We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, 15 min by #2 tram to Palace” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Birger Jarl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Birger Jarl
Ranked #52 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, 15 min by #2 tram to Palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Breakfast was good, free bottled water to take with you when you sightsee. #2 tram (around the corner and down 2 blocks there is a mini mkt here as well. You took this directly to the Palace to see the changing of the guard. We were given a room with two singles though we ordered a queen. Went to the front desk and they changed my room immediately, The 2nd room was much nicer and a bit larger. All the staff were pleasant but 1 young blonde headed girl on the evening shift. She was the only one who treated you like you were bothering her by asking for help. Even my wife wondered why she had an "attitude". Everyone else was professional.
Hint! The hotel provides a map but, if you go to the central Station they have help desk right past the turnstiles that have a map that INCLUDES the Tram and Bus routes. This map was a lifesaver as you try to negotiate their public transit system and provided by the SL company.
Two blocks away toward the metro system is a main road that has many restaurants on it.
I would stay here again on my next visit.

Room Tip: If you are a couple, get a room with 1 bed rather than 2 singles, Ours was larger and very, very co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    735
    280
    42
    17
See reviews for
172
549
109
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Close to down town and still quiet.

The rooms are great for a single traveler or couple who is touring the city. I love the free bottle water in the mini fridge (the one with the lemon flavor). There is free wifi and all the other goodies that come with a "comfy" room.

The breakfasts are buffet style and there is a big variety to choose from. If you start your day hungry it is your own fault.

He hotel has a nice outside corner to chill out.

And if you did not have enough exercise after doing the tourist thing you can always visit the gym.

Mark the place if you are a tourist. It is worth visiting. Your Kroner will go much further here.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the upper floors and one facing the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Virtual_dirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iceland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I found this hotel very nice with its friendly staff and clean rooms with good beds. Breakfast was good and the location was good both for walking down to Drottninggatan, Gallerian or to the nearest T-bana. Nice Italian restaurant, Ciao Ciao only 3 minuets walk from the hotel recommended by the staff.

Room Tip: we stayed at 4th floor, not so very far from the elevator but did not hear anything..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny B, Manager at Hotel Birger Jarl, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We welcome and pay close attention to all feedback, as it helps us improve our standard and service in line with the expectations of our guests. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your comments to our staff. I do agree that Ciao Ciao is a very nice place for pizzas and pastas.
I wish you a lovely summer and welcome back to Hotel Birger Jarl!

Kind regards,
Jenny Björk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

The hotel is in a great location, near downtown and the harbor, and with good restaurants nearby. As others have mentioned, the breakfasts are excellent. Price is reasonable for Stockholm.
The rooms are all different, with artistic flair. Some are great, others a bit overdone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffery H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny B, Manager at Hotel Birger Jarl, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We welcome and pay close attention to all feedback, as it helps us improve our standard and service in line with the expectations of our guests. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and especially our appreciated breakfast.
I wish you a nice summer and warm welcome back to Stockholm and Hotel Birger Jarl.

Kind regards,
Jenny Björk
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I highly recommend the Birger Jarl for a quick stop in Stockholm. The location is great (very close to downtown), the staff friendly, the rooms nice (for 1 person or a couple), the free breakfasts good quality (and quantity!), and generally no issues. Definitely, definitely check it out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredrikstad, Norge
Level Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

God hotell and not far from downtown gamle stan. Vi had our dog with us. Vaterbowl and a gift pack for the dog was ready in the rom as a velcome. There is a parking fasility in the basement of the hotell. It costs 250 skr for one day.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chefpeter61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

The hotel is 20 minute walk from downtown Stockholm, quiet neighborhood near the
main street of Stockholm. The rooms are a bit small but clean, comfortable, with everything working perfectly. The breakfast is sumptiously excellent. The staff is extremely friendly, helpful, and welcoming. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NNL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Vasastan
Hotel Tegnerlunden
Hotel Tegnerlunden
#43 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Hellsten
Hotel Hellsten
#35 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Vasastan
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
#36 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#50 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#21 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#22 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Birger Jarl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Birger Jarl

Property: Hotel Birger Jarl
Address: Tulegatan 8 | Box 19016, Stockholm 113 53, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#25 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#30 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#38 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Birger Jarl 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Birger Jarl offers a wide range of rooms and suites all decorated in modern design. In the welcoming lobby you will find the restaurant and lobby bar where you can sip on a drink and enjoy a nice dinner. You are welcome to use the gym complete with views out over the rooftops. Complimentary WiFi in the whole hotel. We are centrally located with stores and restaurants within walking distance. Conference facilities with capacity for up to 550 people. Staying with us you will be welcomed with personal care, comfortable beds, delicious breakfast and stylish design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Birger Jarl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birger Jarl Hotel
Birger Jarl Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing