We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A poor experience.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel C Stockholm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel C Stockholm
Ranked #34 of 157 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A poor experience.”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We booked a superior room at the Nordic hotel. Contrary to the identifying adjective "superior," the room was anything but... We were given a room on the first floor (101). unfortunately, the entrance door for everyone else on this floor is right outside our door and you will hear the banging of the door every 10 minutes from every inebriated hotel guest you can imagine (it doesn't help that the ice bar is just right below). In addition, the room was truly unimaginative and looked like a warehouse storage room. There was nothing pretty about it, nor worth the cost. They didn't even have a couch for the "sitting room" (squatting room) - only two chairs. So you had to watch TV from your bed. The breakfast, however, in true Scandinavian fashion, was exemplary, and kudos must be given where deserved. Scandinavia is generally a terrible bargain for anyone traveling from the U.S., so we knew we'd pay more than what we'd get, but here we feel like we paid a GREAT deal more.

Room Tip: Do not choose any superior room that ends with an 01. If they offer it to you, tell them you want a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cacetait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SthlmNordicHotels, Supervisor at Hotel C Stockholm, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Hi,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel.

First of all I'd like to thank you for being honest. It is cruical for all hotels to hear the truth about how you as a guest felt during your visit.

I'm are sorry that you weren't happy with the room and I do hope that you will come back again so that we can prove to you that we can do better.

I will make sure that the restaurant get the credit they deserve. I'm glad they met with your expectations.

Most capitals in Scandinavia are quite expensive in general, especially if you compare hotel prices with the United States. Unfortunately there is not much we as a hotel can do about that, execept trying to hold the rates down - which we acually do.

Have a great day, and again, thank you for reviewing our hotel.

Warm regards,
Philip Persson, Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    748
    976
    374
    108
    66
See reviews for
319
718
177
597
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here in April last year.
The hotel is next to the Arlanda Express Terminal and minutes from great eateries and Central Stockholm.
The hotel has very small rooms thanks to its premium location.
I stayed in a room with windows which was a pleasant experience.
Staff were friendly and approachable.

Room Tip: Avoid windowless rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKH786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SthlmNordicHotels, Supervisor at Hotel C Stockholm, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Hi!

Thank you for your review.

You are right about our great location. In our world, our location is one of the best in Stockholm with its central lie.

We are working harder than ever with the service we provide and I am delighted to read that we met with your expectations.

We hope to see you soon again!

Warm regards,
Philip Persson, Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Great location right next to the Arlanda Express and T-Centralen. Really easy to navigate to and from as a tourist. Also really close by to NK and Ahlens City. We were about 1-2 stops away from the city's main attractions.

We had booked a Standard Double room (with window). Average city hotel sized room and bathroom. Very clean, comfortable and quiet. Hotel and bar staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast average but good selection and well organised.

The hotel's Ice Bar is extremely over-hyped. A good overall experience with regards to the temperature/ice glasses etc (you receive a slight discount as a hotel guest) but underwhelming. Only the walls/tables are actually made of ice. The floor, ceilings and bar are made of sheet metal.

Overall would recommend the hotel for a city break. We were not disappointed.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SthlmNordicHotels, Supervisor at Hotel C Stockholm, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Hi Kim and thank you for your review.

We are happy to read that you were satisfied with the service given to you. In todays world, the service is everything. You can have the finest propertiy in the world, but it will be useless if the service given doesn't stand up to the guests expectations. We will contiunue to improve our service and your review will be noted by all of our employees.

Your recommendation is heart warming and we are looking forward to meet you here again. You are always welcome.

Take care!

Warm regards,
Philip Persson, Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Convenient downtown location, right opposite the terminal for the Arlanda Express - the best way of getting into Stockholm from the airport. Corridors were wittily decorated with Stockholm scenes but the room was very small. Wifi was good and the breakfast had a reasonable cold selection (didn't try the hot). There is an icebar (in the style of the famous Ice Hotel) in the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SthlmNordicHotels, Supervisor at Hotel C Stockholm, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Hi John!

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel.

Our location, style and service are our main competitve advantage towards the other hotels in the capital of Sweden, and we are delighted that you found us to be conveniant.

The cold section of the breakfast is good, but if you choose to come back I must recommend you to try the hot section too. It is really nice!

You are always welcome back to us at Nordic Sea Hotel!

Warm regards,
Philip Persson, Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed 3 nights on a business trip. Room was a quarter size of the one shown, freezing cold and noisy, being above the entrance to the station. Several stains and marks on walls and furnishing. Room service very poor - took 30 min to answer phone - restaurant and bar ok but busy and noisy. Went in the ice bar once, cold and noisy - rather like my room! Staff friendly but overworked. May be cheap but why stay here when you can go to one of Stockhom's great hotels?

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SthlmNordicHotels, Supervisor at Hotel C Stockholm, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Ben,

Thank you for your review.

I'm sad to hear that your stay with us didn't meet your expectations. I can just hope that you told us up front that you were not happy with the room. That way, we could have given you another one.

Finding stains on the other hand is not ok - not ever, and all I can do is apologize.

We work really hard with our service and I'm sorry to read that you found our staff to be overworked.

All I can do is hope that you choose us again so that we can prove us better.

Have a great day!

Warm regards,
Philip Persson, Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel is easy to find, just outside Arlanda Express train from the airport.

The room was in the 6th floor, in front of a office building, so you have to be careful if you do not close the curtains because you can be easily seen from outside.

We had 2 conditioners and 1 shampoo, we were in a hurry and we needed to have a shower and leave, so we phoned the reception to inform that we needed shower gel and a toothbrush.
We had to have the shower with shampoo.

We got back late and still no shower gel and tooth brush so we phoned again in the morning and then, we got it.

Breakfast buffet was very crowded. It was difficult to access to the food. We had to eat the breakfast in the reception lounge area which was quite cold. Difficult to access to the sugar that was only close to the pancakes, with all that people around queuing I preferred to skip an extra walk to the sugar.

Cleanliness was good and the temperature in the room as well.

I booked in advance, but, be careful as the cheapest fares are usually rooms without a real window. If you book in an external website that is not the one of the hotel, they might skip this small but important detail.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a real window! The cheapest fares are usually rooms without window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicaiglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SthlmNordicHotels, Supervisor at Hotel C Stockholm, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Hi!

Thank you for your review. We like it when the guests provide us with the full picture, which makes it easier for us to improve in the future.

We're sorry that the shower gel and tooth brush did not show up in time. Mistakes happens, and unfortunately, it happened to you. Sorry!

We've had some complaints regarding the temperature in the lobby and we are working with a solution that will keep the coldness out of the lobby. We are also going to renovate the restaurant AND lobby to meet up with the guests demands.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you here soon again.

Warm regards,
Philip Persson, Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
390 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Nordic Sea is a large and very busy hotel right next to the Arlanda Express train. Location is therefore pretty optimal. Walking distances inside the hotel are easily extensive, and somewhat labyrinthine.

The breakfast room was overflowingly busy. While the selection was reasonably good, getting to the selection felt like combat, with all densely spaced tables busy, and waiting lines crisscrossing. Efficient like barracks...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rokkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SthlmNordicHotels, Supervisor at Hotel C Stockholm, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Hi,

Thank your for reviewing our hotel.

You are right about the size of the hotel - it's VERY big with alot of rooms. And since we have the location we have, many guests choose us for their accomodation.

But for us it does not matter how many rooms or guests we have. All are supposed to feel like they are home, or at least "almost" at home.

We are in the final planning stage of refurbishing and renovating the breakfast area. We do understand that you felt the way you did during your visit.

We are hoping that you will return to us after the summer so that we can show you our new breakfast area.

Take great care!

Warm regards,
Philip Persson, Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Nordic Light Hotel
Nordic Light Hotel
#28 of 157 in Stockholm
1,340 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 157 in Stockholm
1,101 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#30 of 157 in Stockholm
714 reviews
Norrmalm
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
#15 of 157 in Stockholm
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel C Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel C Stockholm

Property: Hotel C Stockholm
Address: Vasaplan 4, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden (Formerly Nordic Sea Hotel)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#35 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#36 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel C Stockholm 4*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel C Stockholm offers you the key to Stockholm. You'll find us in the city centre, right by the Central Station and Arlanda Airport Express train. The city's major attractions are within walking distance. We offer 367 rooms with a modern design inspired by the waters of Stockholm, providing you with all the service you expect, plus that little bit extra. Stockholm's coolest bar: ICEBAR by ICEHOTEL Stockholm is also located at Hotel C Stockholm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel C Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nordic Sea
Nordic Sea Stockholm
Nordic Sea Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing