We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, rooms, service, breakfast - excellent value for money.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Birger Jarl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Birger Jarl
Ranked #54 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Turku
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location, rooms, service, breakfast - excellent value for money.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

The Birger Jarl locates within a short walk from Rådmansgatan metro station so the location is fairly good. We got a room from the top floor so the street noises didn't bother at all - if there even was any. The rooms were really cosy and clean and the interior was pleasant. The only negative thing was that the room was apparently uniquely designed and the wallpapers reminded me of a child's room. The breakfast surpassed our expectations since it was really rich. Birger Jarl is really an excellent hotel for couples because our double bed was really comfortable. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alehti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    744
    281
    42
    17
See reviews for
172
553
110
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

Quiet location slightly north of the city centre, handy for local underground.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank Dubwath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

Nice place. Easy to book. Easy to add on an extra bed. Working wifi (free). Good breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterErik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

Very friendly and helpful staff, nice rooms and low key design; good location because most places worth seeing can be reached on foot, but the subway station is also close to the hotel (3 minutes walk max.) The only thing I really did not like was the low temperature in the lobby and bar/restaurant area as well as in our room. Outside it was minus 14 degrees centigrade and inside it was not really warm and cosy, but rather cold and uncomfortable.
Breakfast is very good, big selection of food. Restaurant is also very nice and tasty.
Free internet access!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eireann_alhambra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

A good place to stay in Stockholm. We loved the hotel - but as we needed an inter-connecting room ( we have 3 children ) we were limited to the type of room we could get . So the ones we had were very small - located on level 3 of the hotel and a nice street view from the windows, the beds were comfortable , the rooms were clean and typically Swedish in design = they seemed fresh , small bathrooms with the shower over the bath - a large mirror and something my wife loved a bright light bathroom with a large well lit mirror. Breakfast was nice and very Swedish . The staff were very friendly , happy and helpful. The hotel is in a good location and in a more residential area with the University next door- so no noise at night .
Would have no hesitation in returning to the Birger Jarl Hotel

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank currieinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelleftea, Sweden
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

Nice and comfortable room. Good free internet connection. Medium selection on the breakfast brunch. If you come "late" 9.45 you get stressed because they will be cleaning tables around you and want you to leave as soon as possible. The gym is ok. Normal standard. The area is nice and quite. Not far away to the subway.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabby2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

We arrived on the evening of 18th January. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our reservations were quickly found and we all received complimentary upgrades.

The rooms were relatively spacious with separate desk area. The room also came with a large flat screen TV with a selection of international channels; there was also a very nice B&O CD/radio.

Breakfast was included in the 1090 SKK rate that I got through booking.com. A colleague got a slightly cheaper rate through Expedia.

The day of checkout I was able to print my boarding passes in the hotel business lounge.

Overall, very good value, great service in a relatively central location.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonahAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Vasastan
Hotel Tegnerlunden
Hotel Tegnerlunden
#45 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Vasastan
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
#34 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Hellsten
Hotel Hellsten
#40 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#24 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#38 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Birger Jarl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Birger Jarl

Property: Hotel Birger Jarl
Address: Tulegatan 8 | Box 19016, Stockholm 113 53, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#25 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#30 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#40 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Birger Jarl 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Birger Jarl offers a wide range of rooms and suites all decorated in modern design. In the welcoming lobby you will find the restaurant and lobby bar where you can sip on a drink and enjoy a nice dinner. You are welcome to use the gym complete with views out over the rooftops. Complimentary WiFi in the whole hotel. We are centrally located with stores and restaurants within walking distance. Conference facilities with capacity for up to 550 people. Staying with us you will be welcomed with personal care, comfortable beds, delicious breakfast and stylish design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Birger Jarl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birger Jarl Hotel
Birger Jarl Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing