We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice feel, great neighbourhood”
Review of Hotel Birger Jarl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Birger Jarl
Ranked #54 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice feel, great neighbourhood”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Welcoming hotel in a great neighbourhood within walking distance to central Stockholm. The room was small but well designed and comfortable and had a Scandinavian feel. The breakfast had a sufficient range of options. Overall, we were very happy with this hotel and have recommended it to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MishaMJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    746
    286
    42
    17
See reviews for
172
556
111
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Absam, Austria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I was in Stockholm for business and it was definitely a good choice. Small but clean rooms, good beds and also quiet at night. Breakfast buffet was great, great variety and good quality. The only drawback: It was crowded with people and hard to find a place to sit and very hectic. Location is great, only 15' by foot to the train station.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christoph l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights on business occasion in mid May. Clean and cosy room with nice furniture. Very friendly and helpful staff in reception, bar, restaurant and conference area. Good breakfast with a large selection of food.
The location is good, close to the tube, buses and most of central Stockholm is in walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nasim52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and our 1 1/2 year old toddler stayed here for four nights in May 2014 and had a great experience. The hotel was clean in the restaurant, lobby, hallways, and most importantly, our room. The room had 2 pairs of slippers, two robes, a half bottle of sparkling wine, and a fruit plate. The bed was comfortable and a travel crib was provided for our son. Breakfast was awesome with fruit, breads, cold meats, bacon, sausage, eggs, yogurt, musli, and delicious coffee from a pressurized machine. The old town area was about a 20 minute walk as was the Djurgarten where Junibacken, the Vasa Museum, aquarium, and the Abba museum are. Shopping was also available all along the way. Grocery store on the opposite corner of the block. We would stay there again and recommend it to others.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel because it's down the street from where my parents live and we came for a short visit to attend my grandmother's funeral. The room was comfortable and we had one of the few rooms with a balcony. The bed was comfy, the room dark and quiet for great sleep. The laminate floors were loud though, but that would be my only complaint. Bathroom was standard Stockholm apartment type bathroom with a handheld shower in the corner and you shower standing on the floor. The best part? The amazing breakfast! I was expecting a continental breakfast with just bread and coffee, but this buffet had everything from fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, fresh bread, granola, scrambled eggs, waffles, fresh juices, gourmet coffee, fresh cut veggies, etc. more like a brunch. It's a little off the beaten path in a more residential area, but still only about a 15-20 minute walk from the city center. You can ride a bus or take the subway (station "Rådmansgatan") as well.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank katym0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely stay here in October 2012. Restaurant great - breakfast included was lovely. Room functional, clean and simple. Easy from airport - bus then short train, stop close to hotel. Nearby supermarket and an enjoyable walk to waterfront.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I booked this hotel from hotels.com, it said the hotel was very close from the Central Station, approximately .43 miles. That wasn't the case. Once we got to Stockholm and started asking for directions, came to find out it was about 25 to 30 minutes walking or take a metro and it is about 7 minutes to this hotel's stop and then about 7 to 10 minutes walk.

Though once we got to the hotel, it was very nice. Staff is very friendly there, the breakfast is good, and their service great. Rooms are decent sized and so are bathrooms.

Once you get used to the traveling from hotel to the central station, it isn't bad. The only thing that you can't go is go back and forth to the hotel as it takes time to go to the station, get on the metro and go to the hotel and walk. If you decide to book this hotel as a tourist, I would suggest you get a 24, 48 or 72 hours of metro pass depending on your stay.

There are a few restaurants around the main street of this hotel. McDonald's, Indian, Chinese, pizza place, falafel and a lot of other things on the main street by the metro stop at Radmansgatan.

Beds were very comfortable, internet was great, shower had hot water and with good pressure. Overall an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sankuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Vasastan
Hotel Tegnerlunden
Hotel Tegnerlunden
#42 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Vasastan
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
#34 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Hellsten
Hotel Hellsten
#44 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#24 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western & Hotel
Best Western & Hotel
#36 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Birger Jarl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Birger Jarl

Property: Hotel Birger Jarl
Address: Tulegatan 8 | Box 19016, Stockholm 113 53, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#25 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#30 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#41 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Birger Jarl 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Birger Jarl offers a wide range of rooms and suites all decorated in modern design. In the welcoming lobby you will find the restaurant and lobby bar where you can sip on a drink and enjoy a nice dinner. You are welcome to use the gym complete with views out over the rooftops. Complimentary WiFi in the whole hotel. We are centrally located with stores and restaurants within walking distance. Conference facilities with capacity for up to 550 people. Staying with us you will be welcomed with personal care, comfortable beds, delicious breakfast and stylish design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Birger Jarl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birger Jarl Hotel
Birger Jarl Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing