We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swedish, but not like Ikea”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Freys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Freys Hotel
Ranked #20 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Swedish, but not like Ikea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

We went to Stockholm for a side trip for our European Holiday.
Travelling as a family of 5 we needed 2 rooms, the rooms were a little small compared to Australian standards, but were fine.
Service was excellent and friendly.
Rooms were clean and functional and had all the amenities needed, this hotel is worth its 4 stars.
Breakfast was included in the rate and there were no complaints, even from my fussy 8 and one of the 14 year old twins.
Location is a plus, it is a 5 min walk from the super efficient Arlanda Express to and from the airport.
This is a hidden gem in Stockholm.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetVortex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    497
    170
    41
    11
See reviews for
230
386
90
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

My wife Rose and I thoroughly enjoyed the stay at your hotel, the staff aws extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASLOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moneta, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

The Freys Hotel was chosen for this trip because of the proximity to the train station. We were a group of three women travelling, and did not want to carry around our luggage, or have to pay the expense of cabs. It is a close two block walk to the station. The room at Freys was very nice, and set up for the three of us when we arrived. It was clean and pleasant. The staff was extremely helpful, and the breakfast was excellent. Because we were leaving on a very early train, before the breakfast buffet opened, they arranged for us to have breakfast early and had it waiting for us. It was also nice that the breakfast area turned into a restaurant and bar for the evening. A very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Book online early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan36384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

Hotel is centrally located very close to train station and main shopping area. Also within walking distance of Gamla Stan and other sites. Rooms have been recently remodeled and are in nice condition. Room size is small and tight for 2 adults and adult child but that is fairly common in Stockholm. Breakfast buffet has a great selection and hotel restaurant provides an excellent dinner selection although somewhat expensive. Hotel staff were very friendly and helped us during our stay. I would deifnitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Stockholm.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duckhunter1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

Everything was just great. I stayed the second time in this hotel and would come back for sure if I travel to Stockholm again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShoppingGirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamberg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

I've stayed here several times as it is so convenient and the beds are so comfortable (very much a plus point for me). The only negative point is that there is no kettle in the room for making hot drinks . I wouldn't really recommend the restaurant - I find the cook rather overdoes the fat, e.g. there was much too much meat in the Caesar salad and very little actual salad. But I'm sure this is a matter of taste. Also, the restaurant is shut on a Sunday. However, there are lots of other restaurants in the area so don't let that worry you.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reluctantflyer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

The location on this hotel is very good when it comes to distance. Close to everything in downtown Stockholm, like central station, shopping and restaurants.

I have only good experience with the service here. I forgot something in my room when I checked out, and after 2 phonecalls they had mailed it to me.

The breakfast is ok, the room was clean and for the price I paid, I have nothing to complain about.

This area of Stockholm is not cosy like Södermalm or the Old Town, but it is quite close to both, so if price and location matters I will recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sivling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
#16 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#35 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#52 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Norrmalm
Nordic Light Hotel
Nordic Light Hotel
#29 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#30 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freys Hotel

Property: Freys Hotel
Address: Bryggargatan 12, Stockholm 111 21, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Freys Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel offering warm hospitality, restaurant and bar; located in city center near shopping and major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotelopia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Freys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing