We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Modern, Perfect Location”
Review of Hotel Birger Jarl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Birger Jarl
Ranked #50 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 12 July 2009

I thought Hotel Birger Jarl was fantastic. The room was modern, clean, comfortable and quiet. Well, the doors are heavy and do tend to slam, but otherwise, it was quiet.

Location preference is different for everyone, but personally, I thought the location was ideal. It is 3 blocks away from a subway stop (only 1 stop from Hötorget, which is a main area of the city), and about a 15 or 20 minute walk to the center of town (Sergels Torg area). Stockholm is a very walkable city, and I like the idea of staying just slightly outside of the madness. The hotel also puts you relatively close to Vasaparken, which I thought was a really beautiful area, and with lots of good restaurants over there. But probably not a spot you'd wander to if staying further south in the city.

When I go back to Stockholm I will definitely stay at Birger Jarl again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randomr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

668 - 674 of 1,580 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2009

Totally recommend this hotel! The breakfast is awsome, the staff friendly, the cocktails in the bar are fab... don't bother looking anywhere else. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngieandDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Hotel was very clean, reception staff somewhat unhelpful & the room was so, so small. I had to put some of the furniture out in the hall to unpack my bags.

I would never stay there again & woud discourage any friends from doing so also.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triple77treat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

We visit Stockholm several times each year. Hotel Birger Jarl is our home away from home. We are treated like old friends and feel the same about the staff. The breakfast is wonderful. We wouldn't stay anywhere else. The Christmas tree display is great fun. Don't hesitate to stay at the Hotel Birger Jarl.

Girls from Grantsburg!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ampie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

Seven of us stayed here for a weekend in Nov 08. The hotel is fairly easy to locate although it is about 15 mins walk from the city centre. Reception staff were friendly and the hotel was quite pleasant. The rooms were rather small, but clean. I had a rather odd lamp on the wall which was powered by a trailing, diagonal cable leading to a power socket (see picture). The bathroom was clean, though it had the most unusual plumbing I've ever seen on a bath (see picture). Breakfast was fine. The bar prices were pretty high and seemed even more expensive than Stockholm prices generally. For example, a bottle of wine at the bar was about £25 ($41 USD) and a beer was about £5 ($8 USD). But, overall the hotel was pleasant and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

Great service, very pleasant people, delicious breakfast, the only complaint being the size of the room and bathroom.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rudica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Fantastic experience in a just-out-from center hotel. This is a typical scandinavian hotel in layout and design, but they've done a nice job personalizing it and making things high quality and the experience pleasant, starting with water jugs out in the lobby as you walk in, very nice on a summer day.

The room was good sized, very clean and had a new TV and great shower. Beds were comfortable and warm. Service was prompt and very professional. The business center is a small room with 2 computers but there wasn't an issue getting time, and printing is free and easy.

Food was good, breakfast at any rate, and drinks typically pricey, but that's par for the course in Sweden.

The hotel is about 5-10 mins walk from the main parts of town, but gives you quick access (3-5 mins) to the metro, and quick walk to other interesting areas. No complaints!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phalangid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Vasastan
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
#42 of 154 in Stockholm
842 reviews
Vasastan
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
#32 of 154 in Stockholm
635 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#18 of 154 in Stockholm
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasastan
Hotel Tegnerlunden
Hotel Tegnerlunden
#40 of 154 in Stockholm
876 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#44 of 154 in Stockholm
1,569 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Birger Jarl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Birger Jarl

Address: Tulegatan 8 | Box 19016, Stockholm 113 53, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#25 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#30 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#35 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £88 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Birger Jarl 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Birger Jarl offers a wide range of rooms and suites all decorated in modern design. In the welcoming lobby you will find the restaurant and lobby bar where you can sip on a drink and enjoy a nice dinner. You are welcome to use the gym complete with views out over the rooftops. Complimentary WiFi in the whole hotel. We are centrally located with stores and restaurants within walking distance. Conference facilities with capacity for up to 550 people. Staying with us you will be welcomed with personal care, comfortable beds, delicious breakfast and stylish design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Birger Jarl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birger Jarl Hotel
Birger Jarl Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing