We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally positioned for the city of Stockholm .”
Review of First Hotel Reisen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
First Hotel Reisen
Ranked #58 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
W. Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideally positioned for the city of Stockholm .”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The friendly atmosphere was felt with all at First Reisin Easy free internet access a bonus . Excellent breakfasts and reception was excellent in assisting our needs and directions . Rooms are very small and upgrades to a seaview room improved the view but not the size. We would certainly stay againat this ideally placed and comfortable hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    546
    244
    64
    33
See reviews for
179
646
54
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham,AL
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We traveled to Amsterdam, Oslo, Stockholm, Tallin, Helsinki and Copenhagen for our vacation this year and even thou each place has its own charm, if we had to choose one as our favorite it has to be Stockholm. The hotel we stayed in, First Hotel Reisen, has a perfect location in Gamla Stan by the Royal Palace. The room was small but average by european standards, very clean, the breakfast buffet very good, the staff helpful and nice. I had researched other hotels and since this was my first time in Stockholm wanted to stay very near the center which this proved to be very good. Stockholm is a beautiful city, so much to see and do, it is quite expensive, but the same is true of all the other cities we visited. The weather was very nice, it rained sometimes, but being a coastal city the shower would end and the sun would come out. It could get a little chilly when you got a breeze and were in the shade, but otherwise very comfortable.

Room Tip: Our room faced a side alley with no view, it was noisy since they had garbage collection early in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sw dc
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

on the waterfront . nearby restuarnts are expensive but the location is walkable to the hop-on hop-off bus
pre-cruise stay

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rennaissance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, VA USA
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed in for five nights in a standard double, which was small but well appointed. Hotel Reisen is on the waterfront in Gamla Stan, the old town. The location is perfect for visitors who want to walk to the main sights and go on the ferries or canal boat rides. The breakfast that was included in our room rate was outstanding. Additionally, the hotel restaurant has a first-class chef who turns out excellent lunches and dinners. The front-desk staff were friendly and helpful, giving us restaurant advice, touring information and maps.

Unfortunately we stayed during a heat wave in Stockholm; the hotel provides electric fans but if you have to open the windows it can be quite noisy.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnzie513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed two nights in Stockholm at this hotel. The location is near the harbor and convenient. We were walking distance to the castle and the tour bus (hop on/hop off).

The staff was very friendly and helpful. But the room was just average (see photo). There was a slight odor in the hotel which I could not identify. The weather was warm and the room got very hot. We tried opening the window to cool it down, but the noise outside was loud and bothersome. Not the best night's sleep. They really could have used a ceiling fan. The buffet breakfast was just average and filled us up but nothing to write home about.

The parking is offsite and was expensive. We had to give an hour notice when we wanted the car back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cincinnati_M0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Over the course of 10 days, we stayed in Stockholm and went to other parts of Sweden 3 times. Each time we came back to First Hotel Reisen and were thoroughly pleased. On the pro side: fabulous location, good sized room (we did upgrade), nice amenities, nice breakfast, clean rooms, and helpful front desk staff. There were some of the staff who remembered where we had been each time we returned. I had the misfortune of fracturing my foot while in Stockholm, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. (I donated my crutches to the hotel in the event someone else should stumble on the cobblestones.) The cons: The rooms could use repainting and since there's no AC, on warm nights the street noise woke us. We'll be back in Stockholm in August for business and intend to stay here again.

Room Tip: upgrade -- it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TooterBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my partner in June and has probably one of the worst experiences ever. We were put in room 114 which was above the bar and restaurant. We arrived back at the room at 11.30pm and it was quite loud below us. We thought the music would stop but it didn't shut off until 3AM. I called reception to complain and ask that the music be turned down. They said they would but didnt and as a result our next day in Stockholm was essentially ruined as we were so exhausted. I emailed the hotel to complain after I had left and never even received a reply. At £200 a night, I expected a lot better.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank karnilsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
First_Hotel_Reisen, General Manager at First Hotel Reisen, responded to this review, 3 July 2011
Dear guest,

First of all I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused with the music in the bar which disturbed your sleep and stay. It should of course have been lowered and for this we are all very sorry.

I received your e-mail last week and replied to your hotmail address on 28th June with a compensation offer. Unfortunately I have not heard from you since. We would need your credit card number in order to process the compensation.

Again, I am truly sorry for this and please do get in touch with me so I can personally handle this.

Best regards

Cem Gürler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#44 of 154 in Stockholm
668 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#10 of 154 in Stockholm
593 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#34 of 154 in Stockholm
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
318 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#74 of 154 in Stockholm
257 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Reisen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Reisen

Property: First Hotel Reisen
Address: Skeppsbron 12, Stockholm 111 30, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#16 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#24 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#30 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#43 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Reisen 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate Historic Hotel emcompassing 5 renovated 17th-century houses in Old Town setting, overlooking harbor; near Royal Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel Reisen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing