We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel, location not adequate for tourism”
Review of Scandic Foresta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Foresta
Ranked #86 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“nice hotel, location not adequate for tourism”
Reviewed 3 November 2010

I stayed at Scandic Foresta for 4 nights, I was attending a work meeting which was held there. The hotel is not in the city center, and you need to cross a bridge by bus and take the metro to get to the city center, so i wouldn't recommend it for people wanting to see Stockholm in a couple of days. Rooms are very spacious (got a double room although staying alone), but some of them have a view over the industrial harbour, not that nice. Hotel is quite expensive, I wouldn't have chosen it for myself on a trip. It seemed like they had many meeting/conferences held there at the same time, and they are very well prepared to attend the needs of such meetings, taking into account rooms, coffee breaks etc. Breakfast is served in a nice room overlooking the surrounding waters (and harbour), and is the typical generous Scandic breakfast buffet.
There are trains crossing the bridge every now and then, and you can actually hear them quite well even at night, so that's a minus point for the room comfort. Room was very comfortable, bathroom very basic but ok.
The rates are very high, and although Stockholm is an expensive city I think the Scandic Foresta is overpriced...

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Radiolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    162
    89
    29
    8
See reviews for
122
106
8
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2009

Excellent hotel, even though it is 20 minutes from the city with the public transport it feels like you are at the countryside. Great view: you see green, the see, a small island and a bridge from which the train goes.
Friendly service and the place very quiet and relaxing.
Breakfast was average, traditional swedish i guess, but i didn't go there to eat in first place!
The view from the room is breathtaking, and a walk around the hotel is marvelous.
I definitely recommend to take the train and go all the way to Lindigo, very nice route through the forest and it ends to the see.
I would go again, no, I will go again!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apanag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warsaw
Level Contributor
185 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We chose this hotel because it was close to the ferry terminal. Last-minute price was 795kr (~80e). Hotel is on the top of hill with beautiful view . To get there you have to drive to the end of metro line, then take charming old local train and walk up the hill. Or to take bus or taxi. Anyway, it takes some effort to reach this hotel from centrum. Also there is nothing special in the neighborhood, but it is nice area to take long walk.

Room was big and stylish with very comfortable bed. Simply great!! We left the hotel before breakfast time, but we got some snacks and coffee from the bar >> positive suprise.

If you accept not central location, this is a good choice!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mokoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

A very clean, modern hotel in the municipality of Lindingö. The hotel is excellent value compared with the higher-priced, more centrally located hotels in Stockholm city itself. To get into the city, you have to walk 5 minutes to a bus stop, take a 2 minute bus trip over the Lidingöbron (Lindingö bridge) to Ropsten metro station, and then it is an easy 10-15 minute journey on the red 13 line. You can also walk to Ropsten over the old foot bridge in about 25-30 minutes.

The rooms are very clean and modern. The beds are amongst the comfiest we have ever slept in, especially for a hotel. The bathroom in our room was also very clean, with a powerful shower (always welcome). There is free WIFI internet in the rooms.

Our interaction with staff was limited to check-in, check-out and asking for advice on how to get to the metro station, but we found them to be very helpful and friendly (as are most Swedes in general, actually).

There is a free breakfast buffet, which offers a generous sweep of different foods, from hot stuff like scrambled eggs, bacon, smoked sausages, baked beans to colder bites like fruit, breads, cereals and porridge. The food is very good given that it is mass-produced and presumably sits out on the side for no small amount of time.

A couple of minor points - instead of a double bed we had two singles pushed together. This didn't bother us too much though as we don't tend to sleep wrapped up together! The other downside was that there is no room service. According to Scandic, they have listened to customer feedback, and their customers don't want room service. Instead, they offer a 24-hour shop in the lobby selling sandwiches and other light snacks. When we arrived from the airport at 11pm, we really wanted something hot and substantial, so it was disappointing to learn that our only choice was a pre-packaged sandwich.

I don't want to end the review on a downer, so I'll sum-up: this hotel is clean, modern, in a great location (providing you are physically able enough to walk to the bus and/or metro station) and great value. The free breakfast buffet is excellent and the staff are very friendly and helpful. If we come back to Stockholm (and I think we will), we will almost certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank garethellis36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2008

In a city where average hotel room rates are comparatively higher than other European cities but comparable to other Scandinavian cities, this hotel offers some respite. The location may be away from the city centre and perched on a hill but the water views and tranquil idlyic setting are worth it. The city is a few train stops away but the fast subway connections make it easy. Eventhough you need to change to an old train to cross the bridge, the little blue carriages are so cute you feel like you are on a ride in Disneyland! However, there is a 10 min uphill trek to the hotel from the quaint train stop, which will be no fun for those with heavy luggage.

We had a great time at the Foresta - the counter staff were amazingly friendly, cheerful and helpful (maybe we got them at the right time with the midsummer festivities in the air?), the food we had was superb - we had steaks at the grill restauarant that were delicious and worth the hefty price tag and the inclusive breakfast was nice and sumptuous and the rooms although not posh were modern and welcoming. There are nice touches like the free bikes which you can take to the supermarket down the road. We left with very fond memories.

  • Liked — Location, Receptionists, Food, Room, Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnChiongLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2007

Spent two nights at the Foresta for a friends Christening (thanks octopus for nearly b*ggering up our booking!) but the staff were so friendly and welcoming, they could see that we HAD booked and had reservations etc, just that it wasn't conformed with them!

They checked us in, and sent up complimentary drinks and a plate of meats. Great room (in the land of Ikea... say no more!) with a fantastic view over the river... some rooms might look onto the oil refinery but ours was great). Very clean and well maintained by room service. Our little one was well catered for with his cot etc. Mini bar great, especially when you stock it up with cokld drinks from the local supermarket (we were being cheapskates for the weekend, plus baby milk etc). Two singles pushed together, but you actually get a better nights sleep!

Food in the hotel was excellent and fresh, service was brill. The only drawback is that its quite far from the main islands, so you have to walk down the road for a bus, THEN get a tube train, and if you don't know where to buy tickets (like us) its blinking confussing.

I was constantly ill during the trip, but still managed to enjoy myself out there. Swedish people are lurvly!

In summary, enjoyed the stay but could have been slighty closer to the action, but a good qaulity hotel which is quiet and off the track. Staff excellent.

  • Liked — Clean rooms, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Slighty off the track, but some will prefer that!
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janie-on-her-hols!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
533 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 710 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2006

A beautiful hotel set ontop of a hill with commanding views over the outskirts of Stockholm. From our room all you could see was forest and water, and you would not know that you were less than fifteen minutes from the heart of the city.
The room (No 525) was a beauty with lovely Nordic design, with wooden floorboards, plenty of space and mod cons. Bathroom was pokie but was fully stocked with plenty of amenities.
Hotel staff were extremely helpful and flexible. With the warm weather they were able to provide a fan (alas no air con), early check in was no problem and they even happily arranged an early breakfast on the morning we departed.
The hotel is located on one of Stockholm's many islands but is only a short trip by light rail and subway to the city centre. Because of its idyllic location it was an extremely peaceful setting. The only caution is the walk from the station to the hotel is a little challenging with luggage. Its a bit steep.
Overall highly recommended.

  • Liked — Staff Flexibility/Service and pleasant location
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TassieTravellers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Ostermalm
Scandic Ariadne
Scandic Ariadne
#82 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Story Hotel Signalfabriken
#23 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Good Morning+ Hagersten
#99 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Kungens Kurva
#87 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Foresta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Foresta

Property: Scandic Foresta
Address: Herserudsvaegen 22 | Lindingo island, Stockholm 181 25, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#56 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Foresta 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive Scandic Foresta hotel is located on Lidingo island in Stockholm's central archipelago, only 15 minutes from Stockholm city centre.The Scandic Foresta hotel lets you explore both Stockholm and the charming Lidingo island. Lidingo offers great opportunities for outdoor activities throughout the year. Enjoy walking, biking, a round of golf or head into the city centre to experience all that Stockholm has to offer. Don't miss a visit to neighbouring Millesgarden, the home and art gallery of the famous artist Carl Milles.Scandic Foresta has been an important meeting place since 1910 when Wilhelmina Shogh first opened the doors to her castle on the cliff. At the Scandic Foresta hotel you can arrange a meeting or conference in one of our 13 meeting rooms, or plan an event in the castle turret. In the evening you're welcome to enjoy a delicious dinner in our hotel restaurant, with views over Stockholm and its waters. At the hotel you can also enjoy our lobby bar, shop and gym as well as free access to wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Foresta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Foresta Stockholm
Scandic Foresta Hotel Stockholm
Best Western Sweden
Stockholm Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing