We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (869)
Filter reviews
869 results
Traveller rating
260
394
127
66
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
394
127
66
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel central location excellent location floor room facing the street top floor definitely stay here again quiet room breakfast was excellent vasa museum old town gamla stan royal palace metro station yogurt stureplan noise
Filter
Updating list...
260 - 265 of 869 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here for an night in february 2014 and really liked it. Our room was nicely decorated, we had these cute stuffed puppies on our bed. The room was a good size and felt really fresh and clean. The staff was really friendly and we were able to check in a little bit earlier. The location of the hotel is great, from here you can walk everywhere. The breakfast buffet was tasty.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I frequently go to Stockholm with my girlfriend to visit friends and family and the last few times I have stayed at the Kung Carl. The location is excellent for shopping, sightseeing and nightlife.

The hotel is in a historic building and is decorated in classic Swedish style with lots of blue and white. The ceilings are high and the place has lots of character, one drawback are small elevators which are a bit slow. The bathrooms are modern and clean and very functional with good pressure showers.

The front desk staff have always been very friendly to me and forthcoming when I had any special requests like luggage storing or late check out.

Breakfast (as in most Swedish hotels) is fresh and healthy and there is a good selection of newspapers (love reading my paper while having breakfast). The restaurant is a popular lunch place for office workers nearby.

Internet was free of charge and reasonably fast.

The hotel is in a busy part of Stockholm so if you are sensitive to noise (I am not), request a room on a high floor or a room facing Norrlandsgatan.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Since we moved from Sweden we always stay at Hotel Kung Carl when we come back to the city. We enjoy the perfect location, the friendly and excellent service the Beautiful decorated rooms and the sumptous breakfast buffet. An extra plus for the head bartender and the excellent beer and wine selection! Can't find a better alternative in central Stockholm!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunnar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A great, historically interesting hotel with wonderful decor and atmosphere. 20 min walk from Djurgården, 10 minutes to Hötorget, 20 min to Gamla Stan. A metro station nearby. Sture Gallerian on the other side of the street, wonderful (but expensive and exclusive) clubs and restaurants. The beautiful and lush park Humlegården worth of visiting on a beautiful day - also for families with children. Our room was tiny, but for a 3 day visit okay. Great bathroom, very clean overall. Nice and helpful staff. Awesome breakfast until 10.30 a.m. AC in room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to Norrlandsgatan - clubs and traffic may be noisy.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMTNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We used to live in Stockholm so the location of the hotel, a very lively nightlife spot, was no problem for us, we simply used earplugs. It is extremely loud around Stureplan though, so be prepared for that.
The problems began at check-in, advertised time: 15.00. The room was not ready at 16.00 and the receptionist could not tell how long we would have to wait. We requested another room and, to our surprise, they managed to provide it. There is only one tiny elevator that serves seven huge floors, that means you have to wait for ages to even get in since it is often occupied by cleaning staff.

The room gave a nice first impression which would have lasted, provided we had kept our sunglasses on. The level of cleanliness in many Swedish hotels is appalling and this one was no exception: dust and threads from other guest's clothing on the floor, incredibly filthy windows, other guest's hair on the bathroom floor and in the shower. We kindly asked the receptionist to send in a cleaner. When we returned to the room several hours later there was still hair on the floor! No slippers were provided.

After a shower the floor was flooded with water, literally spilling over the edges. The small plastic stripe on the shower door was missing and nobody had bothered to replace it so we had to step on towels in order not to slip.

If you still decide to stay in this hotel, make sure they exclude breakfast from the rate unless you fancy elbowing your way through a crowd of people, queuing to get a table, a plate, bread, coffee, anything really. The breakfast room has no capacity for that many people, yet when the hotel is fully booked nothing is being done to improve the situation. A ludicrous poster was put in the elevator, informing us that 'if you would like to have your breakfast in peace and quiet, please make sure you take it before 9.00' We had no intention of doing so since we were on vacation. We went out to buy some croissants in a bakery and, as a matter of fact, the breakfast room was crammed even before 9.00! It was hard to even pass through to the entrance since the breakfast-fighters were blocking the way from the elevator.
We did not eat breakfast at the hotel at all.

The worst thing happened on Sunday evening: we returned to the hotel after walking all day and wanted to freshen up. It was just before 18.00 and our room has not been made at all! We called the reception and were informed that: 'The cleaners will be off duty really soon but they can make up your room in five minutes' Meaning: had we returned five minutes later there would be nobody to clean the room.

That was the limit for us, we requested to speak to a manager, who, naturally, was not at hand. We firmly requested a reduction, to which the receptionist replied: 'You will not get any since you booked via Expedia'. She promised one of the managers would be available for a talk on Monday morning. As many of you probably have guessed, none of the managers appeared on Monday. The state of that hotel is therefore no accident.
We did receive a very small reduction of 11 Euro per night (the rate was 220 Euro), a ridiculous amount which we did not want to contest, after all, we were on vacation.

The general manager did contact us via email and we provided him with the list of faults, it really felt like we were doing his job for him. I'm sure many of you have heard this before: 'We are so grateful for your opinions, we will do our best to get better' In this case, we really doubt it.
Our stay was terrible and the promise of an upgrade in the future did not make up for it, we will never go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Be advised that rooms facing the street are very noisy.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian O, Manager at Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Sir and Madame,

I am really sorry that you did not like your stay here at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotell Kung Carl.

Please, rest assure that we take your feed back very seriously and it was unfortunate that I did not have the chance to meet with you.

Again, I am truly regretful for all the problems you experienced while staying with us and should you reconsider and wish to give us a new chance for your next visit to Stockholm, please do not hesitatet to contact me on e-mail christian.ostlundh@hkchotels.se.

Kindest Regards,

Christian Östlundh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews