We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modern & decorated hotel”
Review of Hotel Birger Jarl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Birger Jarl
Ranked #51 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

The rooms are not very spacious but comfortable & everything is there packed in the room, possible each room with different theme, colour, etc,. cos we're in a group of four, checked in for 2rooms, my room was totally in red colour tone, while the other room was in blue, only 2 drinks were found in the refrigerator and it's free, the complimentry coffee/tea & the kettle were placed in the cupboard where you may not be easily notice there, it was hidden on the edge of the TV desk.

Breakfast was very nice, choices of food & drinks were more than expected, all you can eat.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magng_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,572)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Birger Jarl
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

507 - 513 of 1,572 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriend for 3 nights last weekend. Staff we're really helpful, helped us cancel restaurant reservations and we could buy passes for the stockholm city bikes at reception. Cost about 1650 sek for a three day pass (well worth it if the weather is decent).

Arrived at 12 and check in isn't until 3pm so we dumped bags and went for a coffee and walk.

Location's really good. 2 stops north of central station. There are some decent restaurants nearby. Ate at kottbaren, which only has a small menu but if you like meat then you'll love this place and fairly cheap for Stockholm, wine is v expensive though. If you want to Pay top prices then Grill is very close too with more steak options but can be very expensive.

Hotel was really clean. Room was pretty large and had free WIFI Internet and also an Ethernet port in the room. Bed was two singles pushed together which gave loads of space. Room v well equipped, with small fridge, kettle and tea and coffee, iron and ironing board and what looked like a trouser press. Safe. Flat screen tv. Telephone. Fan.

Breakfast was a really good spread. Had hot food like bacon, meatballs, mini frankfurter sausages and scrambled egg (bacon was really greasy, but I had it every morning because the bread was so good!) cereals, fruit, pastries and croissant, juice, milk, yogurt and tea/coffee. Served until 10am weekdays and 11am weekends.

Didn't eat in the restaurant but looked like an ok menu.

Slept fairly well but there was construction work going on outside which started at 5am. But windows are fairly sound proofed, so once we close the window it was fine.

Really nice break in a decent hotel. We got a really good deal on hotels.com so for the price we paid I would say its an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: Check in is not until 3pm.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike5352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I have no complaints about this hotel -- the staff was very friendly and welcoming; breakfast buffet delicious, and beds especially comfortable. I've seen other travelers write that they rooms are too small, and compared to an average american hotel, yes, they are. But by European standards, it was enough room for 2 people. Also, location was great! Close to subway (Tunnelbana) lines and walking distance to many sites.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Stayed here recently with a group. Hotel rooms were kind of strange--felt more like a dormitory than a hotel room. Room was very warm and had fans on the shelf for cooling. Overall the room was adequate but we did think it was a bit sterile and could have used some sort of cooling system.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We have just returned from a three day holiday in Stockholm, and stayed in Hotel Birger Jarl. Our rooms were on the top floor and were very comfortable and spotlessly clean. We did find the rooms became very hot during the night, but maybe the temperature was adjustable - though we were unable to find a means to do so. Breakfasts were superb. The coffee, in particular, was the best I found in Stockholm !! Thanks to all the staff who made our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The location is quite central.Reception quite helpful and breakfast has good variety.However for vegetarians the choice is limited.The charges are also reasonable.There is a grocery store close by and the main road is about a block away.The reception arranges for taxis and guides the
tourist as to various attractions and means to get to them.

Room Tip: Prefer room on higher floor near the elevators.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArunLoyalka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My sister and I stayed there in a twin bedroom just last week as we got a really good deal online. About location, as other reviewers mentioned, yes the hotel is not exactly near the Metro, but there's a bus stop nearby where you can take bus 2A, which pretty much goes to most of the spots we wanted to see. We also changed buses when necessary. We kept on taking the buses when we were there as we got the Stockholm card. The bus stop is much nearer than the metro, which makes it easier for people with luggages. So conclusion, do take the buses.

Room was cosy and clean and beds were very comfortable. Free wireless in room. Nice selection of breakfast, it got a bit crowded during peak period of 9 am-930am, but still reasonable. Helpful hotel staff. I like it that it's at the edge of the city centre, still central but still peaceful.

As another reviewer mentioned, we only got a fan in our room (no air-con) during our stay last week (summer time), but weather in Stockholm was cool and we didn't even use the fan.

All in all, a nice stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qwirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Vasastan
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
#40 of 154 in Stockholm
830 reviews
Vasastan
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
#35 of 154 in Stockholm
620 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#17 of 154 in Stockholm
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#46 of 154 in Stockholm
1,552 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Tegnerlunden
Hotel Tegnerlunden
#42 of 154 in Stockholm
860 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Birger Jarl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Birger Jarl

Address: Tulegatan 8 | Box 19016, Stockholm 113 53, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#25 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#30 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#36 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £101 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Birger Jarl 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Birger Jarl offers a wide range of rooms and suites all decorated in modern design. In the welcoming lobby you will find the restaurant and lobby bar where you can sip on a drink and enjoy a nice dinner. You are welcome to use the gym complete with views out over the rooftops. Complimentary WiFi in the whole hotel. We are centrally located with stores and restaurants within walking distance. Conference facilities with capacity for up to 550 people. Staying with us you will be welcomed with personal care, comfortable beds, delicious breakfast and stylish design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Birger Jarl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birger Jarl Hotel
Birger Jarl Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing