We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, nice rooms, friendly staff”
Review of Freys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Freys Hotel
Ranked #17 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2009

The hotel staff is really helpful, the rooms are small but comfortable. Location is excellent - downtown Stockholm. Breakfast is okay. The bar/restaurant is a Belgian beer specialist - it is absolutely worth a try (food is also good). Excellent hotel for business trips or weekend with friends.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
Thank db05292014i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

803 - 809 of 1,395 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2009

We booked using booking.com - the hotel website didn't have any availability and it was difficulty coaxing it out of Swedish.
I was in a single room - as others have pointed out, the single rooms are just that, not doubles with single occupancy. The rooms are not huge and you really don't want to spend more time in them than necessary. However, they were clean.
Bathrooms are typically scandinavian, with just a drain in the floor to collect the shower water. It means the bathroom tends to be flooded, after showers, so beware. Seems to be a typical scandinavian thing.
Location is ideal, 2 minutes away from Arlanda Express and 10 minutes walk to the old town. The bar/restaurant is a Belgian beer place. We ate there once, recommended to us by local Swedes.
Breakfast was excellent, particularly the good choice of Scandinavian breads.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank catmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2009

Booked two nights for our honeymoon and on arrival received an upgrade to top floor suite, very roomy, clean and comfortable. Friendly staff and complete breakfast. Overall very impressed as Freys is a great location - 2mins from Arlanda Express and has some great web pricing. I'd stay again.

NB, Australia

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bruceoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2008

Freys is located in the very center of Stockholm, just a few steps away from the central railway station - thanks to ultra-fast Arlanda Express I was in my room within 40 minutes of arriving at the airport. I was also able to get to the conference center where my event was with a 5 minute walk, the main shopping street also leading to the old town was just around the corner so the location of Freys is perfect.

I stayed in a single room on the second floor. Room was nicely decorated, though some elements seemed dated (for example CRT TV with just one English channel - the BBC). It was also very quiet. There was no aircon, I think with long and harsh winters everyone cares much more about warmth than elsewhere. In fact the room was very warm, so it was nice that the windows did open and I could get some fresh air.

Room I stayed in was very small, the bed I can only describe as tiny - anyone over 6' / 185 cm will have to bend his legs to fit comfortably, also the width was not adequate. Room was clean and cleaned every day. Bathroom, also tiny and with an interesting concept for the shower (part of the floor was the shower basin) was also very clean and cleaned every day. Wireless and wired internet was available in the room for an additional charge and worked very well.

Now, what was positively annoying was the fact that having arrived in the evening on Sunday I could not get anything hot to my room. Room service doesn't work at all on Sundays, and the restaurant closes at 9:30 pm. If you arrive on a Sunday after 9:30 then you have no chance to get even a cup of hot tea - no kettle in the room, no room service, nothing.

During the week the room service works only until 10pm. When it works the meals it delivers are very good - I had a club sandwich and a pot of tea, no problems here. So, if only they realized people do travel in the evenings too things would be perfect.

Speaking of food - breakfasts were not worth the time. Poor drip coffee, limited selection, positively horrible scrambled eggs. I went only once for the hotel breakfast and later opted for the pastries served at the conference I arrived for.

I know this review sounds negative, but overall I don't regret choosing Freys. It was more than adequate for the purpose and should I go to Stockholm on business I'd choose it again. If I'd ever go there for pleasure I think I'd look for a place with bigger beds.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Emin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2008

We stayed here for our first trip to Sweden and loved it! The hotel is in a great location, very central to alot of shopping, attractions, museums and the train station. The staff is always friendly and very helpful. The room was a little small but it was very comfortable, clean and has everything you need! We had dinner at the restaurant the first night, very good food and they sure give you alot. If you do drink, the beers are very good as well, they make their own Belgium Ales.

One of our favorite things was the true smorgesborg breakfast. Food for everyone and lots of it, and very good as well!

I would highly recommend this hotel and will stay here the next time we're in Stockholm!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bostonchamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

Freys is very nice and cozy hotel located in Norrmalm within the short walking distance from Drottninggatan (the main shopping and tourist street), railway station, King's palace and Gamla Stan.

The rooms are really small, but if you are not going to stay in the room for the whole day long, it will be ok. The rooms are very well furnished (the only wish is a small plasma TV screen). Everything was allright with the view from room's window. It was not amazing (no sea, mountains, forest and / or King's palace:) ), but I have no complaints at all.

As for the breakfasts... Well, I was not excited about them as well as I was not excited with Belgo Bar itself. However breakfasts in Freys do not differ from those served in other hotels.

The staff is very friendly.

Taking into consideration the rates which are not very high Freys is one of the best hotels in Stockholm to stay in!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank from_moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2008

Stayed at Freys for one night, could have stayed longer because it was just great. The room was small but cozy, the staff was helpful and friendly, everything was clean and the location couldn't be better, if you want to be in the center of things! Breakfast is included and it was lovely. We'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSLAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Vasastan
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
#32 of 155 in Stockholm
666 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#36 of 155 in Stockholm
2,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 155 in Stockholm
1,722 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
#9 of 155 in Stockholm
2,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freys Hotel

Address: Bryggargatan 12, Stockholm 111 21, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: £78 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Freys Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel offering warm hospitality, restaurant and bar; located in city center near shopping and major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Freys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing