We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy little hotel in a great area”
Review of Freys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Freys Hotel
Ranked #17 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2012

This stylish boutique hotel is in a great area of downtown, very close to the central station.  From what I could tell, this hotel was a great deal at $150can a night: hotels in Stockholm are not cheap.  The room I stayed in was small (not big enough for two although it had a sofa which qualified as  an extra bed) but it was a lot nicer that the hotel picture depicted. Since my room was looking at an inside garden/terrace, I could hear no traffic noise. The bed and bedding was surprisingly comfortable. The staff were very helpful. I would definitely come back.  

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Healthresearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

668 - 674 of 1,366 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

Great central location close to shops, restaurants, tourist attractions & very close to Arlanda express terminal. Hotel provides umbrellas (useful in Stockholm) in your room and at reception. Standard (single) room was small but clean & stylish, shower room was small but practical. Staff friendly & helpful and the breakfast was excellent. Hotel bar/restaurant specialises in Belgian food & beer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoctorToxic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This hotel has a very good location, close to the main shopping streets like Drottninggatan and to Stockholms central train station. I had a very nice room, furnished with lots of warm colours which helped me feel at home. The room was quiet and the bed excellent. Everything was very clean. As this was a single room it was quite small, but adequate for my needs. I liked the breakfast very much, especially the abundance of swedish newspapers to borrow (no waiting in line here!) and the possibilty to make your own waffle. I also like the fact that there are umbrellas in the lobby to use in case of unclement weather.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CissiSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Things I liked:
1) Freys hotel has an excellent location close to public transport, several nice restaurants (including il forno con tapas) as well as coffee houses and take-away food outlets.
2) Complimentary umbrellas were provided for guests to use when it was raining.
3) The tea and coffee facilities in the superior double room were of a good standard.
4) Bathrobes, slippers and eye masks were a nice touch (although the robes were a little stiff)
5) The room was nicely furnished and comfortable, despite being quite small.
6) The breakfast was reasonable with a wide variety of foods to choose from.

Things I disliked:
1) Freys is a small, busy hotel - the reception area is small, the elevators are small, the hallways are small, the superior double room my husband and I stayed in was small. The restaurant/breakfast area was a reasonable size, but it was very busy at breakfast time with very few places to sit and eat. We did try to eat dinner there one night but it was booked out and people who had already made reservations told us they had been waiting for over 30 mins and had still not been seated at a table.
2) The staff were neutral - none of the staff were particularly friendly or unfriendly, and none of them were especially helpful or unhelpful. I do understand that the hotel is busy, but it would have been nice to be greeted with a smile or be asked how our stay had been.
3) We never got the in-room breakfast we ordered despite filling out the card and hanging it on the door (albeit behind the 'please make up our room' sign). When we returned from a day of sight-seeing, our breakfast order card had been returned to our room by the cleaner and it was too late to order an in-room breakfast for the next day - very disapointing).
4) Our 'double' bed was two separate single beds with single matresses and separate single sheets pushed together. We knew that this is common in Sweden, but it was too late to ask if we could get an actual double bed by the time we realised (when we had first inspected the room, we thought it was a genuine double bed due to the double bed-head and the double doona cover over both beds making it look like a double bed).

Overall:
1) Would I stay here again? Probably, but not before trying other hotels.
2) Would I recommend this hotel to others? Yes, if nothing else than for the excellent location, but I'd warn them about the separate beds, small room sizes and busy nature of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a proper, joined double bed if you actually want to sleep in the same bed with your partner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MetalHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We had a wonderful time there. The location was great--close to the train station, easy walking distance to shops, restaurants, you name it. The front desk staff seemed to know everything about Stockholm and was always willing to help "dumb tourists". The restaurant had wonderful food (and their staff was also incredibly helpful about menu options.) And, they have a ton of Belgian beers. The only negative is that they were out of Brugge Tripple the two nights we dined/drank there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dick137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Classy small hotel in central Stockholm. Steo out from T-Centralen Railway station and 200 metres awy is the Freys Hotel. On the ground level is a BelgianBeer Garden Restaurant which was always buzzing. The staff on front office of hotel were very friendly. We had a room on the top floor (7 floors only) with a balcony.

Room Tip: Our balcony room was on the top floor(level 7) but was first in from the firedoor, room 708.. This d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PKC54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The location is superb - right next to the Arlanda express train. Couldn't be more convenient if you're coming/going from/to the airport. It's also close to the old town and you can get pretty much anywhere you'd want to get to by walking.

The hotel is cute - very well decorated, great atmosphere. Our room was small but slightly bigger than we expected for Europe. Everything was very clean and well taken care of.

The breakfast was good. Service was good as well.

We were thoroughly pleased with our experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#36 of 154 in Stockholm
2,697 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasastan
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
#28 of 154 in Stockholm
654 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#46 of 154 in Stockholm
1,591 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freys Hotel

Address: Bryggargatan 12, Stockholm 111 21, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: £95 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Freys Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel offering warm hospitality, restaurant and bar; located in city center near shopping and major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Freys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing