We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel. Problems with A/C.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #58 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Excellent hotel, but make sure you request room with A/C during the summer months. Some of the rooms have A/C outlets blocked. Nights are cool in Stockholm but the hotel is located in the busy night life neighborhood, so sleeping with open window will present a problem. We had a room like this and it took us some afford to get another one. Everything else was just excellent – location, comfort, design, service and the breakfast buffet was absolutely unbelievable.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yury_tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 730 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

I am not a budget traveler. It's just not in my traveler DNA. That said, I like a bargain, but if you asked me the last time I stayed in a Best Western, I'd have told you "never". When my colleague and I were coming to Stockholm for work and the other recommended hotel was booked, we opted to stay here.

We have not been disappointed. From the cute patio seating area for a drink after work, to the excellent breakfast in Swedish style, to the large-enough rooms, I would have said this was good value for money. But the nice part is actually the style of the rooms (beautifully decorated and relaxing) and the location - central to restaurants, clubs, and the business area.

The only downside is that while we were there, temperatures were quite warm in Stockholm (upwards of 24 degrees day and night, more like 25+ in the rooms). After the first night, the desk did make the effort to get the AC working, but it was hotter than I'd have preferred for a business trip.

That said, I'd still recommend the hotel given all the other pluses. Because Stockholm is so expensive, I'm recommending this higher simply on value.

Room Tip: Interior rooms may have a patio overlooking enclosed courtyard; exterior rooms face the clubs which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g8trgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Charming rooms, nice bar and restaurant. Helpful staff

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paer_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Stayed here for four nights in July. Got a room on the 6:th floor in what looked like a tower. The room was very clean, the bathroom hade a window and there was an empty fridge that you could fill up yourself. The room hade a feeling of a bedroom in an apartement, not a hotel room. The hotel is close to everything you need, a 10-15 minutes walk gets you to almost any central location in Stockholm, buses are 50 meters away and the subway 200 meters. Breakfast was great, although it can get quite crowded at times. The only thing I did not like was the bed, it was a bit to soft for my liking but my girlfriend thought it was perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors, traffic noise can be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter7173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

my single on the third (actually fourth) floor was on the small side and the bathroom was tiny. the single bed was very comfortable. the street noise could easily be abated by almost shutting the double windows, still allowing fresh air to enter. the bathroom was surprisingly small and some details needed attention like the loose sink plate in the shower and the wash basin stopper which had to be extracted to allow the water to escape. Still, I would recommend the hotel for its location and excellent service. all requests were fulfilled in timely and dependable fashion. even though i arrived at 7am, I was promptly assigned a room. I was given a bag breakfast on my day of departure prior to breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OldNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

The hotel is very centrally located.
Staff are very friendly.
Nice buffet breakfast.
Did not experience any noise as posted by many trip advisor reviewers.
Internet speed could be improved.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anwaar_farooqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed last summer with a family group of 15, and at the end of May this year with 5 of us. The hotel is very central to the sights of Stockholm. It is a short walk to the waterway cruises, and the old town. Public transportaion is very close and easy. The hotel is modern and charming in a historic setting. The rooms were large enough, as well as a large bathroom. The beds were very comfy. The front desk staff were very helpful. The breakfast is very plentiful. Self parking is a small challange, but possible- the nearby garage is expensive. We did not have any noise problem either stay- the extended daylight in summer is too be expected, and A/C suring a heatwave will just manage. No AC was needed in May.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyawaySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Ostermalm
Hotel Drottning Kristina
Hotel Drottning Kristina
#20 of 154 in Stockholm
704 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#17 of 154 in Stockholm
1,366 reviews
Norrmalm
Berns Hotel
Berns Hotel
#54 of 154 in Stockholm
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#49 of 154 in Stockholm
1,945 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Birger Jarl
Hotel Birger Jarl
#50 of 154 in Stockholm
1,591 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#57 of 154 in Stockholm
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection

Address: Birger Jarlsgatan 21, Stockholm 111 87, Sweden (Formerly Hotel Kung Carl, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#43 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#43 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £94 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Hotel offers modern comforts and amenities, set in the Financial and Commercial center of the city; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Hotell Kung Carl Hotel Stockholm
Best Western Hotel Stockholm
Best Western Stockholm
Stockholm Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing