We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel near Svampen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #57 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I had a great experience with this wonderful hotel at prime location. I stay there for 7 nights initially at a single room. Later shifted to a double suite. Both the rooms are awesome. Friendly atmosphere. Must have the wonderful breakfast.

Room Tip: Every Room has road views and more or less same. Double Suite rooms have a wonderful balcony with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoumyadipM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a great experience with this hotel during a two-night stay. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were actually large for Europe. The rooms also have good air conditioning which in the summer is helpful because you don't want to leave your windows open here (see below).

While it is located about a mile from most of the main sights of Stockholm, there is a metro station around the corner which can get you to the central station or to Gamla Stan in less than five minutes. It is also about a 20 minute walk from the central station along one street so it is easy to find. There are also A LOT of shops, restaurants, and bars very close by so you shouldn't have any trouble finding something to do.

The breakfast buffet was really good with the typical European cold meats, cheeses, and breads. Hot bacon and eggs as well as fresh fruit and smoked caviar were also available.

I have read some reviews prior to booking this hotel about noise but we didn't have any problems (standard double room). The windows sealed up tight enough to block out the noise from along the main street. It was busy on the streets both nights when we got in close to midnight both nights and people were still partying outside but we didn't hear anything once we were inside. The hotel does provide earplugs if you still require them.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you may want to request a room that doesn't face the main street (Bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Hotels are expensive in northern Europe. The Hotell Kung Carl in Stockholm is not cheap but you get good value for your money through an excellent buffet breakfast, a central location within walking distance of the Central Train station, and a clean, comfortable room with air conditioning and nice amenities. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank normg845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was a good hotel in the centre of Stockholm, with easy access to public transport, shops and restaurants.

The breakfast buffet was excellent and had a great selection of local dishes to chose from.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful.

My only problems (which are minor):
- The very slow main lift, and the fact it was almost impossible to find a flight of stairs you could actually walk down without fear of setting of an alarm system.
- The rooms were on the slightly small side.
- I didn't really get the whole stuffed toy on the bed thing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank callumx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Not quite so good for a week. A double room has very little storage space for 2 people for a week, especially as there are no shelves or chests to keep things only a very small wardrobe. 6th floor was awful with noisy air conditioning that I was told could not be shut off. Also our room was on the front and had no curtains only thin blinds so the flashing light of the advertising screen on the building opposite also kept us awake. To be fair the staff were lovely and were as helpful as they could be. The room on the 4th floor the next day was perfect. The breakfasts were great, just about everything you could want. If I visited Stockholm again I would try a hotel in a quieter location.

Room Tip: Do not book a room on 6th floor, especially at the front of the hotel. The air conditioning on thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evo_evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here for an night in february 2014 and really liked it. Our room was nicely decorated, we had these cute stuffed puppies on our bed. The room was a good size and felt really fresh and clean. The staff was really friendly and we were able to check in a little bit earlier. The location of the hotel is great, from here you can walk everywhere. The breakfast buffet was tasty.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I frequently go to Stockholm with my girlfriend to visit friends and family and the last few times I have stayed at the Kung Carl. The location is excellent for shopping, sightseeing and nightlife.

The hotel is in a historic building and is decorated in classic Swedish style with lots of blue and white. The ceilings are high and the place has lots of character, one drawback are small elevators which are a bit slow. The bathrooms are modern and clean and very functional with good pressure showers.

The front desk staff have always been very friendly to me and forthcoming when I had any special requests like luggage storing or late check out.

Breakfast (as in most Swedish hotels) is fresh and healthy and there is a good selection of newspapers (love reading my paper while having breakfast). The restaurant is a popular lunch place for office workers nearby.

Internet was free of charge and reasonably fast.

The hotel is in a busy part of Stockholm so if you are sensitive to noise (I am not), request a room on a high floor or a room facing Norrlandsgatan.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Ostermalm
Hotel Drottning Kristina
Hotel Drottning Kristina
#21 of 154 in Stockholm
690 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#45 of 154 in Stockholm
409 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#18 of 154 in Stockholm
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza
Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza
#69 of 154 in Stockholm
559 reviews
Norrmalm
Berns Hotel
Berns Hotel
#64 of 154 in Stockholm
740 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection

Address: Birger Jarlsgatan 21, Stockholm 111 87, Sweden (Formerly Hotel Kung Carl, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#41 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#43 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £100 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Hotel offers modern comforts and amenities, set in the Financial and Commercial center of the city; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Hotell Kung Carl Hotel Stockholm
Best Western Hotel Stockholm
Best Western Stockholm
Stockholm Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing