We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was pleasant but nothing to make a huge song and dance about.”
Review of Elite Hotel Adlon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elite Hotel Adlon
Ranked #53 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Was pleasant but nothing to make a huge song and dance about.”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My stay here was comfortable and enjoyable but wasn't outstanding not saying that it was a horrible place, as it wasn't. But all in all lovely place, food was lovely, service also above board. For me sleeping is everything on a holiday when you want to relax and sleep in and I found the rooms and beds just great! Location was a good spot as it was near the station and I didn't get lost at all which was a bonus when I had a wonder by myself.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemissgiggles379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filip U, Informationsansvarig at Elite Hotel Adlon, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thanks a lot for taking your time and writing a review to us.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed our service and the comfortable bed in your room.

Best regards,
Filip Ullhag
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    381
    122
    23
    11
See reviews for
111
175
155
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, OH
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel serves as an excellent base for exploring Stockholm, particularly if you arrive on Arlanda Express from the airport. The hotel is well kept, clean, with friendly staff. The breakfast is good with many choices. The room was small, but otherwise served my needs well. I was also happy to be allowed to check in at 8AM, since I'd arrived on an overnight flight - this helped get me settled nicely.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wombatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filip U, Informationsansvarig at Elite Hotel Adlon, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your review!

Welcome back to us in the future!

Best regards
Filip Ullhag
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I chose this hotel as it offerd the best value for money, with the of needing a central location in relation to the station. It wasn't cheap by British standards but was resaonable in comparison to other similar hotels in the area,( not including the opportunity of sleeping in a dormitory or underground - neither of which appealed)

I was very impressed with the staff during my stay and had no reason to grumble about anything in the room. I think the fussier types might say the mattress was too thin and the interesting choice of wallpaper might have kept me a awake at night if I hadn't been so tired . there was no milk in the rooms but if you ask at the reception they are more than happy to provide a cupful at no charge for your tea and coffee.

the bathroom was clean and the breakfast copious and delicious,
oh and despite being right over tthe vasagaten which could have been very noisy, the rooms were surprisingly sound proofed.

i also liked the security peephole in my door . it was a nice touch which I thought other hotels could copy

Room Tip: can't think of one really. I suppose the first floor may be noisier being near the restaurant an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newlogmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filip U, Informationsansvarig at Elite Hotel Adlon, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your broad review and feedback.

I am glad to read that you got satisfied with the service from us during your stay. I am also glad to see that our newly upgraded windows are making a noticed difference.

Welcome again in the future!

Best regards
Filip Ullhag
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasteras, Sweden
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed here fpr two nights with my 5-year-old as we travelled together with another single dad and his two kids. The hotel is conveniently located near the trains and also right across the street from the bus that takes you to the attractions on Djurgården.

I have no complaints whatsoever. Staff a bit reserved, perhaps, but room - though quite small (not that it mattered much) - was clean, bed nice and bathroom small but nice.

I enjoyed the breakfast and there was both hot and cold breakfast. Breakfast room slightly on the small side.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sveos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filip U, Informationsansvarig at Elite Hotel Adlon, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback.

Welcome back to Elite Hotel Adlon!

Best regards,
Filip Ullhag
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just back from a 3 night stay at the Adlon. Much of what I have to say has already been said but here's a few random points:

- Top notch location just round the corner from the Arlanda Express/Flygbussen, and only a ten minute walk to Gamla Stan.

- My single room was never going to win any cutting edge Nordic design awards, but it was well laid out, spotlessly clean and well equipped with a flat screen smart TV, iron and board, kettle, telephone and reasonably fast Wi-Fi. Bed was very comfortable!

- Almost all rooms face a busy street, so even with the window closed, it's noisy around the clock. Bring ear-plugs or ask for them at reception. Although the room does have heavy curtains, with the street lights and bright midsummer light outside, you'll also need an eye mask if you're sensitive to light.

- Staff are friendly and pleasant.

- Breakfast is your typical Scandinavian spread - a good variety of bread, cheese, meat, cereals etc - enough to keep you going until lunch or later. However, as others have said, the breakfast room is simply too small. Many guests were unable to find tables, and it also seems to be understaffed, as tables were not cleared quickly enough.

All in all, I would say that if you're looking for centrally-located, reasonably priced accommodation in Stockholm, the Adlon is a very good choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingMinstrel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filip U, Informationsansvarig at Elite Hotel Adlon, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thanks a lot for this review and feedback.

I am glad to see that you enjoy our location and the stay in your room. Yes, indeed, we face one of the main streets in Stockholm and it's difficult to eliminate 100% of the noise. But we have receently invested in three-way-windows to reduce so much as technically possible. We also have a couple of rooms facing the court yard, they are completely quiet. Just as you say, we provide ear plugs and various other articles in the reception.

After the summer, we are going to open our brand-new restaurant, it's going to be a major up lift regarding the space of the breakfast room, since we are going to serve it there instead.


Thank you for recommending us!

Welcome back to us in the future!

Best regards,
Filip Ullhag
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I spent four nights at the Adlon and was appalled at their lack of customer service throughout my stay. When I arrived, our sink handle had broken off and couldn't be fixed for a day. They offered us a smaller room, however we did not accept it as it was late in the afternoon. The next day, the front desk staff entered our room without knocking to have them fix the sink. When we asked for 15 minutes to finish getting ready, she came back 5 minutes later.

The staff does not have knowledge of the area restaurants so I suggest using google and yelp. If they say something is a 10 minute walk, add at least 20 minutes since we missed our tour to one of the islands.

I suggest thinking like you are staying in a hostel since everyday they did not leave any towels.

I wish this stay would have been more pleasant, but sadly this was the worst customer service I saw in my two weeks in Europe. Buyer beware and pick another hotel in the area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filip U, Informationsansvarig at Elite Hotel Adlon, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest.
Thank you for your review and feedback.

I am sorry we did'nt reach up to your expectations. I will personally look up who cleaned your room and find out what happened regarding the towels, because our staff usually do not make these kind of misstakes. The only plausable scenario when the towels are being untouched by our cleaning staff is when the guest is hanging them on the dryer. It's as you probably know a standardized norm to leave the towels on the bathroom floor if you want to have them replaced, and hang them on the dryer, to use them again, in order to prevent unnecessary enviromental damages. I'm not saying this is the case here, just letting you know how we work on the hotel.

Thereto, we are working very hard with our service and guest contact, so I will also of course look up what has happened at the front desk to get the bottom of this. We strive for the best possible service and therefore, have a high rating in this category on tripadvisor so this is not normal for us.

Even though, I hope you will come back to Stockholm and Adlon in the future so we can have the oppurtunity to prove you better.

Have a great summer and a warm welcome back to us!

Best regards,
Filip Ullhag
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Very clean, Scandinavian type hotel, very convenient to the city, shopping, and old city. Not the cheapest in the world, but it's Sweden. Nice lobby, if small, like most hotels in the region. Staff very friendly, great breakfast. Rooms small as they are in most European hotels, but nicely equipped, and quiet, even looking over the street.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BallaghMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filip U, Informationsansvarig at Elite Hotel Adlon, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for your nice review and feedback.

Welcome back to Elite Hotel Adlon!

Best regards,
Filip Ullhag
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Norrmalm
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
#17 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#35 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#29 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#45 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Norrmalm
Nordic Light Hotel
Nordic Light Hotel
#32 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Hotel Adlon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Hotel Adlon

Property: Elite Hotel Adlon
Address: 42 Vasagatan, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden (Formerly Adlon Hotell)
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#42 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Hotel Adlon 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elite Hotel Adlons' location is perfect for a visit to Stockholm. We are a centrally located three star superior quality hotel. Easy to find whether you arrive by plane, train, bus or car. Stockholm Central Station, Arlanda Airport Express train, the central bus station and commuter trains are only minutes away and several inner-city buses stop directly outside our door. Once you are here, you are close to all of Stockholm's business and entertainment centers. Just around the corner is Stockholm's foremost shopping district and you're in walking distance to Old Town, City Hall and the Royal Palace.The charming 19th century building has been newly refurbished offering comfortable rooms and personal assistance from our staff. Enjoy the plentiful breakfast buffet and complementary Wi-Fi throughout the building. Why not work wireless in our lounge while enjoying something Swedish from our menu? The Elite Hotel Adlon displays a unique character and personalised service. All our rooms and public areas are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Elite Hotel Adlon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adlon Hotell Stockholm
Adlon Hotell Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing