We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really good hotel”
Review of First Hotel Reisen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
First Hotel Reisen
Ranked #58 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 20 December 2009

Good hotel, perfect location.
Reception staff very kindly let me check in at 9 a.m.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PIMGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

707 - 713 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2009

First Hotel Reisen is on of the best hotels I've ever stayed in, Sweden. The hotel has the best location in the cozy old town, it's near to the citycentral and to all shopping, nightlife and restaurants. The staff was so friendely and helpfull, you could also tell thek have good knowledge of the city. They gave us good recommendations of places to see and things to do.

If you want a good hotel to stay in I would really recommend First Hotel Reisen.
They have nice rooms you get a good value for a better room, me and my friend stayed in a room with private sauna and jacuzzi a specious room with a great jacuzzi

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atlanta_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2009

Lovely hotel with beautiful surroundings i the old town in Stockholm. The service was excellent and the staff very friendly. Don't miss the cozy restaurants, cafés and markets in the old town just around the corner.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillistockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

This hotel is adjacent to Stockholm's Gamle Staen (Old Towm), which is very charming
with it's narrow cobblestone streets. Also very close to the Palace, Opera House and is
located right at the harbour, handy for ferry trips to the many islands. The hotel is older
but in well kept condition and has a nice restaurant.

Stayed: August 2006, travelled solo
Thank JoeyM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Small rooms, but a nice view on the sea. A wonderful breakfast buffet and a small sauna with a planch pool. Nice stay with frienndly personal.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Flauschmatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

I stayed here for two nights in July 2009 while passing through Stockholm on a trip through Scandinavia.

The service was good. Housekeeping did a thorough job cleaning the room. The front desk staff was helpful and efficient, if not particularly outgoing (although it may be a cultural thing, as I've learned in this region of the world.)

The location is excellent - right in Gamla Stan (Old Town) Stockholm, within walking distance to so many sights, attractions, and restaurants. It is right on the harbor, about one block from the royal palace - perfect place to enjoy a midsummer evening.

The restaurant is OK - just had breakfast there, and it was decent. The sauna and pool are small but nice.

The rooms were decent - very clean, not very modern, but a decent size.

As is the case in many Scandinavian hotels, there was no air conditioning, or it was not working. I'm sure that for most of the year in this part of the world, lack of air conditioning is not an issue, but it can be stifling in midsummer. Fortunately, a fan was available in the room, which made the temperature bearable.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay and found this hotel to be pleasant. The location is by far its best asset.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laker777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Arriving with a client our welcome was considerably cold and officious. Ignoring this poor start I found my bedroom (superior room and paid more) rather on the small side, and a bathroom more suited to a gnome. I congratulate the person who squeezed in a bath, basin, WC, heated towel rail, and so on into a matchbox area - I could actually sit on the WC and brush my teeth at the same time.
Worse to come, my shampoo had broken in the suitcase and I was unable to bring the mess into the bathroom as there was no room. I asked the same man on the front desk if he could help me with a bigger bathroom and he looked at me as if I had asked for the world. There was no offer of assistance despite telling him that I had improtant business meetings early the next day. If he couldn't find a bigger bathroom perhaps the offer of some dry towels would have helped?
Stay here but don't ask for help if you need it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windsor10yellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#48 of 154 in Stockholm
688 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#10 of 154 in Stockholm
626 reviews
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,176 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 154 in Stockholm
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Reisen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Reisen

Address: Skeppsbron 12, Stockholm 11130, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#16 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#24 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#30 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#42 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £116 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Reisen 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate Historic Hotel emcompassing 5 renovated 17th-century houses in Old Town setting, overlooking harbor; near Royal Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your First Hotel Reisen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing