We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Indicative of the Hilton Brand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Ranked #48 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Not Indicative of the Hilton Brand”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We booked a junior suite "with a view". The best water views are in the "main" hotel building facing the water but the rooms are spread over 3 buildings and the first room we were given was located behind the main building with a view of the roof adjacent and the back of the main building. We asked for a room overlooking the water and housekeeping was expedited to prepare such a room. Frankly, the first room was larger and laid out more efficiently but the better view was our preference.

The decor was a little dated but seemed to be well maintained. The closet consisted of two
swing out doors with hanging rods on either side and wire baskets for shoes, etc. Unfortunately it was located directly across from the bathroom in a very narrow hallway leaving little circulation space when the closet doors were open and a conflict when the bathroom door opened out. There were two shallow built in drawers under the TV for additional storage. The coffee service, minibar, etc were compactly built in as well. Rather than a small desk there was a round table wasn't as functional and took up more floor space. A desk chair, recliner with ottoman and a second ottoman (which was not very functional and ate up space) completed the furnishings in the bedroom.

The bathroom was quite small with no storage, but a 10" ledge along one wall to set toiletries. I will agree with a former comment regarding access to the tub/shower. The tub surround is quite wide making it difficult to climb in and out. Could create a dangerous situation for the
infirm or elderly. There was only one outlet located about 5' up the wall and 5' from the sink/mirror making use of the hairdryer a little challenging.

The lounge area of the suite was characterless but fitted out with a sofa (hideabed?) two unmatched chairs, cocktail table and large screen TV.

We will compliment the hotel on its soundproofing. There were no external noises from either the outside or hallway to disturb us.

We had access to the Executive Lounge on the 4th floor in the main building which was a
nice benefit. A breakfast buffet was served each morning; soft drinks, coffee and snacks available during the day and an evening "happy hour" with complimentary wine, cava, liquor/mixes and cold and hot appetizers was offered. Both lounge and dining seating were available and, during happy hour, every seat was filled. The lounge staff were efficient and congenial.

Housekeeping was generally good with only a few minor glitches. And the desk staff was quite congenial and helpful, but seemed to be overwhelmed at check-in and check-out.

The location is great as it bridges Gamla Stan to the north and SoFo, a quieter, trendy neighborhood to the south. We spent more time in SoFo as it was more "real" than either the City Center or Gamla Stan.

Overall, our stay was okay but if we returned to Stockholm we would seek other lodgings.

Room Tip: If you want a water view, ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fififlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,017
    1,176
    463
    145
    57
See reviews for
353
1,214
201
679
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

First see my opinion of scandinavian hotels generally (Radisson Blu in Copenhagen) All scandinavian hotels had FREE wifi, some Aussie hotels please note.
This hotel is beautifully located in the city, the rooms are a reasonable size and well furnished. The breakfast was very good, however the shower in the bath concern persists. Great view from rooms on one side - on the other, well keep your curtain pulled.

Room Tip: Harbour view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boggle103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Fifth (top) floor room with amazing city views, I never closed my windows. Large bathroom but tub/shower was difficult to climb in and out of and there's no shower curtain, only a short glass partition that barely keeps water from shower head from spilling out onto bathroom floor. Terrible internet service in room (ok in hotel lobby). Great breakfast buffet, friendly wait staff and front desk help. Food in restaurant is good too, fairly reasonably priced for Stockholm (spent 350 SEK for beer and meal).

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Bobcat18793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Great location to explore the sites of Stockholm, but that is probably the only positive aspect about this hotel. Reception staff was extremely slow for the check-in process and not very friendly, more concerned about up-selling different products and explaining why they could not do certain things. Incredibly inflexible with any requests No bellboy in sight to help with the suitcases. Room is basic and small, even for European standards. Breakfast was adequate, although once again the staff was not overly friendly and tables / table mats would not be cleaned/ changed for new guests coming in. The chef refilling the chafing dishes looked miserable. Would not return to the Hilton if coming back to Stockholm- just too many service and product issues

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCS294229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hélène O, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Stockholm Slussen, responded to this review, 15 October 2014
We sincerely appreciate your feedback of our property and we are very sorry you were unhappy. Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience.

We still hope you will consider staying with us in the future and that we then will have the opportunity to give you a fully comfortable stay.

Yours sincerely,

Hélène
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I'm not a fan of major urban city hotels but the Hilton Slussen is well located with a short walk or T-Bana (tram) ride to many sites. It's an easy walk to the ferry for a ride to Djurgarten. You can easily walk or take a tram to Gamla Stan and beyond. The Centraal Station is only two stops from the Slussen T-Bana. I bought the Stockholm City Card and made good use of it visiting venues but other than the ferry and a few quick T-Bana trips I didn't need it for transportation. The hotel is clean and the breakfast selection is extensive, but pricey like everything in Stockholm. There's a coop food market about 5 blocks to the west of the hotel and I bought some items for packing a lunch each day. There's a lot of construction on the road going in to Gamla Stan and the bicycle riders are insanely fast so watch out, especially through the construction section. I found the hotel satisfactory and the desk staff helpful. I did notice the cost of the rooms vary widely over time on the internet so be patient and you may, or may not, get a better price later. Compare with other similar hotels. We're Hilton Honors members so that helped when booking. We asked for an upper level view room and it was very nice. It's well insulated but you do get a little street and train noise but it's not too bad unless you're hyper sensitive. You can ask for the non-view side of the building if you don't care about the view and it's quieter but the view rooms have grand vistas.

Room Tip: Upper level view rooms have a little street noise and the non-view rooms are quieter but for me the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldQuester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel is quite dated and worn. Maybe if they advertised it as vintage it would not be so disappointing. Location is great on a map and a walk away from the old town but when you get there you realize it's surrounded by highly trafficked roads and rail. Very ugly outside, noise and polluted. Small rooms. Very limited menu in the restaurant but the service was excellent. As for the view. Sure you can see the old part of the city just ignore the traffic.

Room Tip: Terrible wifi signal in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hélène O, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Stockholm Slussen, responded to this review, 15 October 2014
Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor.

I regret that your stay with us was not of the high quality that we strive for. We have continiously made refurbishments throughout the hotel but will have your comment in consideration to always improve our product. As well has our Executive Chef taken your thought to him of an increased menu and I do hope that you one day will return to us for a more enjoyable stay.

Yours sincerely,

Hélène
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great property overlooking the city and river. The hotel is convenient to the metro and train station, nice facilities and the food in the club level is great value. Request a city view.
The hotel is a short walk to the centre city.

Room Tip: Close to the metro and train station. Stay on the club level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerandWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#24 of 154 in Stockholm
3,545 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
551 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#58 of 154 in Stockholm
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Stockholm Slussen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Stockholm Slussen

Property: Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Address: Guldgrand 8 | PO Box 15270, Stockholm 10465, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Slussen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#26 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#28 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#33 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Stockholm Slussen 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views over the waterfront and convenient location minutes from the main tourist attractions and the city center, Hilton Stockholm Slussen is the perfect place for your visit to Stockholm. You can choose from a range of spacious rooms, all featuring stylish Swedish decor, complimentary wireless internet and plenty of natural daylight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Stockholm Slussen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Stockholm Slussen Hotel Stockholm
Stockholm Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing