We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying with a good friend”
Review of Freys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Freys Hotel
Ranked #17 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2011

I can't say enough good things about this place-
First off, it is a 5 minute walk from the Arlanda Express Train station in the heart of Downtown. The staff could not have been nicer or more knowledgable. My room ( I reserved the Economy) was beyond what I expected. Sure , they are older , but well layed out, quiet and clean. Free internet. Breakfast was terrific; Waffles, egss, cereals , you name it.
They even have an adjoining Belguim Resturant which served really good selections ( and great Hoegarten beer). I would be hard pressed to find something I didn't like here and I am a global business traveler.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aviationguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,300)
There are newer reviews for Freys Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

702 - 708 of 1,300 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. We only expected a bit more variety at the breakfast.
The reason for "average" at the point sleep quality is that my wife did not sleep well. I myself slept like a log :-)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zed1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

the hotels site is great, near the old town in the center of the city and next to the central station and central busstop.
breakfast was good, room was acceptable, the ilumination in the morning was not.
the rooms are much too small specially for this hotelcategory!
the hotels outfit is worse, except you like teddys and bad cat-paintings everywhere.
no lobby.
the matrasses are much too soft which leads to non-recreative sleep!
the hotel is very quiet!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muelli91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Freys Hotel is perfectly located between close to Stockholm S (50m) and a nice stroll into the charming part of downtown Stockhoilm.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alflande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Stayed at Freys for a night on our way back from Are to St. Pete, having chosen it primarily by its proximity to the Central Station. Which it was indeed - took us not more than 5 min to get there from the train. Later after a short walk around revealed that in addition it was also conveniently located to the Old Town and the shopping areas. Room was small but nice and clean, with free still water (but not other beverages though) and wifi. There is a Belgian restaurant next door, with a good range of Belgian beers offered. What was not that great is breakfast - we left early in the morning before the restaurant's opening, and the sandwiches provided as a pack were not fresh. However overall we were satisfied and considering the location we would probably stay there next time we are in Stockholm

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SergeyKrylov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Rooms are typical for a hotel if this type. If you want a "big box" experience, this isn't it. If you want an intimate hotel with a warm and considerate staff, this is it. The restaurant in the hotel is of excellent quality as demonstrated by the locals and travelers from other hotels we saw when the business travelers were no where to be seen (Friday and Saturday nights). I'm a frequent traveler with Marriott, Hilton,etc. and appreciate the gynormus room sizes. I'm also a sailor so the bathroom was huge by yachting standards. Many Americans (USA) may find the one at a time walk-around-the-bed a bit tight. I lived out of a small hanging area and my suitcase on a stand. My wife used the double room couch. It was cool. Great beds.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDJJLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We booked a double room and got a place that was so small there was no room to either unpack the suitcases or live out of them. You can literally sit on the toilet and take your shower at the same time. We transferred to a larger room and it was lovely. Beware of the 'double room'!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsCToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#37 of 154 in Stockholm
2,591 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
At Six
At Six
#7 of 154 in Stockholm
342 reviews
Norrmalm
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
#18 of 154 in Stockholm
785 reviews
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#25 of 154 in Stockholm
3,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freys Hotel

Address: 12 Bryggargatan, Stockholm 111 21, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: £102 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Freys Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel offering warm hospitality, restaurant and bar; located in city center near shopping and major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Freys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing