your bed to stop shaking until exactly 4am. And don't expect an apology or a reduction in your bill, it's simply the business model. But it is a disgrace to take 200 euros per night for a room which is so obviously not suited to sleep.

Other difficulties we had were with the bouncers guarding the premises barking orders at anyone approaching, the waiter in the cocktail bar on the roof who told us "here, we relax, we sit down and then we order our drinks" in a completely patronising tone as we tried to recover from our sleepless weekend on Sunday.

On the good side, the building is beautiful during the day, the breakfast is great, the day staff at the reception and on breakfast are nice, the food at the bistro was very nice.

So while it might work for a midweek business trip, it would be impossible to recommend otherwise. Even to clubber friends who I know, who would probably prefer to spend their 200 euros elsewhere. Just such a shame, but I guess that they are making so much money from the heaving club that they don't really care about who stays at the weekend. Reading back on the reviews now, their responses basically say as much.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barneyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernsHotel, Manager at Berns Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We strive to be Stockholm’s best hotel and that is why we always appreciate our guests’ feedback.

As you correctly mentioned we have a famous nightclub and several bars at Berns. We try our best to be as open as possible to our guests about this part of the business. This is why we have the popular weekend concept – Berns makes your weekend rock – that allows our guests to visit not only our club but five other of Stockholm’s hottest clubs for free and without standing in any queue. We are truly sorry that you didn’t receive any information from us and that you felt that the information about Berns’ nightclub wasn’t clear enough.

During weekends we try to allocate guests that have requested quiet rooms in the quiet ones we have. It is a shame for us that we couldn’t fulfill your wish.

We are very happy that you did enjoy our breakfast, our Bistro and that the reception staff made a positive impression on you.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write this review and we are sincerely sorry that we didn’t fulfill your expectations.

Kind Regards,
Anna Bengtsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Everything was great during my stay.
The staff is friendly, warm and helpful.
The rooms are nice and with personality.
Cleaning services are excellent.
The products are Malin+Goetz.
The location is excellent, right by the old town and not too far from Södermalm (about 20-30 mins walk through or around the old city).
The only drawback was Air conditioning. It was non-existent at the time, but then keeping the windows open provided all the necessary fresh air.
Not sure about value...Stockholm is pretty expensive overall so the hotel didn't seem expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ergi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

My partner and I come at the Berns each time we come to Stockholm now. This is the 3rd time in a row. And it never disappoints us.
Ok - we know: it's a noisy hotel because of the various venues it hosts: 2 cool restaurants and various night venues. But on the other hand, the venues are amongst the best in Stockholm and that is one of the reasons why this hotel is always so vibrant, so busy with happy and party people, so exciting !
The remedy: ask for the more quieter rooms.
This time: we were given a trade-off between a bit of a noisier room but large and with a fab balcony looking East on the top (6th) floor. Where the Summer Roof Garden Bar was a well ...
Or a quieter room on the back.
Well: of course we chose the fab panoramic view - and we enjoyed it all !
Especially on this very unique and fabulous long weekend in a town which rarely sees plain sunshine and 25 degrees like it has been this weekend !
On Saturday we woke up at 9.00 and - after going down for a MARVELLOUS buffet continental breakfast - we got back to our nest in the Sunshine and stayed on our private terrace until 12.00 pm !

So, in all, here is a list of the negatives and positives of the
Berns :

- Negatives: some rooms are t night a bit noisy because of the various vibrant venues; the hotel is a bit tired and will need refurbishment in the next years - but still absolutely ok for now; technology a bit old school (TV has only 20 odd TV crappy channels and there is still an iPod station - no good for iPhone 5s etc ..); bathroom not huge, but functional;

- Positives: Location is fab and could not be better; great breakfast in quality and quantity; several fantastic night venues - all free for Hotel guests; 2 very cool restaurants: a French brasserie and, above all: a fantastic Asian restaurant with breathtaking food and service and atmosphere; service is good and especially they are all extremely kind and helpful; price was good - there was also on top a very convenient summer weekend promotion; wifi is free are incredibly FAST !

Will we back at the Berns? you can bet we will !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucaMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaBengtsson, Hotel manager at Berns Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the nice feedback. Regarding the TV channels, we will see over the range to provide a more attractive choice for all our guests. Regarding Ipod station, I agree with you and we have purchased a new one that is on its way
Concerning your comment around the hotel being a bit tired, I can happily say that we have a renovation project that will be completed within this coming year.

I look forward to welcome you back to Berns Hotel,

Warm Regards,
Anna Bengtsson
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This was my first trip to Stockholm, but even though I only stayed two nights, I'm going to rush back here. I love this hotel. Walk out the front door and you are in the most beautiful small park with the water a very short distance. A Stockholm City Bike stand is right outside, and makes getting around anywhere in Stockholm easy and fun. The vibe inside the hotel was both cool and unpretentious. My room was tiny, but I actually liked that because it had a dramatic bay window/skylight that felt like I was floating in the clouds. Great rooftop bar. Great breakfast buffet with herring. Free water and licorice candy in the lobby. This might be the wrong place to stay with a larger party; even two people might feel very cramped in the room I had.

Room Tip: I liked the 5th floor room because the skylight/bay window was unique, but I can't speak for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zanderreps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaBengtsson, Hotel Manager at Berns Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you nice feedback, you are very welcome to rush back to us.

Best Regards,
Anna Bengtsson
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We love staying in smaller, less commercial hotels that offer not only comfort, but an interesting experience as well. The Berns was exactly what we love in a hotel. It is filled with history, and in the best location for shopping, restaurants, and visiting interesting sites; you can walk to everything. The staff was accommodating, full of helpful hints. The rooms were spacious (we booked 2 superior rooms) with very comfortable beds, Scandinavian design furniture, great bathrooms and one of our rooms had a private flower filled patio with views of the local architecture and a table to enjoy a good breakfast or a nice book, enchanting. The other room had Juliet balconies with beautiful views of the courtyard and surrounding Swedish buildings.

Our rooms were facing the courtyard in the back. The restaurants are in the front, facing the park. We stayed during the week and there were no noise issues, perhaps the front of the hotel or the weekend might have been different, I don't know. The Asian fusion restaurant in the hotel is set overlooking the park, and we sat in the outdoor garden, a very nice setting where we enjoyed good, but not great food. Other surrounding restaurants that we sampled were excellent. Overall, the Berns was perfect for us, providing a memorable Stockholm experience that we loved in the form of a small, unique, boutique hotel experience. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We loved our superior rooms facing the courtyard in the back. I suspect rooms facing the park and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#20 of 154 in Stockholm
1,333 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#11 of 154 in Stockholm
283 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#12 of 154 in Stockholm
1,489 reviews
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#24 of 154 in Stockholm
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berns Hotel

Property: Berns Hotel
Address: 8 Naeckstroemsgatan | Berzelii Park, Stockholm 111 47, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#38 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#50 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Berns Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the best-kept secrets in Stockholm. Located in a central city alley, Berns Hotel is a premium boutique hotel full of modern design. At the same time it is part of the legendary house of Berns dating back to 1863. Maybe it's the secret entrance that has made guests such as Rihanna, Bill Gates, Noomi Rapace and Dalai Lama pass through the doors. Or maybe it's the majestic breakfast hall with crystal chandeliers and mirrors. Either way, Berns Hotel is known for excellent service.Berns Hotel also opens the doors to Stockholm's hottest nightlife. When your stay include days from Wednesday to Saturday you will get a VIP wristband allowing you to jump the queues to the best nightclubs of the central city. You may also sleep in the morning after and receive a refreshing Bloody Mary before your late check-out. Private parking is found nearby and costs 550 SEK per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Berns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berns Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing