We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
STF af Chapman & Skeppsholmen Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Talking jus about the hostel, I can say that it was very goog, the dorm was spacious, the bed comfortable, the bathroom and showers in a good number so you never queu. The cafeteria have good food, there is free wifi and the breakfast for an additional fee was excellent. The staff very helpful and efficient. Also the location was perfect, the bus 65 just stop a few meters from the hostel. And finally the amazing experience of being in a boat looking th city of Stockholm, it was unique and I feel that my stay was too short.
go there and enjoy it!

Room Tip: Book in advance to have places in the boat.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
There are newer reviews for STF af Chapman & Skeppsholmen Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed with our family of six in the attic room of the Skeppsholmen hostel (which is the building adjacent to the boat): it was nice, clean and relatively cheap compared to other Stockholm prices.
It has everything you need, from a breakfast room to several sitting corners, a laundry machine and tumble dryer. There is a cafeteria next to the reception as well as a small restaurant in the Chapsman boat. The only down side was the quality of the beds, which started to be a bit of a bother after a couple of nights.
The staff were very friendly and willing to make a vegetarian meal despite having none on the menu.

The island of Skeppsholmen is a nice place with a beautiful view and it is not far from Gamla Stan (Old town). There is a bus stop right outside the hostel, but most parts of Stockholm are within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sn0wfl0wer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This is not only the most expensive Youth Hostel I've ever stayed at, but also one of the worst. It is well publicized in most guidebooks as the "boat hostel." However, the vast majority of beds are located on dry land. The dorm consists of a 17 bed attic, with limited ventilation. The hostel also charges for luggage storage.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelfan028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

At first i was a little disappointed because we wanted a room for a couple, not a dorm, and so we weren't sleeping on the ship, but that was soon forgotten. We were very well received, the room was confortable enough for a youth hostel, it was calm (maybe because we went in winter, i don't know) the showers and toilets were always clean, and the breakfast was just excellent! I thought it was a little expensive, but in fact the service was so good that finally i think the price is totally justified. Plus the location is really nice, we have a nice view and it's at walking distance of many worth visiting locations.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glopishloub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We loved this place. I have never stayed in a youth hostel before - but this really wasn't like any youth hostel I'd imagined. We had a double bedroom plus ensuite (v posh!) and the decor was great. A third of the price of our friends' hotel. Great views across the water. Very central with everything in easy walking distance. All the staff were charming and nothing was too much for them. You have to pay extra for breakfast which is served on dry land in a building opposite the ship but could have as much as you wanted and it was very good. I found breakfast a little frantic at 'rush hour' but if you avoid key times then no probs. The restaurant on the ship serves everything you need including alcohol so really you could pretty much stay put if you wanted to! But don't because Stockholm is a great place to wander round. Very beautiful. The only drawback is you'll end up bankrupt! A glass of wine, pint of beer and a bottle of cider came to £19 - and that was not in a smart restaurant, just an ordinary cafe by the water..... So take your credit card and be prepared to feel a bit of pain!

Room Tip: Navigation room - most expensive but worth it
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miche55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Pro: This hostel made our trip to Stockholm perfect. Skeppsholmen is a quite and lovely small island near the city center. The central station, Gamla Stan(old town) are in walking distance(or 3-4 bus stops away). The hostel is facing the Gamla Stan, there is beautiful view just through your room. Though there're plenty of accommodations along the river bank, but this is the only hostel that make you feel you have a private place alone the river. There is no traffic between your room and the water, no noisy crowd, only the singing of seagulls. The staff are very kind and helpful, and the price is really low:)

Con: The double room is too small. But it's not a big problem, because you have a beautiful and "private" place just outside your window. You won't want to stay inside for long.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanqiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

I was charmed by this hostel. I've never stayed on a boat before!! We had a great view from our cabin to the Old Town and Royal Palace. However, only dorms with common bathrooms are on the boat, private rooms are in the main building. Living on a boat, we had an opportunity to explore the upper deck and to take great photos.
You really feel freedom at this hostel. It's very romantic and has a spirit of adventures and voyages.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Knight_of_Cydonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#98 of 154 in Stockholm
265 reviews
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,320 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
#9 of 154 in Stockholm
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to STF af Chapman & Skeppsholmen Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about STF af Chapman & Skeppsholmen Hostel

Address: 8 Flaggmansvaegen, Stockholm 111 49, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range: £24 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — STF af Chapman & Skeppsholmen Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Skeppsholmen island in Stockholm, this STF hostel is split between a late 1800s ship called Af Chapman and former navy barracks called Hantverkshuset. Moderna Museum and East Asia Museum within walking distance. Guest can choose from guest rooms or ship cabins. The guest rooms located in the main building feature large windows, high ceiling and views of the water or park. Some of the ship cabins have a small sitting area and a small window with a city view. Both options include access to shared bathroom facilities. Guests can enjoy a traditional Swedish breakfast buffet. The on-site cafe serves light meals. There is also a shared kitchen where guests can prepare own meals. During June to August, guests can relax on the sun deck on Af Chapman. The Ostasiatiska Museet Bus Stop is 150 m from the hostel. Kungstradgarden Metro Station is 10 minutes’ walk from STF af Chapman & Skeppsholmen. Welcome to visit STF af Chapman & Skeppsholmen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your STF af Chapman & Skeppsholmen Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Af Chapman Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing