We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Ranked #63 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located right next to T station Radheust... also nearby within walking limits to the Central Station.

However the Negative:
- Small Rooms.
- No Amenities.
- No Soap or Shampoo
- nothing except towels in the bathroom.
- Noisy Rooms on the roadside.
- No Adapters / Converters for guest convenience.
- No Shavers Plug.
- No Cupboard in the rooms.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Kulin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion_Amaranten, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amaranten, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay.
Your feedback has been taken under consideration and we appreciate that you took the time to send us feedback.

Please let me know personally when you are coming next time so we can to something extra for you on site.

Regards
Chatrine Andersson
chatrine.andersson@choice.se
Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    663
    444
    217
    121
See reviews for
283
584
100
676
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Only good thing about the hotel is the location, and that is due to the good T-banna. Hotel room tiny, no kettle, iron or anything, have to go to 3rd floor if you want to do any ironing, boasts 24 hour room service, which in reality finishes promptly at 10pm. Very noisy due to traffic outside, breakfast although tasty very chaotic. The room has a very shoddy finish and the bathroom is very old (and wasnt too clean) - think they have spent all the money on the reception area. Only other perk is the free Wifi in the room - would not revisit

Room Tip: get a top floor so you wont hear the traffic as much
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lhill94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion_Amaranten, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amaranten, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for posting your review on the Trip Advisor even though we could have scored a little better this time.

We apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay us at Clarion Hotel Amaranten. Your views and thoughts are vital to us, and will be presented to the management at Amaranten in order to improve our services. We are looking forward a renovation which is planned ahead.

I hope you will visit us again in the future.

Have a good day
Regards
Chatrine Andersson
Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

edinburgh,scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was a good hotel in a central location.The room was adequate though noisy because of traffic outside.The breakfast was rather chaotic but ok in content.There is an underground station close by.I had dinner in the restaurent which was very tasty.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helmutmac`
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion_Amaranten, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amaranten, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your views about the Clarion Hotel Amaranten at Tripadvisor.

We hope to see you as a guest in our hotel in the near future.
Have a great day!

Chatrine Andersson
Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly situated to discover Stockholm, just a few minutes walk from Central Station. Thank you to the First Hotel Amaranten team for the upgrade. I had booked a Superior room but was kindly given Executive.
Overall, we had an enjoyable stay. The lobby/bar was very lively in the evening, a comfortable place to finish off the day.
Amanda at Reception was very helpful and had a warm smile; however I wished that the breakfast team would have been more flexible. We were asking for some fried eggs, but apparently the chef could not make them, not even on request; very disappointing to miss such a chance to go the extra mile. Otherwise, the variety of the buffet was great; even though some fresh pastries would have been lovely. The room looked fresh and modern, but could have been more spacious. Furthermore, many things in the bathroom seemed to be loose or missing, from towel holder to the shower door.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bianca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion_Amaranten, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amaranten, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Hello!

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay. Very nice to read that you had a good stay at Clarion Hotel Amaranten. I am sorry to hear that we were not flexible regarding your special request for breakfast, I will look into that.

Thanks for the great words about Amanda, she's a star!!

Take care and hope to see you here soon again.

Wishing you a great day!
Chatrine Andersson
Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

It’s just a avrg hotel , their Lounge is really nice . very well connected with the metro station .
Few retail outlets are also nearby . It’s not in the center of Stockholm so you have to walk or have to take taxi to the city center .

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi_Rathore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion_Amaranten, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amaranten, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback!

Most welcome back

Regards
Chatrine Andersson
Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Just a casual 10 min. walk from the bus terminal this hotel is a great base for exploring this beautiful city. It's just that bit away from the main traffic, so even with a room facing the street it was quiet. Our double room on the 5th floor was ample for our needs, and had a good size bathroom with bathtub. Slept like a log in the comfy bed. Very helpfull and friendly staff. The downside was the tiny pool (4 strokes and you were at the other side), and the sauna was out of order. Great breakfast with everything from pickled herring to bangers and beans. The weather was great so we asked reception about renting a couple of bikes. Cross the road, and right at the lights, and just 50 mtrs up on the left was a cycle workshop. Brilliant! We paid 200sk for 24hrs per bike (no deposit, just picture ID). It'll cost you 260sk per pers. for hop on/off buses! Trust me, this is the perfect way to explore the city. One last tip. Arlander airport is 30 miles from the city, so unless your in a major rush, avoid the really expensive express train and taxis, and take the "flygbussarna", airport coach, to the city bus terminal. 198sk return, pay by credit card on the bus, takes around 45min.

Room Tip: One of the top floors. The view from the rear of the building looked nice. Will ask for that next ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion_Amaranten, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amaranten, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Hi,

Thank you very much for sharing your views about the Clarion Hotel Amaranten at tripadvisor.

I do apologize that our sauna is out of order, we are looking forward a renovation which is planned ahead.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Chatrine Andersson
Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2013

In Sweden usually you will not find very luxury hotels.
This hotel is a bit more expensive (+20%) than others from same category but its location is worth of it.
Good breakfast (I would rate as 7 considering global scale and as 8,5 considering others swedish hotels).
Good room space. I got a double bed room.
Bathroomm = medium. I don't like tubes and the shower had low pressure.
Good restaurants nearby and right above metro station. Quite convenient for transportation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Södermalm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
#45 of 154 in Stockholm
2,686 reviews
Norrmalm
Clarion Hotel Sign
Clarion Hotel Sign
#37 of 154 in Stockholm
3,366 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#35 of 154 in Stockholm
2,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Comfort Hotel Stockholm
Comfort Hotel Stockholm
#58 of 154 in Stockholm
1,979 reviews
Norrmalm
First Hotel Kungsbron
First Hotel Kungsbron
#86 of 154 in Stockholm
491 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Amaranten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Amaranten

Property: Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Address: 31 Kungsholmsgatan, Stockholm 112 27, Sweden (Formerly First Hotel Amaranten)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Kungsholmen , Kungsholmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Hotel Amaranten 3.5*
Number of rooms: 457
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Amaranten is located on Kungsholmen in central Stockholm. With only 700 meters from Stockholm's city center and 10 minutes walk to Central Station, the hotel is easily accessible and close to most attractions in Stockholm.Kungsholmen has a great variety of restaurants and has a charming nightlife, ranging from casual outdoor cafes to nightclubs. Near the hotel is also the City Hall and Town Hall, two of Stockholm's most famous silhouettes. At the hotel, we offer a gym, sauna and spa (the indoor pool is temporarily closed for renovations). If you book well in advance is also a personal trainer available. The hotel restaurant Kitchen & Table serves a combination of the best flavors of multicultural Manhattan with local ingredients from the region around one of Stockholm's most beautiful islands -Kungsholmen. The result is a culinary experience with ridiculously good dishes and mixed, maxed tastes. All served with lots of love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Amaranten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Amaranten
First Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing