We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again”
Review of Elite Hotel Adlon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Elite Hotel Adlon
Ranked #38 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“never again”
Reviewed 23 July 2011

The hotel is situated at one of the main roads from Stockholm. So if you are used to sleep with an open window forget it. Our room was small a kind of rundown and worst of all the bathroom smelled terrible. The breakfast was ok beside that they do not serve fresh coffee - there is an odd machine where you can help yourself. If I take the price into consideration this was the worst hotel experinece ever. There are much better price related options in Sweden.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bochum1848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    394
    124
    23
    12
See reviews for
120
199
159
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Hotel Adlon is very convenient. Located opposite the central train station, one could just hop off either the airport bus or express train and walk across the road to get to the hotel. Reception staff were friendly and helpful and very willing to recommend activities or restaurants and even offered to make the reservation for me.

Rooms were small but very clean and comfortable. It is also central enough for getting to various museums and to the two major shopping centres in Stockholm. Breakfast had a good selection. Worth all its stars.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdmfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We arrived In Stockholm via the Arlanda Express at 10 pm, and it was a quick walk to the Adlon from the station. We were assigned a corner room - almost a suite - very spacious, clean and comfortable. It was a bit noisy because Vasagatan is a major thoroughfare and also lined with pubs, but it didn't bother us. The breakfast was awesome! We found the location was perfect for walking around the city, and the hotel staff was helpful. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank in2country
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Couldn't fault location, absolute convenience. The traffic and late revellers noise was a problem for us because it was so hot when we were there but the windows shut out most of the noise

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bentford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
germany
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Okay, so the rooms are extremely small but they had everything in it I needed (and even more: An ironing board - without iron though. But who wants to iron his clothes on a holiday?) For most of the foreign speaking TV - channels you'd have to pay - but the ever helpful staff at the reception (they endured my lousy swedish politely) didn't find a broadcast of the women's soccer world championship. So the TV and radio offers are quite boring for non - swedish speakers. The smallness of the room was made good for by the brilliant - small but beautiful - breakfastbuffet, - especially the great coffee! And wherelse would you find a three star hotel with a "Walk - in" shower? The location ist excellent. The only "but": It took me 25 minutes to check in my flight via internet on their super - slow computer. And they call themselves "business hotel"!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmessduesseldorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I arrived at 9.30 (a.m.) and was prepared to leave my suitcase in the baggage room but they gave me my room. Extraordinary!

The room was small but clean and comfortable. Nice enough for me, I mainly use the room for sleeping... And I always use ear plugs... This time the ear plugs were definitely needed because my window was facing Vasagatan, and it's a busy, noisy street.

The service was very friendly, the breakfast was very good. And if you arrive at Arland Airport, the location of this hotel is perfect. Arlanda Express (the train) takes you almost directly to this hotel, see the map http://www.arlandaexpress.com/stockholmcitymap.aspx

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatariinaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberley, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2011

I stayed 4 Nights starting on the midsummer holiday, with my family, we were 3 travelling arriving by bus to Stockholm from Orebro.The bus terminal is a 3 minute walk, I got lost, it took me 7 minutes. Leaving via Arlanda express will take just as much if as much time as the terminal is a stones throw away, in the central station. This review is for the Mini-suite, which is reasonable for what I needed, for 3 adults however it was a bit of a squezze, as the third "bed" was a couch, with a drawer at the bottom, so it can sleep 2. I am 180cm, and 130Kg, and I managed the 4 nights quite OK on the couch. The bathroom has a shower that was a bit tight, but hey, I'm Supersize, and managed. The facility itself is well run, excellent, all tourist info at the front desk, very helpful staff. They even confirmed a place to get dinner on the Holiday, and organised a discount.

The Hotel is not cheap, but by Stockholm standards it will be hard to find better. I saved on transport as everything is accessible via walking or bus, walked 2Km for boat tours, open top bus tours cross right in front of the Hotel, so for shopping, Tourism etc, it is ideal.

Plenty of restaurants around here, varying prices and quality to suite all, and just below on the corner a 7-11 Store, that sells pretty much everything from a sandwich to beer, at better than the average price.
Good shopping within walking distance, maps are provided, otherwise hop the bus (24 Hour ticket, I used over 2 days)to go to old town etc where all the Tourist type shops are, if too cheap for the bus, the boat is a good option, (Hop-on and Off), near the Galleria, which is a fair 20 minute walk away.........Just learn how to read maps...:-)

A well recommended place to stay if like me you have a salary

Room Tip: Go for Double rooms or suites, book drct @Adlon.se
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrEdeKoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#19 of 154 in Stockholm
1,255 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#44 of 154 in Stockholm
1,815 reviews
Norrmalm
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
#17 of 154 in Stockholm
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#32 of 154 in Stockholm
2,532 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#31 of 154 in Stockholm
1,011 reviews
Norrmalm
Nordic Light Hotel
Nordic Light Hotel
#35 of 154 in Stockholm
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Hotel Adlon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Hotel Adlon

Property: Elite Hotel Adlon
Address: 42 Vasagatan, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden (Formerly Adlon Hotell)
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#42 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Hotel Adlon 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elite Hotel Adlons' location is perfect for a visit to Stockholm. We are a centrally located three star superior quality hotel. Easy to find whether you arrive by plane, train, bus or car. Stockholm Central Station, Arlanda Airport Express train, the central bus station and commuter trains are only minutes away and several inner-city buses stop directly outside our door. Once you are here, you are close to all of Stockholm's business and entertainment centers. Just around the corner is Stockholm's foremost shopping district and you're in walking distance to Old Town, City Hall and the Royal Palace.The charming 19th century building has been newly refurbished offering comfortable rooms and personal assistance from our staff. Enjoy the plentiful breakfast buffet and complementary Wi-Fi throughout the building. Why not work wireless in our lounge while enjoying something Swedish from our menu? The Elite Hotel Adlon displays a unique character and personalised service. All our rooms and public areas are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Elite Hotel Adlon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adlon Hotell Stockholm
Adlon Hotell Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing