We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoilt by fire alarm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Amaranten
Ranked #65 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Had a great stay in the hotel until a fire alarm at 2am due to a drunken guest setting off fire extinguishers and filling the air in the corridors with powder. Evacuated to the lobby where the lobby staff provided no coordination or useful info. We were left waiting around.

A shame as the hotel was very nice otherwise.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank nifta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion_Amaranten, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amaranten, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2014

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.
I do apologize for the inconvenience regarding the fire-alarm.

Please let me know personally next time you are visiting us and I will give you a free upgrade.

Take Care!
Regards
Chatrine Andersson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 440 of 2,284 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

The reception and lobby areas are very good and the ladies at the reception desk were really helpful and friendly and gave great recommendations and advice. The staff at reception were the real plus point of this hotel. The room and en-suite shower room were way to small and this particular room was badly affected by outside noise throughout the night especially with the window open when the room was too hot. The self service buffet breakfast was good and above average. Overall, great staff at reception but really poor rooms. The room and en-suite shower were not of the standard or size that one expects compared to other European hotels of this standard and price therefore despite the fantastic reception staff I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
1  Thank EWee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion_Amaranten, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amaranten, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2014

Hello!

Thank you for your feedback from your stay at Clarion Hotel Amaranten.
Great to read that you liked our staff and lobby. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations regarding the rooms. We are renovating some of our rooms right now!

Hope to see you as our guest in the future.

Regards
Chatrine Andersson
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for business trip.

Position: very good! Close the city center and only 20m far from the metro station
Rooms: not so big but really good cleaned.
Breakfast: perfect!!
Reception: very available and helpful
WiFi Connection: free and fast
Bar at lobby: good!!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank darksasy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion_Amaranten, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amaranten, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2014

Hello,

What a GREAT review, thank you so much!!! Most welcome back to Clarion Hotel Amaranten.

Have a lovely day!
Warm Wishes
Chatrine Andersson
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Clarion Hotel Amaranten is a good choice for everbode. Either you are in Stockholm for business or pleasure. Its located in walking distance to most of the cultural things, to the old city, Stureplan and the central station.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank André R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion_Amaranten, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amaranten, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2014

Good day!!

Thanks for this review -hope to see you again.

Best Regards
Chatrine Andersson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

A few of the electrical appliances are not working, including the TV, when we checked into the room. Room is not up to standard. Cleaniness is not up to standard. I will maximum give it a 3 stars rating.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank 2loveN2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion_Amaranten, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amaranten, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2014

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to give us feedback. Feedback from our guests is always highly appreciated and valued. I do apologize for the inconvenience regarding your room.

Please let me know personally next time you are coming and I will you a free upgrade.

Have a nice day
Regards
Chatrine
chatrine.andersson@choice.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The name and the lobby give a lot of expectations. The reception and other staff is friendly and acts as can be expected. However, the elevators are slow and quite limited for the amount of guests. My room was certainly not more than a single room. I had a spare cushion but I would not sleep in the small bed with two (let aside that one can hardly walk around the bed). Small desk with a small,stiff chair. Difficult television angle to view from the bed. Small wardrobe closet and bathroom. No space to store your belongings. Old and weared out wash basin which is not easy to control. Small shower and no bath mat to keep the floor dry. This is certainly not worth the price (and I even got a discount). And where is the Scandinavian design. On the other hand, the bar and the breakfast were fine with lots of choices (too much I would say).
I would certainly rethink going here unless you need to be at Piperska Muren. Otherwise it is still ten to fifteen minutes wlk from the train station and the old town although it is next to a metro stop. The swimming pool and sauna were under construction, so it was only for the good sunny weather that the stay ws enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ortwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion_Amaranten, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amaranten, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing us here on Tripadvisor.
We are very grateful for all the feedback we received from you, it truly helsp us to improve the hotel, as well as ourselves.

If I may, I would love to be in touch with you about your experience and also to thank you for the feedback. I would be most grateful to recevie an e-mail from you in order for me to be able to contact you. chatrine.andersson@choice.se

Hope to see you at hotel soon again.

Regards
Chatrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Clarion Hotel Amaranten is centrally situated in a nice area with many cafes and restaurans. The staff is super friendly. The rooms have a good size, rhey are clean and surprisingly quiet.
I would come back!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion_Amaranten, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Amaranten, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2014

Hello,

Thank you so much for your nice review of The Clarion Hotel Amaranten following your recent stay with us.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of looking after you on a future visit to Stockholm and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of any further assistance.

Warm regards,
Chatrine Andersson
chatrine.andersson@choice.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Clarion Hotel Sign
Clarion Hotel Sign
#55 of 155 in Stockholm
3,769 reviews
Vasastan
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
#46 of 155 in Stockholm
862 reviews
Södermalm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
#43 of 155 in Stockholm
2,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
Comfort Hotel Stockholm
Comfort Hotel Stockholm
#64 of 155 in Stockholm
2,202 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#54 of 155 in Stockholm
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Amaranten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Amaranten

Address: 31 Kungsholmsgatan, Stockholm 112 27, Sweden (Formerly First Hotel Amaranten)
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Kungsholmen , Kungsholmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: £84 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Hotel Amaranten 3.5*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Amaranten is located on Kungsholmen in central Stockholm. With only 700 meters from Stockholm's city center and 10 minutes walk to Central Station, the hotel is easily accessible and close to most attractions in Stockholm.Kungsholmen has a great variety of restaurants and has a charming nightlife, ranging from casual outdoor cafes to nightclubs. Near the hotel is also the City Hall and Town Hall, two of Stockholm's most famous silhouettes. At the hotel, we offer a gym and sauna. The hotel restaurant Kitchen & Table serves a combination of the best flavors of multicultural Manhattan with local ingredients from the region around one of Stockholm's most beautiful islands - Kungsholmen. You can also visit our award winngin cocktailbar Tap Room Kungsholmen to enjoy our modern takes on classical cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel Amaranten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Amaranten
First Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing