We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked it - but a few "but"s”
Review of Elite Hotel Adlon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Elite Hotel Adlon
Ranked #40 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Okay, so the rooms are extremely small but they had everything in it I needed (and even more: An ironing board - without iron though. But who wants to iron his clothes on a holiday?) For most of the foreign speaking TV - channels you'd have to pay - but the ever helpful staff at the reception (they endured my lousy swedish politely) didn't find a broadcast of the women's soccer world championship. So the TV and radio offers are quite boring for non - swedish speakers. The smallness of the room was made good for by the brilliant - small but beautiful - breakfastbuffet, - especially the great coffee! And wherelse would you find a three star hotel with a "Walk - in" shower? The location ist excellent. The only "but": It took me 25 minutes to check in my flight via internet on their super - slow computer. And they call themselves "business hotel"!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmessduesseldorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

309 - 315 of 804 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2011

I arrived at 9.30 (a.m.) and was prepared to leave my suitcase in the baggage room but they gave me my room. Extraordinary!

The room was small but clean and comfortable. Nice enough for me, I mainly use the room for sleeping... And I always use ear plugs... This time the ear plugs were definitely needed because my window was facing Vasagatan, and it's a busy, noisy street.

The service was very friendly, the breakfast was very good. And if you arrive at Arland Airport, the location of this hotel is perfect. Arlanda Express (the train) takes you almost directly to this hotel, see the map http://www.arlandaexpress.com/stockholmcitymap.aspx

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatariinaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

I stayed 4 Nights starting on the midsummer holiday, with my family, we were 3 travelling arriving by bus to Stockholm from Orebro.The bus terminal is a 3 minute walk, I got lost, it took me 7 minutes. Leaving via Arlanda express will take just as much if as much time as the terminal is a stones throw away, in the central station. This review is for the Mini-suite, which is reasonable for what I needed, for 3 adults however it was a bit of a squezze, as the third "bed" was a couch, with a drawer at the bottom, so it can sleep 2. I am 180cm, and 130Kg, and I managed the 4 nights quite OK on the couch. The bathroom has a shower that was a bit tight, but hey, I'm Supersize, and managed. The facility itself is well run, excellent, all tourist info at the front desk, very helpful staff. They even confirmed a place to get dinner on the Holiday, and organised a discount.

The Hotel is not cheap, but by Stockholm standards it will be hard to find better. I saved on transport as everything is accessible via walking or bus, walked 2Km for boat tours, open top bus tours cross right in front of the Hotel, so for shopping, Tourism etc, it is ideal.

Plenty of restaurants around here, varying prices and quality to suite all, and just below on the corner a 7-11 Store, that sells pretty much everything from a sandwich to beer, at better than the average price.
Good shopping within walking distance, maps are provided, otherwise hop the bus (24 Hour ticket, I used over 2 days)to go to old town etc where all the Tourist type shops are, if too cheap for the bus, the boat is a good option, (Hop-on and Off), near the Galleria, which is a fair 20 minute walk away.........Just learn how to read maps...:-)

A well recommended place to stay if like me you have a salary

Room Tip: Go for Double rooms or suites, book drct @Adlon.se
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrEdeKoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Adlon is a nice and no nonsense hotel in an old fashioned style however it's clean and charming. My single room was small but very efficient. Very close to the arlanda express and also close to the main sites.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We were in town in business and our company booked us into this place. The location is VERY convenient to the central train station which is an efficient, though the not most attractive location in town. The hotel is also very well-run. The rooms are nice (ours was a larger double), certainly not oppulent (hardwood floors instead of carpets). The bed was nice and comfortable. Breakfast was good but not the best we had in Sweden. The price was good, so overall I though it was a solid value. If you are not looking for an nice well-run hotel, the Adelon is more than adequate. It is not a 5 star property of an International chain, but it leaves a nice taste of Sweden in your mouth.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leroi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

I stayed here with my wife and daughter and found the hotel staff to be very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was a pleasant experience with a wide range of choices and good food. The hotel is well located whether you are walking around Stockholm or need to travel by train, and either the bus or Arlanda Express train to/from the airport are only a short distance from the hotel.
The rooms and hotel were renovated in 2006/07 and were clean and well appointed. One minor point was that the bathroom floor was all one level and the water from the shower needed to be mopped up with towels.
The free wifi internet worked well and there were terminals in the lobby as well.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ochlophobic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

I stayed there for 3 days during a work meeting in Stockholm and absolutely loved this hotel. Though a bit small, single rooms are very cozy, clean, functional and nicely furnished. Breakfast was good and plenty choices. Reception staff was friendly and helpful. Free Wi-Fi in the room was good, but most of foreign TV channels are paid...
All in all I definitely recommend this place and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripmaster001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#50 of 154 in Stockholm
1,944 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#18 of 154 in Stockholm
1,365 reviews
Norrmalm
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
#19 of 154 in Stockholm
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza
Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza
#70 of 154 in Stockholm
564 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#37 of 154 in Stockholm
2,694 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Hotel Adlon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Hotel Adlon

Address: Vasagatan 42, Stockholm 11120, Sweden (Formerly Adlon Hotell)
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#42 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £108 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Hotel Adlon 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elite Hotel Adlons' location is perfect for a visit to Stockholm. We are a centrally located three star superior quality hotel. Easy to find whether you arrive by plane, train, bus or car. Stockholm Central Station, Arlanda Airport Express train, the central bus station and commuter trains are only minutes away and several inner-city buses stop directly outside our door. Once you are here, you are close to all of Stockholm's business and entertainment centers. Just around the corner is Stockholm's foremost shopping district and you're in walking distance to Old Town, City Hall and the Royal Palace.The charming 19th century building has been newly refurbished offering comfortable rooms and personal assistance from our staff. Enjoy the plentiful breakfast buffet and complementary Wi-Fi throughout the building. Why not work wireless in our lounge while enjoying something Swedish from our menu? The Elite Hotel Adlon displays a unique character and personalised service. All our rooms and public areas are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Elite Hotel Adlon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adlon Hotell Stockholm
Adlon Hotell Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing