We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent middle-of-the-line hotel”
Review of Scandic Foresta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Foresta
Ranked #86 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Decent middle-of-the-line hotel”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The view is lovely - I've stayed here twice, once on medium floor, once in their top suite after asking to change from a smaller suite.

The staff were helpful both times, we asked to switch rooms as the fan outside our first suite was very loud and we were moved without any questions asked or extra charge.

Breakfast is varied and fairly good. Food at the restaurant is alright. The shop is expensive and the hotel feels fairly large and soulless. The 'jacuzzi' in the suite is only a large bathtub, no actual whirlpool effect.

Location is decent. Nice view, fairly close to town, fairly quiet. Millesgården is worth a visit if you like sculpture, or just a stroll in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Foresta, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Hi!

We are glad you liked the view and that you find the staff helpful! It is correct that we don't have jacuzzi, just a regular bath tub that is a little bit bigger than normal. I would like to apologize if it was anyone in our staff that gave you the wrong information.
We hope to see you as our guest again soon!

Kind regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    180
    99
    30
    11
See reviews for
137
120
11
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Visby, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Really a pity that Scandic hotels can NOT manage the hotel better.

The view is fantastic. Gorgeous. And yet close to the center of Stockholm. Location is good. They are only 2 minutes away (walk) from the famous Milles Gård museum and if you walk down the slope towards the water, you can catch a train that goes to the station, Ropsten (3 mins) where you can take the underground into the city.

The rooms are clean and simple but well furnished.

The staff are undermanned and have not renovated much that it looks depressive at the lobby. The poor receptionist is alone and was alone after only a 2 week training. She was really having a hard time. I only wanted to call my father from Japan who was staying at the hotel and had to wait for a long time to ask the receptionist to let me use their in-house phone. It costs us a fortune to call on a Japanese mobile or any mobile that is outside of Sweden. So why don't they have an in-house phone for customers to reach their guests at the lobby? Or near the lobby? Such detailed but important BASIC service is missing at this hotel! Really a pity. How can they miss that? The staff are very kind but are just undermanned. I could see that they are trying their best but it is really undermanned that they can not provide the service they should and would like to (maybe).

The hotel used to be a fancy place. Even the "Beatles" stayed at this hotel when they came to Sweden. But now it really has become shabby. The only attraction is their view! Overlooking the ocean and small islands nearby. They have a nice bar but the restaurant is a joke. The cook does not know how to cook. Very awful food. My father ordered a medium steak but was over well-done. The only edible thing they had that day was asparagus which was a part of the salad bar. So of course everyone took a lot of that.Then they ran out of the asparagus quickly and we could not have any helpings. It is a catastrophe. The breakfast was just as bad. What breakfast buffet does not have toast bread to toast? It's a 135kr breakfast! My husband asked for some toast bread, then instead of excusing themselves for not having it, they told him to use another kind of strange doughy round white bread. I think they really need to change and make the breakfast buffet better if they want to charge that much. Otherwise, they should charge half the price. The problem with staying at this hotel is that there is not a cafe or restaurant nearby where you can take a nice breakfast elsewhere, so you have to go for a 10-15 minute walk or take a tram into the city. So if they would improve the breakfast and the breakfast staff, the hotel would not be such a bad place to stay.

Room Tip: 511, 507 have very good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heyla20120702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

Gotland
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We have stayed in this hotel before (we negotiated a good price on their top suite - great!). This time a relative from Japan stayed one night in a room with a very nice view. But... We wanted to spend time together so we booked an outdoor table in their restaurant. They recommended their grilled menu. To quote our guest regarding the meat: "it was barely eatable". The owenbaked potato and the corn on the cob was like rubber (probably micro heated). The only parts that was ok was the coleslaw and the green asparagus (finished in a blink, one of us only got a little (see picture). Staff was nice but sometimes literally running over the floor - undermanned! The next morning we wanted to have a nice breakfast together. Now the coffee was good (even though the machine did not work properly) but there was no toast at all. The woman in charge said that we should toast the "normal", round bread instead (see picture). I have never had a hotel breakfast in the western world without toast! Our general impression is that Hotel Foresta is struggling for survival, undermanned and with cut-cost material in the restaurants. Their rooms are clean, nicely decorated and have wonderful views, but don't eat anything in this hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms are generally good and the view is wonderful. Take the northern side and enjoy the sunset! The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laotse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny S, Receptionschef at Scandic Foresta, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Hello
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our amazing view over Lidingö and that you had a good stay in your hotel room. I am so sorry to hear that our standard in the restaurant was not up to your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us so I have forwarded your comments to our restaurant manager.
Hope to see you again.
Best regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

My wife should suprise me with a night at a hotel, finally we got one night that we could spend togetger without our Children 1 year and 3 years old. It should be a relaxing romantic hideaway we hoped. But not, our stay was a nightmare, the doublebed we paid for was two very tiny singel bed. when we was thirsty and wanted something to drink there was nothing, no minibar and no bottles of water and no drinkingglass. I called down to roomservice and got the answer there is no such kind of service, I should drink the water from the tap? I asked very polite if I could come down to reception and maybe pick up some bottles of water. This was in the middle of night and I was forced to dress me and Went down to reception to hear that the water was not possible to get because the staff was not able to leave the counter?
I CAN NOT RECOMMEND ANYONE TO STAY AT SCANDIC HOTEL FORESTA AT LIDINGÖ
Scandic Foresta should not be in the Hotel business at all. They are very rude, and we are still angry with their unpleasant behavior. DONT STAY AT THIS PLACE EVER!!! save your Money and go whereever else.

Darius Rosenquist, Lidingö, Sweden

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TuningChip I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicForesta, General Manager at Scandic Foresta, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Dear Mr. Rosenqvist, your review is based on your stay with us last year and since then our Hotel Manager has been in contact with you several times were we have offered you 100% reduction of your stay since you wasn´t satisfied which we are sorry to hear. This amount is also deducted from the invoice we did send you regarding destroyed property during your stay. We are still awaiting your payment or response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Generally, staying in any Scandic is not supposed to bring one any surprise – the concept is well-known (well, at least in Scandinavia) and does not imply any luxury or other “business” features. For a family stay it is though a perfect place. Scandic Foresta is even better: close to an old-fashioned (from 70th) commuter train station which connects to the Stockholm subway, pleasant surround, many rooms with a river view and for art interested a very good sculpture museum nearby (Carl Milles). The breakfast is nourishing and delicious, a lot of things for kids to take. A very good place to stay with your family and children “almost” in the Stockholm center.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UppsalaA-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny S, Receptionschef at Scandic Foresta, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Hello
Thank you for your feedback. So happy to hear that you had a good stay with us and that you took time to enjoy our beautiful surroundings. Hope to see you soon again.
Best regards Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlstad, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Scandic Foresta has been around a while, you can see it if you scrutinize the rooms, but time is fair and good hotels last. Foresta is most certainly one of the good ones. We arrived 22 pm, had a shower without removing some hairs from the previous guests, slept while overhearing the conversation in the next room, had a lovely breakfast and departed, thus we didn't enjoy any other facilities than the beds and the breakfast. We did enjoy the splendid view over Lidingö bridge though!

The overall impression is that Foresta is an average hotel. I myself like it that way and may very well return. Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonasRosengren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Foresta, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Google Translation
Hej
Tack för din feedback. Kul att ni tog er tid att njuta av våran fantastiska omgivning även om det var en kort vistelse. Hoppas ni snart kommer tillbaka.
Mvh Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Very Scandinavian hotel, i.e. quite simple and basic. Needless to say, a) it does the job b) the rooms are comfortable and very well heated (for the stockholm winters!) c) lovely service from the reception staff !

The breakfast isn't great if I'm totally honest but then again it is free so you cant expect much. You have eggs, toast, cereal, yogurt, sausages, bacon etc but it is all quite cold which is a shame as the views from the breakfast place are lovely!

To get to Stockholm central is 15 minutes - walk outside the hotel, go left, and left again down the hill and take the little train to Ropsten, from there you can take the red line metro. If you are only in the city for a short while best to buy the 200Krona 8 trip pass which you can buy from the man at the counter in the stations.

I would say for comfort purposes it would be nice to have actual double beds in the rooms rather than 2 singles put together, extra tv channels would be better, and tea/coffee facilities in the room!

This is a conference hotel and is very pleasant for this.

Thank you to the staff at reception for being very nice and welcoming!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorer_SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Foresta, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Hello
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Scandic Foresta. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service at the hotel. We appriate your feedback.
Best regards Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Ostermalm
Scandic Ariadne
Scandic Ariadne
#82 of 154 in Stockholm
876 reviews
Scandic Kungens Kurva
#93 of 154 in Stockholm
396 reviews
Quality Hotel Globe
#42 of 154 in Stockholm
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotell Dialog
#120 of 154 in Stockholm
161 reviews
ApartHotel Attache
#104 of 154 in Stockholm
124 reviews
Best Western Capital Hotel
#102 of 154 in Stockholm
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Foresta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Foresta

Property: Scandic Foresta
Address: Herserudsvaegen 22 | Lindingo island, Stockholm 181 25, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#55 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Foresta 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive Scandic Foresta hotel is located on Lidingo island in Stockholm's central archipelago, only 15 minutes from Stockholm city centre.The Scandic Foresta hotel lets you explore both Stockholm and the charming Lidingo island. Lidingo offers great opportunities for outdoor activities throughout the year. Enjoy walking, biking, a round of golf or head into the city centre to experience all that Stockholm has to offer. Don't miss a visit to neighbouring Millesgarden, the home and art gallery of the famous artist Carl Milles.Scandic Foresta has been an important meeting place since 1910 when Wilhelmina Shogh first opened the doors to her castle on the cliff. At the Scandic Foresta hotel you can arrange a meeting or conference in one of our 13 meeting rooms, or plan an event in the castle turret. In the evening you're welcome to enjoy a delicious dinner in our hotel restaurant, with views over Stockholm and its waters. At the hotel you can also enjoy our lobby bar, shop and gym as well as free access to wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Foresta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Foresta Stockholm
Scandic Foresta Hotel Stockholm
Best Western Sweden
Stockholm Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing