We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #57 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Best Western Premier Hotell Kung Carl is 1.5 km from the Royal Palace,and is approximately 30 minutes' drive from the airport, and 20 minutes from the main railway station.The staff in the reception were very good I was given a room on the 5th floor which I liked. There is always a possibility of a good view. I went for the elevator and had to pass an open area with tables and lounge and a large flat screen and a small bar to the other side. The guests were really enjoying themselves. The room were very clean and comfortable.They put a stuffed toy on the bed as it is the hotel's mascot .(turbo is the name)The hotel has so much charm about it .The breakfast was not the best I have had. I would go there again .

Room Tip: Get the higher rooms for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinjohnbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

Great place to stay stayed for 2 days. With 2 children they gave me a family room it was huge facing the main rd high ceiling giving a feel of rOyal room
Bathroom was small compared to the room
Best was the circular staircase
Decent breakfast

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Docpravin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

No room service.
Not able to buy a drink in hotel bar at 10pm on a Sunday evening - they are closed!
It's a hotel, I expect room service and a bar especially from a well known chain ...
On the plus side - nice room. Underfloor heating in bathroom.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank CCameron410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian O, Owner at Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback from your stay with us.

We are sorry to hear you were not informed about the closed bar on Sunday evenings. During Sunday evening we at the front desk are happy to assist with orders and room service.

Please accept my apologies that this was not clear enough.

We hope to see you soon again.

Yours sincerely,

Christian Östlundh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Nice hotel, nicely decorated room, very good breakfast, free wifi, and excellent location. But if you leave in the morning and come back late in the evening, you pay for a good sleep, which you will not have in this hotel.

There is a trendy bar, right in front of the hotel. It plays techno music (even week days) that is heard in the rooms all night long (literally, I write at 04:00am). This may be why there are earplugs on the night tables, but they do not help to mitigate the bass sound of the music.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian O, Owner at Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Many thanks for your feedback!

Please, get in touch with us so we can fix the sound proofing in the room you stayed in. My e-mail is christian.ostlundh@hkchotels.se

Many thanks in advance!

Christian Östlundh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed with our 4 years old twins in a family room. The room was not immense but sufficient for a 2 nights stay. We loved the breakfast and were served nicely by staff both in the restaurant/brasserie and at reception. The room was noisy on Friday night (because of the street, but we never heard other guests in neighbour room). Despite the fairly high rate (Stockholm is expensive), we would stay there again and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudi_Cristi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian O, Owner at Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Many thanks for your kind words!

Please, send us your names so we can make sure that you get a more quiet room for next time. My e-mail is christian.ostlundh@hkchotels.se

Kind Regards,

Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We always stay there when in Stockholm. The position is just perfect! In the middle of the center where there is everything, the best shops, the nicest walking streets, restaurants, clubs, everything you need. We love it, but i cant say the same about their breakfast, is quite poor for such a ‘‘premier‘‘ hotel. Nice brunch, though! Clean, cozy and good service!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loredanarusu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian O, Owner at Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

During this spring we will start with a new breakfast concept called “Best Breakfast by Tina” with a famous Swedish chef, Tina Nordström. It’s a new fresh & inspiring element in our breakfast.

We hope to see you soon again,

Yours sincerely

Christian Ostlundh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Very nice old style hotel. Comfortable bed, clean room and bathroom, all well furnished. Noise was not a problem as some others have said, but I was there Sunday - Wednesday nights. I stated in the second smallest size room. It was fine for one person, but would be tight for two people if you planned to spend much time in the room.
Very good breakfast. Not very many hot items, but everything I had was good. The granola/muesli station includes a delicious berries mix topping.
Many restaurants within walking distance, and the palace and other historic buildings are not far - a bit longer walk.
I enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank BSchug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Ostermalm
Hotel Drottning Kristina
Hotel Drottning Kristina
#21 of 155 in Stockholm
717 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#17 of 155 in Stockholm
1,390 reviews
Norrmalm
Berns Hotel
Berns Hotel
#41 of 155 in Stockholm
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#58 of 155 in Stockholm
1,396 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#51 of 155 in Stockholm
1,954 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#50 of 155 in Stockholm
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection

Address: Birger Jarlsgatan 21, Stockholm 111 87, Sweden (Formerly Hotel Kung Carl, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#42 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#43 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £88 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Hotel offers modern comforts and amenities, set in the Financial and Commercial center of the city; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Hotell Kung Carl Hotel Stockholm
Best Western Hotel Stockholm
Best Western Stockholm
Stockholm Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing