We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location But A Bit Noisy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of First Hotel Reisen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
First Hotel Reisen
Ranked #54 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location But A Bit Noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

In Old Town so easy walking distance to many attractions, restaurants and tourist attractions. The room, like many in Europe, was smallish and there is no AC which 95% of the time is not an issue. We had lovely warm weather and were provided a fan but quite unusual we were told. Because of the heat we had our windows wide open and thus the noise issue. Breakfast was included and very nice including all that you would expect plus bacon and eggs American style. Staff was pleasant and very helpful responding gladly to our questions. We had friends stay in other hotels and we think the value was about right for what we experienced but our location was clearly the preferred.

Room Tip: We had an external room on the side alley and it was noisy in the morning with delivery trucks. Int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taboardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
First Hotel Rei... S, Shift Leader at First Hotel Reisen, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Taboardman,

Thank you for your fantastic review! Yes weather has been tropical, not our typical Swedish summer! Happy you enjoyed our breakfast and that you found our team helpful and glad!

Best regards,
Team Reisen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    490
    217
    55
    30
See reviews for
152
576
50
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel is of a good standard, in a great location for visiting Old Town of Stockholm, Royal Palace and strolling along waterfront and over many bridges. It is also very close to stops for ferries out to other islands.
We had a superior double room (609) which had an amazing view of the waterfront - really stunning. The only drawback to this was that we were facing the morning sun - glorious but hot- and with the windows open you did get some traffic noise. We don't mind city noise (Stockholm is a very quiet city anyway I think in comparisions to many others) so this did not bother us and we enjoyed listening to the ships, but if quietness is important don't choose a front room. On our visit Stockholm was experiencing exceptionally high temperatures- 30'-and so it was necessary to keep windows open. Thankfully the room had an electric fan and this made the room a little more comfortable.
The room was clean and comfortable, as was the bed, with good wardrobe space, but the bathroom was tiny, especially for a superior room. Everything in the bathroom was fine except the size, literally only room for one.This is my only complaint. However my son, who had a standard double on 5th floor seemed to have a bigger bathroom, and he had a lovely little balcony with table and chair, but not much of a view. Something to consider perhaps when you are booking. One of my pet hates in hotels is often the hairdryer, but in this hotel the hairdryer was a very good standard - good power and choice of temperature and speed.
The breakfast was excellent. Fantastic choice of food to suit all tastes, buffet style. The staff in the breakfast room were very friendly and welcoming.
We didn't use the restaurant so cannot make any comments on that.
We walked to the hotel from the Central Station - about 20 minutes at a good pace- or of course it would only be a short taxi journey. As I mentioned the hotel is in a good location for visitors to the city, only a very short walk from the Royal Palace and with all of Gamla Stan and its old narrow cobbled streets surrounding it. There are plenty of bars and restaurants in the area or of course a short stroll along the waterfront offers more choice.
Stockholm is a beautiful city, and the staff and comfort of this hotel made it a good choice.

Room Tip: High front rooms have a very good view. Get the morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

The benefits of this hotel are the great location just outside the old town, a really good breakfast spread and the helpful staff. Slight drawbacks were rooms are a touch small for a couple and air conditioning in rooms could have been better

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Excellent location with shopping and sightseeing just around the corner! Room with lake view was outstanding! The staff in the reception and bar/restaurant are very friendly and serviceminded! Excellent breakfast with a rich choise of food!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Asa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

High expectations met. Great location, view, furnishings. This is a perfect spot if you want to visit a bit of the old Stockholm and feel a part of it. Excellent location on Gamla Stan waterfront, minutes from Royal Palace, etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank SOMA-Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skane County, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Good location, good service and the restaurant was very good. No AC in the room is a problem since the room became like a sauna. Trafic outside is quite heavy and disturbing if you open the windows. However, overall the stay was good and I could recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Olof V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had made our booking many months in advance because of the reviews we read in TripAdvisor. We arrived early, around 0830, after getting off of a cruise and knew our room would not be ready. Lukas at the front desk went out of his way to take care of our luggage and get the room ready as soon as possible. At the same time, he directed us to different services we required at the time and also what we might do to occupy ourselves until then. We had a corner room on the 4th floor overlooking the harbor with a fantastic view. Staying in Gamla Stan is a lot of fun and there are many great restaurants within a 5 minute stroll of the hotel. The spa in the hotel is great and the room was spacious and comfortable. Noise was never a problem even though it was warm and we had the windows open all night. We will definitely stay there again when we go back to Stockholm


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#51 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#7 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#21 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Sven Vintappare Hotel
Sven Vintappare Hotel
#67 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#70 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Reisen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Reisen

Property: First Hotel Reisen
Address: Skeppsbron 12, Stockholm 111 30, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#16 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#24 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#30 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#40 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Reisen 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate Historic Hotel emcompassing 5 renovated 17th-century houses in Old Town setting, overlooking harbor; near Royal Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your First Hotel Reisen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing