We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great option in Stockholm”
Review of Berns Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Berns Hotel
Ranked #67 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great option in Stockholm”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed at the Berns Hotel over a long weekend and it was a great option for a group of friends travelling together- centrally located, a massive club attached to it and a lovely outdoor terrace with great drinks.

The reception was great, the fact that the rooms were well sound-proofed was awesome, and the overall vibe was young and modern.

The only qualm would be that not all the rooms were the same (despite us all booking the same type of room - standard double - and paying the same rate), some rooms were much smaller and older than others. The bathroom in my room was so tiny, the water from the shower would flood the whole bathroom - other rooms had a separate, standalone shower. There was no room for 2 suitcases on the floor (without having to move them around and step all over and around them). Other rooms also had small balconies, mine did not. It felt like I was a little bit cheated with what I got.

Otherwise, having a club attached to the hotel is great, if you are in that frame of mind. The club was happening and jam-packed for 3 out of the 4 nights we were there. A nice place to start (or end) the night.

All in all, a highly recommended hotel and location - just make sure you get the right room!

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are better (to avoid the noise from the club) and try to make sure you get a spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annika F, Hotelldirektör at Berns Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for your review. Our hotel is located in a building thas is over 150 years old so unfortunately all rooms can't be the same. Being a Boutique Hotel, each room has a different lay-out and a unique design. We do know that some of the bathrooms are a bit out dated and hopefully we will be able to renovate them early in 2015.
Hope to welcome you back then.
Kind regards Annika Frisch, Act Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    244
    80
    49
    30
See reviews for
61
229
48
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Directly while entering the hotel you can hear latest chill out sounds from Ibiza. Don't be fooled by the historic background of the hotel from the 19th century, this hotel is more young and hip than any other hotel in Stockholm.
The service is awesome, but you have to pay extra for everything even ordering champagne glasses or ice to your room.
The rooms are the only thing disappointing in this hotel, they are quite small and a little bit untidy. But I love the interior! It's modern and artistic, each room has its own art. Also the rooms have small balconies for catching some fresh air.
At night time you get a free VIP ribbon when your staying at the hotel, so that you can enter the top 5 fanciest clubs of Stockholm, which are all only 5-10 minutes by foot, for free!
The hotel itself has got 5 nightclubs, which are all connected, indoor and outdoor! And they are all in the 19th century building where you are dancing under 10 meter high ceilings with huge golden chandeliers!
It's fascinating a fun! You meet a lot of people there, that are open and free minded. Standing on the balcony I think I got involved in a conversation everytime I went there.
Staying at Berns hotel was a fun time, but definitely not to recommend for older couples and families!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Priyanka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annika F, Hotelldirektör at Berns Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review. We are looking in to updating the room, hopefully during 2015. We are happy to hear that you had a good time staying with us and hope to see you back soon.
Regards Annika Frisch, Act Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved it! The receptionists were friendly and extremely helpful. They all spoke excellent English. We asked them to book dinner reservations for us which they did. We also asked them to help us find a place to get massages. They called around, found some slots, and set it all up. The room was nice and I was really surprised that there was no noise at night from the bar/night club and restaurants. Considering we were there during all of the Gay Pride festivities I was especially shocked at how quiet the room was. I am a really light sleeper and heard nothing!

Location is excellent. Very close to the water and to all of the shopping downtown. The hotel sits on a beautiful park and the atmosphere is charming, elegant and relaxed. I could have sat at the restaurant tables outside drinking coffee and relaxing all day.

The breakfast was awesome, lots to choose from and very good. We ate at the restaurant one night (Asiatiska) and I had one of the best steaks I've ever had - rib-eye with some wasabi encrusted coating. It was delicious! My husband tried a bunch of the dim sum options and they were all very good. We also tried their affiliate restaurant, Nosh and Chow, which was also very good.

One afternoon I came back early from sigh-seeing and sat down in the restaurant to read my book. I asked for a cappuccino and if I could take one of the desserts from the lunch buffet and charge it to our room. They were so sweet that once I was done they said it was on them and not to worry about it!

I love the personal service the Berns provides and I honestly can't say enough good things about this place. Yes, the place is a bit pricey and so is the restaurant, but Sweden itself is expensive.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor - maybe that's why the room was so quiet?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annika F, Hotelldirektör at Berns Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you had a good stay with us and hope to see you soon again!
Regards Annika Frisch, Act Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Very central with many designer touches that make it unique Hotel. Terrace for breakfast very nice though at very high prices. Trendy bar for a drink at night. The main drawback of this hotel is the noise that is transmitted from the bar to the rooms for most of the night, making it difficult to sleep and overrides the site as a hotel since the night's rest is not respected. It's a shame that such a nice hotel has to solve a major problem. Staff very efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMFMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annika F, Chef at Berns Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for your feedback. As we write in our ads - "this is not a hotel - well it is and it isn't!" Berns is so much more then just a hotel, with 2 restaurants, nightclub, consert venue and a large events departement it is always a challange for us to combine all these areas to make all our guests happy. I am sorry we didn't succed with that during your stay. We always try to move guests to other rooms if they are disturbed by noise but sometimes it isn't possible unfortunately. I am sorry if your stay didn't fulfil your expectaions.
Kind regards Annika Frisch, Act Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The location is perfectly central, walking distance from the historic town, from some of the more residential neighborhoods as well as the trendy shops. It's also a 20 minute walk from the more hip area of Soderlem.

The hotel has a great vibe to it because it's got a club and bistro. So there is always something happenning from AM to late night. The outdoor bar is a great place to have fun when you feel like relaxing in your hotel.

The rooms though leave a bit to be desired. They are a bit small (as many in Europe are). Importantly they vary quite alot in decor, shapes and sizes so be vigilant when you're booking.

Room Tip: Make sure the room is spacious because they vary within the categories too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fadihon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annika F, Avt Hotel Manager at Berns Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for your review. Being a Boutique Hotel as well as being located in a building dating back to 1863 has given us the opportunity to design each room more or less individually. We do not make reservations for a specific room but try to change our guests upon arrival if they are not happy with the room they recieved.
Regards Annika Frisch, Act Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Great location for access to the water for boating or the old town or just to get to its own nightclub that is open until 5am. Remember dawn is 3am in summer. You can feel the vibrations of the club even on the fourth floor, but thats ok.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annika F, Chef at Berns Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for your review. Happy to hear you had a good stay, hope to welcome you back soon again.
Regards Annika Frisch, Act Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is an incredible hotel!
The rooms are not big and fairly normal, but what really kicks in this hotel is the restaurant, the cocktail bar, the club and the performance stage area
As soon as you walk into the restaurant, normal is left behind: this is an impressive two stories high decadent art deco style lavish area, with red velvet and chandeliers. The food is amazing, the service is great and the ambiance is simply perfect!
On the mezzanine there is the cocktail bar with a balcony to the room as well as outside.
To top this up, the club and the performance stage is really good. On the weekend we were there, there was a DJ on stage and was amazing.
The service at the hotel itself is impeccable: we chosen the weekend package with VIP access to a lot of discos in the hotel vicinity, which was a plus.
It was a surprise to us that, regardless the fact that there is so much entertainment at the hotel, there is no noise at all on the rooms level.
The breakfast is delicious as well.
The hotel is extremely central and you can walk everywhere.
We went to Stockholm in the winter time, and this was the perfect choice for us to be able to see the city and enjoy the nightlife in the best comfort ever though! Truly highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Definitely go for the weekend package. It is an extremely useful extra that allows you to go into th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annika F, Act Hotel Manager at Berns Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear about your experience of our property and hope to welcome you back again when convenient.
Kindly Annika Frisch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#19 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#6 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#24 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berns Hotel

Property: Berns Hotel
Address: 8 Naeckstroemsgatan | Berzelii Park, Stockholm 111 47, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#38 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#48 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Berns Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the best-kept secrets in Stockholm. Located in a central city alley, Berns Hotel is a premium boutique hotel full of modern design. At the same time it is part of the legendary house of Berns dating back to 1863. Maybe it's the secret entrance that has made guests such as Rihanna, Bill Gates, Noomi Rapace and Dalai Lama pass through the doors. Or maybe it's the majestic breakfast hall with crystal chandeliers and mirrors. Either way, Berns Hotel is known for excellent service.Berns Hotel also opens the doors to Stockholm's hottest nightlife. When your stay include days from Wednesday to Saturday you will get a VIP wristband allowing you to jump the queues to the best nightclubs of the central city. You may also sleep in the morning after and receive a refreshing Bloody Mary before your late check-out. Private parking is found nearby and costs 550 SEK per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Berns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berns Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing