We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice in central Stockholm”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Elite Hotel Adlon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elite Hotel Adlon
Ranked #56 of 157 Hotels in Stockholm
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent choice in central Stockholm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just back from a 3 night stay at the Adlon. Much of what I have to say has already been said but here's a few random points:

- Top notch location just round the corner from the Arlanda Express/Flygbussen, and only a ten minute walk to Gamla Stan.

- My single room was never going to win any cutting edge Nordic design awards, but it was well laid out, spotlessly clean and well equipped with a flat screen smart TV, iron and board, kettle, telephone and reasonably fast Wi-Fi. Bed was very comfortable!

- Almost all rooms face a busy street, so even with the window closed, it's noisy around the clock. Bring ear-plugs or ask for them at reception. Although the room does have heavy curtains, with the street lights and bright midsummer light outside, you'll also need an eye mask if you're sensitive to light.

- Staff are friendly and pleasant.

- Breakfast is your typical Scandinavian spread - a good variety of bread, cheese, meat, cereals etc - enough to keep you going until lunch or later. However, as others have said, the breakfast room is simply too small. Many guests were unable to find tables, and it also seems to be understaffed, as tables were not cleared quickly enough.

All in all, I would say that if you're looking for centrally-located, reasonably priced accommodation in Stockholm, the Adlon is a very good choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingMinstrel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filip U, Informationsansvarig at Elite Hotel Adlon, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thanks a lot for this review and feedback.

I am glad to see that you enjoy our location and the stay in your room. Yes, indeed, we face one of the main streets in Stockholm and it's difficult to eliminate 100% of the noise. But we have receently invested in three-way-windows to reduce so much as technically possible. We also have a couple of rooms facing the court yard, they are completely quiet. Just as you say, we provide ear plugs and various other articles in the reception.

After the summer, we are going to open our brand-new restaurant, it's going to be a major up lift regarding the space of the breakfast room, since we are going to serve it there instead.


Thank you for recommending us!

Welcome back to us in the future!

Best regards,
Filip Ullhag
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    370
    122
    23
    11
See reviews for
108
168
155
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I spent four nights at the Adlon and was appalled at their lack of customer service throughout my stay. When I arrived, our sink handle had broken off and couldn't be fixed for a day. They offered us a smaller room, however we did not accept it as it was late in the afternoon. The next day, the front desk staff entered our room without knocking to have them fix the sink. When we asked for 15 minutes to finish getting ready, she came back 5 minutes later.

The staff does not have knowledge of the area restaurants so I suggest using google and yelp. If they say something is a 10 minute walk, add at least 20 minutes since we missed our tour to one of the islands.

I suggest thinking like you are staying in a hostel since everyday they did not leave any towels.

I wish this stay would have been more pleasant, but sadly this was the worst customer service I saw in my two weeks in Europe. Buyer beware and pick another hotel in the area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filip U, Informationsansvarig at Elite Hotel Adlon, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest.
Thank you for your review and feedback.

I am sorry we did'nt reach up to your expectations. I will personally look up who cleaned your room and find out what happened regarding the towels, because our staff usually do not make these kind of misstakes. The only plausable scenario when the towels are being untouched by our cleaning staff is when the guest is hanging them on the dryer. It's as you probably know a standardized norm to leave the towels on the bathroom floor if you want to have them replaced, and hang them on the dryer, to use them again, in order to prevent unnecessary enviromental damages. I'm not saying this is the case here, just letting you know how we work on the hotel.

Thereto, we are working very hard with our service and guest contact, so I will also of course look up what has happened at the front desk to get the bottom of this. We strive for the best possible service and therefore, have a high rating in this category on tripadvisor so this is not normal for us.

Even though, I hope you will come back to Stockholm and Adlon in the future so we can have the oppurtunity to prove you better.

Have a great summer and a warm welcome back to us!

Best regards,
Filip Ullhag
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Very clean, Scandinavian type hotel, very convenient to the city, shopping, and old city. Not the cheapest in the world, but it's Sweden. Nice lobby, if small, like most hotels in the region. Staff very friendly, great breakfast. Rooms small as they are in most European hotels, but nicely equipped, and quiet, even looking over the street.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BallaghMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filip U, Informationsansvarig at Elite Hotel Adlon, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for your nice review and feedback.

Welcome back to Elite Hotel Adlon!

Best regards,
Filip Ullhag
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very friendly staff to greet us. Room was adequate, clean and comfortable. Nice size bathroom, but small shower. Located near the Central Station and the Arlanda Express to the Airport. Easy walk to all attractions. A few blocks from main walking street that has shopping and restaurants. Hop On Hop Off bus 1 Block away. Good breakfast included. WiFi wasn't working in the room, but was in the lobby. Nice, moderately priced hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJJJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filip U, Informationsansvarig at Elite Hotel Adlon, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for writing this review, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our service and rooms.

Best regards,
Filip Ullhag
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We checked out of this hotel this morning, after a 3 night stay. I'd chosen it on the basis of location, knowing it to be near where the airport bus and train terminals are. We actually went past it on the bus, so it couldnt have been easier to find. Some earlier reviewers mentioned small rooms - ours was a good size. No bath sadly, but the room was otherwise well equipped with kettle, hairdryer, iron, safe, and fridge. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was really extensive and tasty, with lots of healthy options. Yes it does get busy in the breakfast room, but we didn't have a problem sharing a table and nothing ran out. There was a bit of street noise on Saturday night in the small hours, I guess with clubs turning out. "City" is a very modern area, and to my eyes not the most attractive. Therefore, now I know Stockholm a bit (and definitely intend to return) I may choose a hotel in another area. But for a first time visitor it is a great location - you can find it quickly, check in and get on with your visit. I warmly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Euromatey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filip U, Informationsansvarig at Elite Hotel Adlon, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest.
Thank you so much for taking your time and writing this review. The hotel is indeed very centrally located and it's hard to beat it. After the summer we will open our new restaurant and serve the breakfast there, and it's a lot more room for our guests.

Thank you for recommending us, welcome back to Elite Hotel Adlon!

Best regards,
Filip Ullhag
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesund, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great location, walking distance to/from almost anything important in Stockholm. OK standard but getting close to need for renovations... Small room without A/C and too noisy with window open. Standard breakfast, nothing out of the ordinary except dining room which was unexceptionally small...had to share table with strangers on more than one occasion. Had a small gym room, which like everything else in the hotel was small...was in the basement, with a broken rowing machine, a bike, a pilates ball...and that was it. Service impeccable, free WiFi in reception area, WiFi in rooms was down during visit.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing courtyard, away from Vasagatan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filip U, Informationsansvarig at Elite Hotel Adlon, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback. I'm glad your appreciate our location. Next time your are staying with us, make a request about a room facing the court yard in order to eliminate the noice with an open window. We also provide fans for our guest since we don't have A/C. It's uncommon for the hotels to have air conditioning since we have so few hot days in Stockholm. We are also planning comprehensive renovations, the breakfast room is already in progress, in October we will move the breakfast do our brand-new restaurant that is way more spacious.

We would like to wish you a great summer and welcome back to Elite Hotel Adlon!

Best regards,
Filip Ullhag

& the adlon team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

The hotel is not far from everything (railway, Gampla Stan - 2 stops by bus, City hall, shops) The rooms are not very large, but for sleeping is enough. The furniture is not new (for this the rate is good), but everything is clean. There is kettle with tea and coffee, small minibar that is very helpfully. The breakfast is good with porridge, sausages, eggs, salmon, different types of cheese, yougurt and etc. The staff on reception is friendly, ready to help.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimasus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filip U, Informationsansvarig at Elite Hotel Adlon, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest.
Thank you so much for taking your time and giving us this review.

You are more than welcome back to Elite Hotel Adlon in the future.

Best Regards,
Filip Ullhag
Front Desk

& the Elite Hotel Adlon team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 157 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Norrmalm
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
#15 of 157 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#34 of 157 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#30 of 157 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#46 of 157 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
Norrmalm
Nordic Light Hotel
Nordic Light Hotel
#28 of 157 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Hotel Adlon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Hotel Adlon

Property: Elite Hotel Adlon
Address: 42 Vasagatan, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden (Formerly Adlon Hotell)
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#42 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Hotel Adlon 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elite Hotel Adlons' location is perfect for a visit to Stockholm. We are a centrally located three star superior quality hotel. Easy to find whether you arrive by plane, train, bus or car. Stockholm Central Station, Arlanda Airport Express train, the central bus station and commuter trains are only minutes away and several inner-city buses stop directly outside our door. Once you are here, you are close to all of Stockholm's business and entertainment centers. Just around the corner is Stockholm's foremost shopping district and you're in walking distance to Old Town, City Hall and the Royal Palace.The charming 19th century building has been newly refurbished offering comfortable rooms and personal assistance from our staff. Enjoy the plentiful breakfast buffet and complementary Wi-Fi throughout the building. Why not work wireless in our lounge while enjoying something Swedish from our menu? The Elite Hotel Adlon displays a unique character and personalised service. All our rooms and public areas are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Elite Hotel Adlon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adlon Hotell Stockholm
Adlon Hotell Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing