We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #55 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel during my last visit to Stockholm 15 years ago and remembered a bright hotel with a large hotel room and current ikea-esque furniture.

My room this time was tiny, both the room and the bathroom. The furniture was old and beat up and there was hardly any room for luggage.

The breakfast area was crowded with traffic jams and not enough room to sit.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Warren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian O, Owner at Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Warren,

I am very sorry to hear that.

It sounds like you had a room in our smaller sized categories.

Please contact me next time you are going to Stockholm and I will help you to find a similar room as your last stay 15 years ago.

I would also really appreciate if you can contact me so we can confirm the room you stayed in. My e-mail is christian.ostlundh@hkchotels.se.

Many thanks in advance,

Christian Östlundh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

You can feel the history of this hotel glowing as soon as you walk into the reception. Our family room was spacious and lovely old style, yet with modern ammenities.
Reception staff were very friendly. The breakfast area can get a bit busy in the morning, but nothing too much. Our only challenge was the room was facing the local party area, so could be a bit noisy at night. However, the hotel did provide earplugs and seem to have done all to solve this as a much as possible.

Location is great. Close to harbour, old town, and bus and tram lines.



Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Brizzy4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

There were two adults and two children travelling and we took this hotel as a part of a ferry trip. The location was excellent. We walked to the hotel from Viking Line terminal and then continued our way to Gröna Lund. We left our luggage there so that we would not have to carry those with us when enjoying ourselves in Gröna Lund or when checking attractions of the city.

Staff was very helpful and joyful. All of our questions were answered and the stay was also pleasant.

Breakfast was very good. The room was big (family room) and the interior was eye-pleasing.

We had a really joyful stay at Hotel Kung carl, thanks for that!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Antti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Hotel is located in the downtown area of the city, walkable to the theatre and boat trips around Stockholm. Great area for sitting outside the hotel. Breakfast very busy but great selection. I was travelling in a group most of the double rooms were excellent but the single room was very small. The desk staff were very friendly and helpful to our many queries. Good hotel but slightly complicated old style lifts. Would recommend to other travellers. Night club outside front may affect your sleep !! Dining room staff top notch!!

Room Tip: Rooms away from entrance side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank thlfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Good breakfast buffet with a large choice and free fruit and coffee available throughout the day. Good fast WiFi. The single room I had was extremely small and unbearably hot (no fan or AC), but when I asked at reception the lady was very helpful and friendly and upgraded me to another room which had AC (and was bigger). Very friendly and helpful staff. Location is also good, just a short walk from the waterfront and about 15 minutes from the Arlanda Express train station. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have AC so inquire about this when you book / check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sg421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is well located if you want to stay in central Stockholm. It is walking distance to the Royal Palace, Gamla Stan, shopping malls, Djurgården etc. I recommend to borrow the hotel's bicycles to ride around Djurgården.
It offers rooms with old and new (modern style) I recommend taking a room with old style.
The breakfast is good and the service is good enough. Had to ask reception to replace a spotlight on the bathroom twice (over two days).
I will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richiruu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Came to Stockholm for an extra night and wished we had booked this hotel for our full stay. The location is excellent and only a short walk to the old town and other attractions. Service was excellent and very pleasant. The breakfast buffet in what could have been a large version of somebody's traditional home kitchen was EXCELLENT - quality, variety and presentation.
Unfortunately, the beds were not particularly comfortable and the room and bathroom were tiny, although the tiny balcony added to the appeal. Maintaining the historical charm of the place costs it the convenience (and some modernity) one expects in a hotel like the Best Western.

Room Tip: The tiny rooms with the tiny balconies are delightful for the chance to step outside and get a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garnet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#16 of 155 in Stockholm
1,441 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Drottning Kristina
Hotel Drottning Kristina
#21 of 155 in Stockholm
727 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#52 of 155 in Stockholm
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasastan
Best Western Plus Time Hotel
Norrmalm
Berns Hotel
Berns Hotel
#37 of 155 in Stockholm
792 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#60 of 155 in Stockholm
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection

Address: Birger Jarlsgatan 21, Stockholm 111 87, Sweden (Formerly Hotel Kung Carl, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#40 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#43 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £78 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Hotel offers modern comforts and amenities, set in the Financial and Commercial center of the city; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Hotell Kung Carl Hotel Stockholm
Best Western Hotel Stockholm
Best Western Stockholm
Stockholm Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing