We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Centrally located and small rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Freys Hotel
Ranked #21 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Sverige
Level Contributor
343 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Centrally located and small rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

When arriving there was a bad smell at the entrence, probably from the carpet. Check-in was quick but we received a large, heavy key and only one key. Room on third floor, no wiev. Room and bathroom was very small, two bags occupied most of the free area. It felt fairly clean. Very good clean beds. Breakfast at the hotel Belgian restaurant has all you can expect at a Scandinavian hotel. Location very central and close to everything.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ResenarSverige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    478
    169
    39
    11
See reviews for
218
372
87
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

I choosed this hotel because of the location, I arrived to Stockholm by train and it is easy to find and a very short walk from the station. It is close to shopping areas. And the Royal Palace and the old town are also within walking distance. I stayed for two nights in a singleroom. I think it is enough space for one person both in room and in bathroom and the most important thing - it is clean! I had a bad view from my window - a space of garbages. The staff are very helpful most of the time, but the girl who worked upon my arrival maybe could have been more welcoming and cheerful. On the weekend it was quiet but on Monday were the noice from trucks very disturbing at 6.30am. The breakfast is good, a lot to choose from and the fresh waffles, jam and cream are very good! I think I will return to Freys hotel in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camillann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel is very close to the train station and easy walking distance from most of the main attractions. We thought the breakfast was adequate, but not great. Our room was small and cramped and they put us in the front of the hotel where there was a great deal of traffic noise. It was hot in our room, but if we opened the windows, we couldn't sleep for the noise. Very unpleasant. When we had trouble with our internet we called the front desk and they told us to bring our devices down to the front desk and they would see what was wrong - seemed strange that someone wouldn't come up to the room and they never figured out what the problem was after two trips to the front desk. The hotel was fine, but I felt it was way overpriced for the room and service we got.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cls738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Frey's hotel offers a great location for anyone staying in Stockholm and is only a 2 minute walk from the Arlanda Express stop and 5 minute walk from the Central Train station.
The front-end personnel are extremely helpful and friendly and made my stay easy and pleasant. I stayed in a typical single room and yes, the rooms are smaller than US rooms, but so are ALL hotel rooms in Europe. My room was enough for me and the bathroom was also functional. Prior reviews mentioned water getting on the floor during showering but I did not have that happen to me. The shower door seals properly.
The breakfast in the morning offered a big variety for whatever taste.
I love statying here and would definitely return

Room Tip: My room was #210. I only had a view of the inner courtyard but it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaxfan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Have stayed with them many times, nice and quiet. Located very near Centralstation and Arland Express. Rooms not that big, but clean , good beds. Breakfast buffet is quite standard, but generally lacks helathy alternatives. Think its getting pricy now.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillestrom, Norway
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Poor service & arrogant management.
Small bathrooms, poor ventilations, no view, average breakfast. There is plenty of other good hotels close by (Nordic Light hotel, Clarion hotel Sign, Radisson, Scandic, etc). I will never stay at Freys again!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NinniBLO, Guest Relations Manager at Freys Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear,

We found it very sad to hear your visit with us was everything but good. This is really really sad and we want to get in contact with you to hear what happend during your stay.
Our General Manager Annika Tell are very intressted to get in Contact with you, give us a call on +46 8 506 213 00.

Warm regards,

Ninni Blomberg
Guest relations

Freys Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Family owned hotel close to all that is worthwhile visiting in Stockholm. Efficiënt and helpful reception and friendly staff. Though we never had diner there the restaurant must be good, taking into account it was full all evening. Good and elaborate breakfast lacking a bit in variation.
To our surprise the bar of the hotel had specialized in (250+) Belgian beers which was a great way to feel home... till the bill comes. But hey, the bill is high for all alcoholic beverages in Sweden. I did manage to get one of my favourite beers (St Idesbald) which I hadn't drunk in several years because very hard to find here (and it is brewed only 25 km away from where I live!). To be recommended? For sure for a short break in Stockholm or on business trip it is highly recommended. When staying longer the rooms might be a bit small in the end.

Room Tip: Rooms in front of the hotel might be noisy in the morning Our room was equipped with water cooker a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wgoddaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NinniBLO, Guest Relations Manager at Freys Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear,

Thank you for taking the time to write a few sentences to us!

We are very glad to hear you had a great time in Stockholm and at Freys Hotel.

Hope you visit us soon again!

Warm Regards,

Ninni Blomberg

Guest Relations
Freys Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
#15 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#34 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#50 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Norrmalm
Nordic Light Hotel
Nordic Light Hotel
#27 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#30 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freys Hotel

Property: Freys Hotel
Address: Bryggargatan 12, Stockholm 111 21, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Freys Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel offering warm hospitality, restaurant and bar; located in city center near shopping and major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotelopia so you can book your Freys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing