We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and not worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #61 of 157 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Overpriced and not worth it”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

It seems that at the check-in is like gambling. If you are lucky, you can be offered a large and astonishing room, but in my case, I was offered a small room with a smaller bath.

The door of the bathroom touched the bed, and bathroom had always to be used with the door open.

Considering the rate/night I was charged, this hotel was not worth it at all. Not recommended for leisure unless you may want to risk your stay in Stockholm. Location is one of the strong points as well as staff.

Restaurant and bar, again does not meet a minimum rate of value/money, so better to try any of the restaurants around.

this is one of the examples how a hotel chain can ruin its reputation because of having this policy of pretending to be "stylish", overpriced but with no attention to the small details like assigning an average room or a outstanding room at ramdom for customers that have paid the same rate.

Room Tip: It is up to the reception, preferably the "new part"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaime G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    309
    90
    49
    17
See reviews for
103
207
32
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 29 February 2012

One of the most romantic rooms I have stayed in with a beautiful and comfortabel bed.
Friendly and service minded staff. Location is great next door to restaurants, bars, and shops.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel last weekend in one of the rooms on the 3rd floor. The room was fantastic! Quite big compared to other rooms I have stayed in with a shower and bath as well as a beautiful masonry heater in the middle of the bathroom part. I also loved the fact they had a huge 4 poster bed in the middle of the room! The location of this hotel is great and the area around it is quite buzzing. The staff are very helpful, friendly and professional and they were very understanding of all the 'special needs' we had caused by having a 1 1/2 year old with us. The only negative thing I could say about this hotel is that breakfast was quite busy with a lot of people trying to help themselves to the buffet at the same time (we came down about 15 mins before they closed though, so could have been the last minute rush). All in all great value for money though.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

This hotel is consisting of several buildings connected with a built-in "plaza". The location is superb for shopping, a night out or sight-seeing the central parts of Stockholm. We had no problems with disturbing sounds, but in case there was also ear-plugs in the room. Our room was small but very personal. The window from the shower means you cannot share a room if you're not comfortable with the other person watching you shower. In our case this was not a problem. Also all towels were in the separate toilet room which was a bit unpractical. The room was way to hot during the night and turning down the AC did not really help. The breakfast buffet was good but it was very crowded and we had to wait for a table. There could also have been a wider selection on the buffet, especially when it comes to biscuits, croissants and other bakery. Now there was only "kanelbulle". However, this is commonly the case in Swedish hotels. I would rank this more like 3.5 if it was possible.

Room Tip: Our room had a large window between the main room and the shower which might be a problem if you tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STILoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

I stayed at this hotel as part of a package deal, so didn't really choose it myself. I was pleasantly surprised at how nice it was (for very little $$). The staff are very helpful, and all speak perfect english.

The buffet breakfast was great, the room was small, but comfortable, and warm (with underfloor heating in the bathroom).

It is perfectly situated to explore Stockholm. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwi089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Location: Fantastic. Right near very nice shopping places, short walk to very scenic marinas, metro is nearby, great nightlife

Rooms: Rooms on 5th floor seem to be smaller than on 6th floor. Compared to North America the rooms seem to be very tiny. Only a few rooms have AC so watch out. Bathroom is adequate, the shower stall was very small on the 5h floor room, and was a bit bigger on the 6th floor room. Rooms have TV, desk, chair, closet, ironing board. Some rooms have a balcony which is great if you smoke.

Checkin: Took a long time!!! In the evening there seems to be only one person at the reception. In the morning there are two people and check out was faster

Breakfast: Quiet adequate.

Taxi Access: Taxis are available right outside the hotel

Elevators: are tiny and are very slow. With more than 2 people it really feels claustrophobic.

Summary; It is a cosy hotel located in a great location ion Stockholm. I will definitely go there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on 6th floor are bigger but seem to have no balcony,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goadude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

If you're looking for a modern hotel... this isn't it. It's a classic hotel, with dark wooden closets, traditional wallpaper etc. But far from dusty! I love the location of the hotel. The lobby is very nice and welcoming and when you step out you're right in the high end part of Stockholm. Beautiful shops, beautiful people and nice restaurants right around the corner. (and a 7eleven!) When it comes to locations in Stockholm, it doesn't get much better than this. Oh and don't forget about the free wifi! Just go up to the front desk and they'll give you a code!

The breakfast is good. Nothing fancy, but there's not much else I need in the morning anyway. Don't worry, there's the usual. (read; bread, scrambled/boiled eggs, yoghurt, fresh fruit and juices)

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who would come visit me. Because after travelling to Stockholm a few times, I fell so in love with the city that I decided to move there. And trust me, if I wouldn't have been staying in a nice hotel, I definitely wouldn't have fallen in love so easily.

Room Tip: If you like a bit of city noise, go for one of the rooms at the front of the hotel. You will have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkformsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza
Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza
#59 of 157 in Stockholm
506 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#37 of 157 in Stockholm
319 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Drottning Kristina
Hotel Drottning Kristina
#23 of 157 in Stockholm
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#24 of 157 in Stockholm
1,082 reviews
Ostermalm
Scandic Anglais
Scandic Anglais
#74 of 157 in Stockholm
985 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 157 in Stockholm
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection

Property: Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Address: 21 Birger Jarlsgatan, Stockholm 111 45, Sweden (Formerly Hotel Kung Carl, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#43 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#45 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Hotel offers modern comforts and amenities, set in the Financial and Commercial center of the city; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Hotell Kung Carl Hotel Stockholm
Best Western Hotel Stockholm
Best Western Stockholm
Stockholm Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing