We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite hotel in Stockholm”
Review of Freys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Freys Hotel
Ranked #19 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“My favourite hotel in Stockholm”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This hotel has a very good location, close to the main shopping streets like Drottninggatan and to Stockholms central train station. I had a very nice room, furnished with lots of warm colours which helped me feel at home. The room was quiet and the bed excellent. Everything was very clean. As this was a single room it was quite small, but adequate for my needs. I liked the breakfast very much, especially the abundance of swedish newspapers to borrow (no waiting in line here!) and the possibilty to make your own waffle. I also like the fact that there are umbrellas in the lobby to use in case of unclement weather.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CissiSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    550
    181
    44
    12
See reviews for
265
446
94
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Things I liked:
1) Freys hotel has an excellent location close to public transport, several nice restaurants (including il forno con tapas) as well as coffee houses and take-away food outlets.
2) Complimentary umbrellas were provided for guests to use when it was raining.
3) The tea and coffee facilities in the superior double room were of a good standard.
4) Bathrobes, slippers and eye masks were a nice touch (although the robes were a little stiff)
5) The room was nicely furnished and comfortable, despite being quite small.
6) The breakfast was reasonable with a wide variety of foods to choose from.

Things I disliked:
1) Freys is a small, busy hotel - the reception area is small, the elevators are small, the hallways are small, the superior double room my husband and I stayed in was small. The restaurant/breakfast area was a reasonable size, but it was very busy at breakfast time with very few places to sit and eat. We did try to eat dinner there one night but it was booked out and people who had already made reservations told us they had been waiting for over 30 mins and had still not been seated at a table.
2) The staff were neutral - none of the staff were particularly friendly or unfriendly, and none of them were especially helpful or unhelpful. I do understand that the hotel is busy, but it would have been nice to be greeted with a smile or be asked how our stay had been.
3) We never got the in-room breakfast we ordered despite filling out the card and hanging it on the door (albeit behind the 'please make up our room' sign). When we returned from a day of sight-seeing, our breakfast order card had been returned to our room by the cleaner and it was too late to order an in-room breakfast for the next day - very disapointing).
4) Our 'double' bed was two separate single beds with single matresses and separate single sheets pushed together. We knew that this is common in Sweden, but it was too late to ask if we could get an actual double bed by the time we realised (when we had first inspected the room, we thought it was a genuine double bed due to the double bed-head and the double doona cover over both beds making it look like a double bed).

Overall:
1) Would I stay here again? Probably, but not before trying other hotels.
2) Would I recommend this hotel to others? Yes, if nothing else than for the excellent location, but I'd warn them about the separate beds, small room sizes and busy nature of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a proper, joined double bed if you actually want to sleep in the same bed with your partner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MetalHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We had a wonderful time there. The location was great--close to the train station, easy walking distance to shops, restaurants, you name it. The front desk staff seemed to know everything about Stockholm and was always willing to help "dumb tourists". The restaurant had wonderful food (and their staff was also incredibly helpful about menu options.) And, they have a ton of Belgian beers. The only negative is that they were out of Brugge Tripple the two nights we dined/drank there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Classy small hotel in central Stockholm. Steo out from T-Centralen Railway station and 200 metres awy is the Freys Hotel. On the ground level is a BelgianBeer Garden Restaurant which was always buzzing. The staff on front office of hotel were very friendly. We had a room on the top floor (7 floors only) with a balcony.

Room Tip: Our balcony room was on the top floor(level 7) but was first in from the firedoor, room 708.. This d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PKC54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The location is superb - right next to the Arlanda express train. Couldn't be more convenient if you're coming/going from/to the airport. It's also close to the old town and you can get pretty much anywhere you'd want to get to by walking.

The hotel is cute - very well decorated, great atmosphere. Our room was small but slightly bigger than we expected for Europe. Everything was very clean and well taken care of.

The breakfast was good. Service was good as well.

We were thoroughly pleased with our experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Simply, I did not want to leave it. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Loaction is very convenient. Even shower gel smells amazing)))

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed at Freys for three nights in April 2012. Only 20 minutes from Arlanda Airport on the Arlanda Express to Central station. It's cheaper to purchase a ticket for the Arlanda Express online, before you travel, as opposed to buying a ticket at the station or on the train itself. You just need to take the credit card you used to book the tickets with you. The ticket inspector on the train will simply swipe it.

The hotel is only a five minute walk from Central station (take the left exit half as you get off the Arlanda express, rather than go into the main station and you will see the hotel sign in front of you). The hotel is within easy walking distance to the shops, restaurants and attractions. Our room was very small and dark which was made worse by the fact that it rained throughout our stay. However the room itself was clean. The breakfast selection wasn't huge but the food was very good quality. Another plus point is that the hotel offers free wifi. All in all, the hotel was in a perfect location for a short visit.

On our first day, we did the free Stockholm walking tour. Meet around 10am at Sergels Torg at Central Station at the top of the staircase. It's not absolutely free, as it operates on a tips basis. However, it was well worth it as the guide, Kevin, was very knowledgeable and entertaining too. The tour covered a wide range of information including the origins of Stockholm, the Swedish royal family, the assassination of the prime minster in 1986 and the story behind “Stockholm Syndrome”.
The tour lasted almost 2 hours so ensure you wear comfortable walking shoes.

Vasa museum is definitely worth a visit. It's built around a ship which sunk on its maiden voyage in 1628 but salvaged and restored in the 1960s.

The Medieval Museum is also worth a visit (located under the bridge with the palace on Gamla Stan directly in front of you). Your ticket also entitles you to to free admission to the Stockholm City Museum, although we did not find that one particularly interesting.

Go to the Katarina viewing platform for views over the city. The elevator was closed for maintenance but you can take the stairs around the back of the elevator if you're feeling energetic.

Overall an enjoyable city break.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ISG20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#33 of 154 in Stockholm
2,525 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#24 of 154 in Stockholm
3,545 reviews
Norrmalm
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
#17 of 154 in Stockholm
769 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#46 of 154 in Stockholm
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freys Hotel

Property: Freys Hotel
Address: 12 Bryggargatan, Stockholm 111 21, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Freys Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel offering warm hospitality, restaurant and bar; located in city center near shopping and major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Freys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing