We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central, super breakfast but old and low quality rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of First Hotel Reisen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
First Hotel Reisen
Ranked #54 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
456 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Central, super breakfast but old and low quality rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night for business. Not happy with the stay, small and old room. Really need renovation. Not sure if they have modern rooms.

On the positive side is location and also a very good breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yef70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    491
    217
    56
    30
See reviews for
152
578
50
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, Kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night. The room was very pleasant and comfortable,although quite small. We had a lovely view across the water. It is very close to the palace, situated in the very attractive old town and in easy walking distance of most of the city attractions.
Breakfast was really fantastic with so much choice I wanted to stay there all day to sample it all! I would definitely stay here again if we came back to Stockholm.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calihat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Just returned from a short break in Stockholm, stayed in the First Hotel Reisen. This is a really nice hotel with loads of charm and character. The rooms are a little small and could do with a little bit of a makeover but they are very clean and well kept. The breakfast is very tasty and plentiful. The bar is very nice and has a good atmosphere and a nice place to relax after a day out shopping or sightseeing. The reception and lobby is very welcoming and the reception staff are very pleasant and helpfull down to organising taxis or booking a table at a restaurant.The location of this hotel is perfect surrounded by narrow streets and old buildings full of character. Stockholm is a beautiful city with so much to see and do. I will deffinately be back and will stay at the First Hotel Reisen again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor and to the front as the views are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciaran m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed here one night when my biggest concern was find a hotel with as central location as possible. Pretty much all hotels that central are the same price but the travel agent who booked the hotel was really excited about how good the hotel was and thus won me over. I'm thinking that maybe he was on a commission now.
The hotel was good and the room comfortable. It is in the old town which is so beautiful. It has many sights within walking distance.
However, my biggest let down was that we had to get up really early and we asked for breakfast earlier than they served it normally. They were really kind and helped us out with some sandwiches. However, mine had ham in it even though I specifically said I was a vegetarian.
Overall though the staff were very helpful and service minded. The standard was good but not as good as the booking agent had led me to believe.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheenarocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed in a room overlooking the water, with the xmas tree all lit up, etc, very nice. Staff all spoke excellent English, breakfast was very good and well presented. The only criticism was that we were unable to control the heating in the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffbell_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Loved this hotel. We had a room facing the water, and it was gorgeous. We loved the location on Gamla Stan. The beds were comfortable, the tv had a variety of channels (in english too!), and it was always cleaned well. We stayed in a standard room. I will say that the walls are thin, and we heard the music from the bar well into the early hours of the morning. We brought earplugs, so it didn't bother us more than when we were falling asleep, but had we not brought them, it could have been a problem.
The breakfast was absolutely amazing. Tons of healthy choices and lots to choose from. The reception staff was very kind and helpful, and great at recommending good restaurants all throughout the city. We would stay here again!

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor so that you do not get the noise from the bar at 2:00am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romancandle07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We hooked up with our Australian friends here in gorgeous Stockholm. Lovely boutique hotel overlooking the river. Reception area small, staff very efficient and all English speaking which is always a help. Bar area adequate. Restaurant menu very limited in food choices, but good value. We stayed in a medium size room, spotlessly clean with coffee making facilities, t.v etc. situated towards the rear of the hotel, very quiet
Stockholm beautiful city but very expensive.

Room Tip: Request your "room type" when booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#51 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#8 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#20 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Sven Vintappare Hotel
Sven Vintappare Hotel
#67 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#71 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Reisen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Reisen

Property: First Hotel Reisen
Address: Skeppsbron 12, Stockholm 111 30, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#16 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#24 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#30 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#40 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Reisen 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate Historic Hotel emcompassing 5 renovated 17th-century houses in Old Town setting, overlooking harbor; near Royal Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your First Hotel Reisen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing