We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (887)
Filter reviews
887 results
Traveller rating
265
404
129
67
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
404
129
67
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel central location location is excellent small balcony facing the street nice atmosphere business trip to stockholm beautiful room walking distance choose this hotel top floor definitely stay here again single room breakfast was excellent restaurants and bars vasa museum superior room
Filter
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 887 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a great experience with this hotel during a two-night stay. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were actually large for Europe. The rooms also have good air conditioning which in the summer is helpful because you don't want to leave your windows open here (see below).

While it is located about a mile from most of the main sights of Stockholm, there is a metro station around the corner which can get you to the central station or to Gamla Stan in less than five minutes. It is also about a 20 minute walk from the central station along one street so it is easy to find. There are also A LOT of shops, restaurants, and bars very close by so you shouldn't have any trouble finding something to do.

The breakfast buffet was really good with the typical European cold meats, cheeses, and breads. Hot bacon and eggs as well as fresh fruit and smoked caviar were also available.

I have read some reviews prior to booking this hotel about noise but we didn't have any problems (standard double room). The windows sealed up tight enough to block out the noise from along the main street. It was busy on the streets both nights when we got in close to midnight both nights and people were still partying outside but we didn't hear anything once we were inside. The hotel does provide earplugs if you still require them.

Room tip: If you are a light sleeper, you may want to request a room that doesn't face the main street (Birger Jarlsgatan) or one on a higher floor.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Hotels are expensive in northern Europe. The Hotell Kung Carl in Stockholm is not cheap but you get good value for your money through an excellent buffet breakfast, a central location within walking distance of the Central Train station, and a clean, comfortable room with air conditioning and nice amenities. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank normg845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was a good hotel in the centre of Stockholm, with easy access to public transport, shops and restaurants.

The breakfast buffet was excellent and had a great selection of local dishes to chose from.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful.

My only problems (which are minor):
- The very slow main lift, and the fact it was almost impossible to find a flight of stairs you could actually walk down without fear of setting of an alarm system.
- The rooms were on the slightly small side.
- I didn't really get the whole stuffed toy on the bed thing.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank callumx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Not quite so good for a week. A double room has very little storage space for 2 people for a week, especially as there are no shelves or chests to keep things only a very small wardrobe. 6th floor was awful with noisy air conditioning that I was told could not be shut off. Also our room was on the front and had no curtains only thin blinds so the flashing light of the advertising screen on the building opposite also kept us awake. To be fair the staff were lovely and were as helpful as they could be. The room on the 4th floor the next day was perfect. The breakfasts were great, just about everything you could want. If I visited Stockholm again I would try a hotel in a quieter location.

Room tip: Do not book a room on 6th floor, especially at the front of the hotel. The air conditioning on this floor is really noisy and kept me awake on my first night, we also had a room at the front and with no curtains only thin blinds the flashing lights of the advertising screen on the building opposite also kept us awake. The next day they changed our room to 4th floor at the back and this was perfect.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evo_evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here for an night in february 2014 and really liked it. Our room was nicely decorated, we had these cute stuffed puppies on our bed. The room was a good size and felt really fresh and clean. The staff was really friendly and we were able to check in a little bit earlier. The location of the hotel is great, from here you can walk everywhere. The breakfast buffet was tasty.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 618annikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews