We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roof over your head” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Norra Bantorget

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Scandic Norra Bantorget
Ranked #87 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Linköping, Ostergotlands Lan, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Roof over your head”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Good location, close to the city centre and the train station. Nicely decorated lobby and a tasty breakfast with healthy options.

Their web site tell about the rooms being designed with inspiration from the 50's and 60's OR newly designed rooms with a view over the roof tops of Stockholm. Well, I wonder where I ended up then... My room felt old and a bit worn, although clean. The view was a joke, all I could see from my window was a sloping roof and large pipes. Nothing else. There was a constant noise in the room, as if someone was having a shower. Woke me up during the night and I'm a person that usually sleeps through anything.

The chair is to low compared to the desk, so it's impossible to sit there and work. There was no wall socket close to the bed. There's no hair conditioner offered, and the shampoo smells weird. The shower has no 'pressure', as with many of the environmentally friendly but useless showers you find these days.

This was a room to (almost) sleep in and a roof over my head. Nothing more.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    320
    249
    74
    33
See reviews for
140
216
65
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vilnius
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I would call this hotel "Motel Scandic" because I felt like in the old motel. Room was good in size, clean but other things were unacceptable: elevator all the time was used by staff and I was waiting for 10 minutes for going to 4th floor to my room, breakfast terrible: avarage food with the few corn choices, scrambled eggs but uncleaned tables, no waiters and no space for sitting, brrrrr... I do not recomend this hotel for anybody because you will feel similar like staying in the train station which is not far from there...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lescol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wageningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Business Trip to Stockholm, two nights, superior room.

Everything was ok.

+ good hard beds
+ clean rooms
+ good breakfast buffet (although very busy@7am). The room to manoeuvre at breakfast is a little tight)
+ Location in the city.
+ friendly staff

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ourtimeisnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariehamn, Finland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

A nice hotel with a convinient and central location, close to City terminalen and City centre.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjarne_gallros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Average hotel located not far from central station and shopping street Drottninggatan. In my opinion most things here were ok/average. Nothing special and nothing negative either. Room was nice and clean. My room was quite spacious, but I know that other rooms are more normally sized. There were tv with channels for most kind of tastes and European nationalities. There's a minibar inside room, or should we say refrigerator since it's empty and for you to use and fill up (which is the solution I prefer by the way). There was ironing facilities inside the room, and there was also a deposit box. There was sufficient space for clothes in the wardrobe, and a table meant for luggage. The room had a nice desk where you could work. The bathroom was of ok standard but nothing special. There was a bar by the reception that was open at least until midnight. The bar also served food. The breakfast was average/good. Seen better and definitely seen worse. There's free wifi in the whole hotel (at least I had good reception in my room on 3rd floor).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

I used to live in Stockholm and therefore was quite picky about location but at the same time weary of the high price of quality accommodation Stockholm has to offer. This Scandic was perfect; right in the centre of Stockholm, walking distance to the central train station and to the shopping area.

The rooms are clean, well appointed and the breakfast was good (not fantastic but good anyway). I managed to book my room for August about two months in advance and choose a small single room for an amazing price of SEK 750 per night including breakfast given the quality and the location! The room was indeed small but well organised and I didn't mind sacrificing size for location and good price, especially as the comfort and quality was top. I also liked the convenience shop in the hotel by the reception although in that area it isn't hard to find small shops that are open late.

Room Tip: If you don't want to splash out and are travelling alone, pick the small room. I choose it as a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

I stayed at the Scandic Norra Bantorget for 2 nights in July and was very pleased.
Stockholm is not a cheap place for hotels but at €220 for b&b for the 2 of us for 2 nights I thought this was good value.
Our room was large, comfortable and very clean, containing everything you would expect; tv, refrigerator, hair-dryer etc.
Breakfast was a buffet which contained a huge variety of juices, hot and cold food, fruit, lovely breads; perfect!
Location is good, walking distance to everywhere ... the palace, gamla stan, train stations. Check-in and out went smoothly and the staff were friendly and professional.

All in all, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianneWims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Scandic Upplandsgatan
Scandic Upplandsgatan
#24 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#49 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Norrmalm
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#96 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#41 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Norrmalm
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bentleys
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bentleys
#89 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Klara
Scandic Klara
#69 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Norra Bantorget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Norra Bantorget

Property: Scandic Norra Bantorget
Address: 15 Wallingatan, Stockholm 111 24, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Norra Bantorget 3.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the central Stockholm hotel, Scandic Norra Bantorget, within walking distance of Stockholm's best shops, theatres and attractions. The hotel has a great location in Stockholm. The hotel is close to Stockholm's top sights, great shopping opportunities, popular restaurants, plenty of entertainment and more. The popular spa, Centralbadet, is located just around the corner from the hotel and Stockholm's Central Station with airport buses, trains and metro are within walking distance. At Scandic Norra Bantorget you can enjoy a delicious meal in our cosy restaurant or if you just want to relax with a drink, you are welcome to our bar. During summer, you can enjoy the sunshine from our terrace. Borrow walking poles and head out for a brisk walk around Stockholm, we also have bicycles for you to borrow in the hotel's reception. We offer free wireless Internet access in all hotel rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Scandic Norra Bantorget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Norra Bantorget Stockholm
Scandic Norra Bantorget Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing