We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, not great”
Review of Elite Hotel Adlon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elite Hotel Adlon
Ranked #40 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Reasonable price for a family room, (2 adults and 2 small kids). The kids had a pull-out couch. Very good breakfast and central location just a short walk from the train station an dthe T-Centralen metro stop. Unfortunately we were here during a heat wave (30c) and the one operable window in the room only opens a tiny amount due to a safety latch. The window in the bathroom is not operable and there is no AC. With the window open at night it was still hot and incredibly loud. I suspect this wouldn't be an issue most of the year as the temperatures are typically much cooler so you wouldn't need to keep the window open. Nice wood floors in the room. There is an excellent, high quality Lebanese restaurant, Underbar, located on the pedestrian street a few blocks away.

Room Tip: If you want the windows open try to get a room off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank awolhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filip U, Informationsansvarig at Elite Hotel Adlon, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear guest.

Thank you for taking your time and writing this review.

We have indeed had a few weeks with very hot temperature, and it's just like you said very uncommon. That's why the hotel don't have AC. The safety latch can be removed with a click on the top, it's basically there for the kids and a standard in Sweden.

I am glad to read that you over all had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our breakfast.

Welcome back to us in the future!
Best regards,
Filip Ullhag
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (825)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 825 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

I picked the Adlon due to location where everything in the city was within walking distance. I got a courtyard room which kept the noise down and also had no issue the midnight sunlight. Room was a perfect size for 1 person. Small desk and dresser was located in the room with a nice chair to sit in and surf the internet when I wanted to. I do think that they could improve the closet and add drawers and shelves to put clothes in. That way they can get rid of the small dresser and open up a bit more room. The breakfast was very good and offered a lot of options. Room was very clean and staff was extremely helpful.

Room Tip: I got a "courtyard" room and did not have to worry about the sun being out until midnight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uoducks1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filip U, Informationsansvarig at Elite Hotel Adlon, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear guest.
Thanks a lot for writing this 5-star review to us.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed our location and the room that was given to you. The rooms facing the yard is indeed more quiet, even though we have installed three way glass in the rooms facing the street. It's really difficult to eliminate 100% of the noise. I will take your suggestion regarding the planning of the room in mind and transfer it to the person in charge, thank you!

Have a great end of the summer and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Filip Ullhag
Front Desk
& the team of Adlon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

A top hotel in Stockholm in the old days, added to this Swedish Hotel chain and in the process of getting some TLC. Well located, close to the central railway station, theatres, cinemas and various dinning venues. Historic Gamla Stad a short walk away.
Great staff.

Room Tip: First floor at the front gets a bit of noise at night. Not enough to wake you, but if you are trying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank adrian444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is centrally located, just two blocks from the Arlanda Express terminal in Central Station. A few blocks from T-Centralen the T-Bana (subway) station. There are plenty of buses going through the street, so that you are very well connected.

At a walking distance you find: Gamla Stan (old town), which is a must visit, and Kungstradgarden, which is a nice park.

If you want to visit the Vasa Museum or Skansen Park, just cross the street, take a bus # 69 up to the Kungstradgarden stop and transfer to Tram # 7.

Regarding amenities, this hotel has free WiFi which worked very well and a nice breakfast buffet. The only problem with the breakfast was, as others have commented, that the room is small and fills up quite fast. But don't worry, just grab a good breakfast plate and take it up to your room.

It doesn't have air conditioned, which is not a problem most of the year, but for the few hot days, they have portable fans, just ask for them at the front desk.

All in all, we were very comfortable and would definitely go back. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms that look to the street are noisy, but rooms that look to the interior are quieter. In summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vercan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filip U, Informationsansvarig at Elite Hotel Adlon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for taking your time and writing this very nice review. I see that you had a pleasant stay and I am very happy for that. Thanks for mentioning our location, it is indeed very hard to beat.

Just like you said, it's pretty uncommon to have so many hot days like we have had, and that's the reason why we are happy to provide our guests with fans in order to get the air-flow going.

Regarding our breakfast room: We are currently building our brand new restaurant and we are going to serve the breakfast there as soon as it gets ready. It has a much bigger space and can handle many, many more guests than our current canteen.

Thanks a lot for recommending us and welcome back to Elite Hotel Adlon!

Best regards,
Filip Ullhag
Front Desk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The staff was really nice and professional - let me check in early (after a long early morning flight) and check out a bit later. Gave me a fan when requested - it was great (though warm) weather when I was there. Had great breakfast buffet every morning with eggs, cereal, meats, cheeses, bread, etc.. very yummy and good way to start the day. Hotel was generally very clean, nice and well maintained.. with a great location by the train station and shopping district. I definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gatorgirl90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filip U, Informationsansvarig at Elite Hotel Adlon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thanks a lot for your review of Elite Hotel Adlon. I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that we got the availability to check you in earlier than normal check in time. We have indeed had a couple of really warm weeks here in Stockholm, and it's like you probably know very uncommon in general.

I'm glad to read that you enjoyed our breakfast and that it helped you get a good start of the day.

Thanks for recommending us, and welcome back!

Best regards,
Filip Ullhag
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel is located in an 1800's era building, but very well maintained and updated. Great location in "City" area, only a block from the Transportation Center (train to Arlanda Airport, etc.), on sightseeing bus route. Excellent free breakfast buffet featuring traditional Swedish breakfast offerings (even included caviar) as well as items for American tastes. Great restaurants and park nearby. Remember this is Sweden, don't expect air conditioning (or washcloths in bathroom) and shower was a little different from those in the US or Canada, but otherwise "up to standards" in every regard. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Indygram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filip U, Informationsansvarig at Elite Hotel Adlon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for taking your time and coming back to us with this review. I am happy to hear that you enjoy our location and breakfast. Just like you mentioned, it's indeed very uncommon in Sweden to have air condition, since we have so few really warm days. In a normal year, we only have 5-7 really warm summer days, and the rest is pretty decent or cold. I am even though happy to read that you had a enjoyable stay.

Welcome back to us!
Best regards,
Filip Ullhag
Front Desk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stockholm can be very expensive for hotel accommodations and while Adlon is not a budget hotel, it provides excellent value for money. Ideal location across the road from Central Station and the Arlanda Express train to airport. If travelling solo, the single rooms are small but adequate for a short stay (they did have a double room for single occupancy for a higher fee when I booked, but I noticed it is now not offered as an option). If you do not need hot items for breakfast, Adlon provides an extensive continental buffet with a rich array of cold meats and cheese including soft-boiled eggs and herrings (superior gravlax during midsummer!). Wi-Fi access is now free (different from a few years back). Excellent base for exploring the centre of Stockholm.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NomadinSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filip U, Informationsansvarig at Elite Hotel Adlon, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear guest,
thank you for taking your time and writing this review.

I am glad to hear that you found good value for your money here at Adlon. The location of the hotel is indeed very hard do beat. You are very correct regarding the slightly bigger single rooms, they are no longer bookable since they have been remade.

Have a great summer and I want to wish you a warm welcome back to Elite Hotel Adlon!

Best regards,
Filip Ullhag
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
#19 of 154 in Stockholm
870 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#16 of 154 in Stockholm
1,462 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#27 of 154 in Stockholm
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#35 of 154 in Stockholm
2,834 reviews
Östermalm
Elite Eden Park Hotel
Elite Eden Park Hotel
#13 of 154 in Stockholm
754 reviews
Norrmalm
Nordic Light Hotel
Nordic Light Hotel
#25 of 154 in Stockholm
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Hotel Adlon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Hotel Adlon

Address: Vasagatan 42, Stockholm 11120, Sweden (Formerly Adlon Hotell)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#42 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £100 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Hotel Adlon 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elite Hotel Adlons' location is perfect for a visit to Stockholm. We are a centrally located three star superior quality hotel. Easy to find whether you arrive by plane, train, bus or car. Stockholm Central Station, Arlanda Airport Express train, the central bus station and commuter trains are only minutes away and several inner-city buses stop directly outside our door. Once you are here, you are close to all of Stockholm's business and entertainment centers. Just around the corner is Stockholm's foremost shopping district and you're in walking distance to Old Town, City Hall and the Royal Palace.The charming 19th century building has been newly refurbished offering comfortable rooms and personal assistance from our staff. Enjoy the plentiful breakfast buffet and complementary Wi-Fi throughout the building. Why not work wireless in our lounge while enjoying something Swedish from our menu? The Elite Hotel Adlon displays a unique character and personalised service. All our rooms and public areas are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Elite Hotel Adlon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adlon Hotell Stockholm
Adlon Hotell Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing