We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went with 1 1/2 year old”
Review of Hotel Birger Jarl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Birger Jarl
Ranked #50 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and our 1 1/2 year old toddler stayed here for four nights in May 2014 and had a great experience. The hotel was clean in the restaurant, lobby, hallways, and most importantly, our room. The room had 2 pairs of slippers, two robes, a half bottle of sparkling wine, and a fruit plate. The bed was comfortable and a travel crib was provided for our son. Breakfast was awesome with fruit, breads, cold meats, bacon, sausage, eggs, yogurt, musli, and delicious coffee from a pressurized machine. The old town area was about a 20 minute walk as was the Djurgarten where Junibacken, the Vasa Museum, aquarium, and the Abba museum are. Shopping was also available all along the way. Grocery store on the opposite corner of the block. We would stay there again and recommend it to others.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Sylvan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

378 - 384 of 1,577 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel because it's down the street from where my parents live and we came for a short visit to attend my grandmother's funeral. The room was comfortable and we had one of the few rooms with a balcony. The bed was comfy, the room dark and quiet for great sleep. The laminate floors were loud though, but that would be my only complaint. Bathroom was standard Stockholm apartment type bathroom with a handheld shower in the corner and you shower standing on the floor. The best part? The amazing breakfast! I was expecting a continental breakfast with just bread and coffee, but this buffet had everything from fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, fresh bread, granola, scrambled eggs, waffles, fresh juices, gourmet coffee, fresh cut veggies, etc. more like a brunch. It's a little off the beaten path in a more residential area, but still only about a 15-20 minute walk from the city center. You can ride a bus or take the subway (station "Rådmansgatan") as well.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank katym0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Lovely stay here in October 2012. Restaurant great - breakfast included was lovely. Room functional, clean and simple. Easy from airport - bus then short train, stop close to hotel. Nearby supermarket and an enjoyable walk to waterfront.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I booked this hotel from hotels.com, it said the hotel was very close from the Central Station, approximately .43 miles. That wasn't the case. Once we got to Stockholm and started asking for directions, came to find out it was about 25 to 30 minutes walking or take a metro and it is about 7 minutes to this hotel's stop and then about 7 to 10 minutes walk.

Though once we got to the hotel, it was very nice. Staff is very friendly there, the breakfast is good, and their service great. Rooms are decent sized and so are bathrooms.

Once you get used to the traveling from hotel to the central station, it isn't bad. The only thing that you can't go is go back and forth to the hotel as it takes time to go to the station, get on the metro and go to the hotel and walk. If you decide to book this hotel as a tourist, I would suggest you get a 24, 48 or 72 hours of metro pass depending on your stay.

There are a few restaurants around the main street of this hotel. McDonald's, Indian, Chinese, pizza place, falafel and a lot of other things on the main street by the metro stop at Radmansgatan.

Beds were very comfortable, internet was great, shower had hot water and with good pressure. Overall an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sankuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The room's size and design completely paled against the reception area. It was small, and the shower area was surprisingly small. The panel separating it from the toilet area was also tiny, and when you shower, everything becomes wet.
Pillows are like lounge pillows and not sleeping pillows. For those who like soft beds, this is for you.
One thing I liked is the breakfast buffet. I also liked the toiletries, which included a lotion.
WiFi connection is not great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesupr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Relatively close to all the main tourist attractions (15 minutes walking), clean with polite helpful staff. Showers and bathrooms in general are a little small and kind of hard to maneuver in. Breakfast is good but dinning are crowded all the time. Good for the price though.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hossein A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I like this place. Convenient to KTH where I had to go. I have been there several times with only one bad experience - you can PM me about that one if interested. Especially "fun" at Christmas when they have designers decorate trees for the lobby. Typical Scandi-sized rooms. Efficient but comfortable. It is a good location. Very good breakfast!

Room Tip: If they are remodeling rooms the noise starts quite early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Vasastan
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
#41 of 154 in Stockholm
840 reviews
Vasastan
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
#32 of 154 in Stockholm
632 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#18 of 154 in Stockholm
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasastan
Hotel Tegnerlunden
Hotel Tegnerlunden
#42 of 154 in Stockholm
876 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#45 of 154 in Stockholm
1,565 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Birger Jarl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Birger Jarl

Address: Tulegatan 8 | Box 19016, Stockholm 113 53, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#25 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#30 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#35 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £89 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Birger Jarl 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Birger Jarl offers a wide range of rooms and suites all decorated in modern design. In the welcoming lobby you will find the restaurant and lobby bar where you can sip on a drink and enjoy a nice dinner. You are welcome to use the gym complete with views out over the rooftops. Complimentary WiFi in the whole hotel. We are centrally located with stores and restaurants within walking distance. Conference facilities with capacity for up to 550 people. Staying with us you will be welcomed with personal care, comfortable beds, delicious breakfast and stylish design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Birger Jarl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birger Jarl Hotel
Birger Jarl Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing