We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My regular hotel as a business traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Norra Bantorget
Ranked #90 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“My regular hotel as a business traveler”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Sweden being the home of Scandic group has many Scandic hotels in Stockholm. This hotel Scandic Norra Bantorget is just 5 to 10 mins walk from the central station. Scandic also has a new hotel which is very close by to the central station which Grand Central. Since it is very new and very centrally located the price is of course a little higher than this hotel.

I'm a business traveler and I travel to Stockholm frequently for business. I'm using this hotel since almost 3 years now and I have been very comfortable here. I agree that the interiors a bit worn out and could use some renovations but still the benefits that I get being a frequent guest member are good. It central location, the price along with other regular Scandic member benefits are the reasons for my frequent visit to this hotel.

I normally book the Studios as they are located in another building they offer good privacy to business travelers like myself. My usual stay is for about 2 weeks at a time so I prefer to use the kitchen for making my own food.

I'm well acquainted with the staff, thanks to my frequent trips. The staff has been very welcoming and helpful. Special mention for Ellinor, Alex, Rachael, Emma. I'm very satisfied with service aspect.

Will still be using this hotel for my future trips to Stockholm

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    326
    259
    80
    34
See reviews for
145
220
67
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

As others have said, this is very mediocre. For those looking for a Scandic, there are several others nearby that are cleaner, in better shape and with better service. We made the mistake of booking a 'studio' but on arrival we were told it was a few minutes walk from the hotel (it was dark and sub zero outside). We asked if there were alternatives and were told that the hotel was fully booked. Having checked out the studio and finding it completely unacceptable we asked if we could check out the next day and only pay for the one night. Surprise, surprise an 'upgrade' room became miraculously available in the main hotel. We took it of course but wondered why this wasn't offered at the outset...we would have even paid the difference.
We like the Scandic group, it's a good standard and price for regular business travelers but we will never return to this one.

Room Tip: Avoid the studios....unlike you like a walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tdurnford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
324 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This hotel is located on a quiet street just behind Norra Bantorget in Stockholm. Its inferior to its new sibling hotel the Grand Central in the sense that the rooms are older, although renovated and the interior and restaurant area is quite small and cramped. I was located on floor 9 which from a location point of view was good in terms of quiteness, overlooking the Stockholm skyline with big windows. Getting to the 9th floor on the other hand was quite a trip, almost being in a maze. 2 elevators and quite a hike. Breakfast is normal Scandic breakfast which is good but not excellent. It is an ok hotel and I can recommend it for someone staying the night. Also, free WIFI is also a plus.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joachim73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This hotel is well located a few blocks North of central station. Close to major shopping areas.

I had a huge room, with a very large bathroom including a sauna which was nice. There is no pool or spa in the hotel. The room had wood floors, wooden furniture with a classic style, it was quiet.

Breakfast was Ok, but nothing special at all.

So in general it is a good alternative to what seems to be the more expensive Grand Scandic next to central station.

Tip: watch out if you get a cab from the airport, this is rather unusual but in Stockholm they have independant taxis that can pretty much charge you what they want ie a lot..... Grab a taxi marked Taxi Stockholm 15 00 00 and you should be Ok, or ride the Arlanda Express.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel for a few nights. Having asked for a family room, I have to say that it was very spacious with a lovely city view from the 7th floor. Let’s not insist on the lack of space in the breakfast area, others have mentioned it already, but I recommend that you have breakfast outside of rush hours, otherwise not only you will have to wait to get a table, but the common area looks more like a train station!

The main problem I encountered is that there was a bar/restaurant in the small square in Barnhusgatan (by the Conference Centre), with music going until midnight every day (and one a.m. on Saturday nights). I purchased ear foam, but it just did not help much... Another annoying thing is that my daughter forgot her Ipod in the room, and the housekeeper after a few days told me they did not "find" it. I know for a fact the thing was there, so I have drawn my own conclusions unfortunately.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel Norra Bantorget has a great location near the shopping street "Drottninggatan". The single room was convenient and had everything I needed. The lobby and restaurant had a nice design. The staff at the reception were helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This hotel is a 10 minute walk from the Arlanda Express which made it very convenient; while the lobby area is small, it is also very welcoming, with a library-themed sitting area and a glass-walled restaurant area. The Scandic has the top floors of a neighbouring conference facility, so you actually walk from one side of a city block to the other, within the hotel, to get to your room if you're lucky enough to snag one on the 8th or 9th floors, but the views are worth it, as is the size of the family superior with its walk in closet, great bunk beds (and as I am shorter than our 14 year old daughter, I slept in the bottom bunk and had a very, very comfortable night). We had an early flight, so missed the breakfast, but were given 4 "room service to go" bags with very healthy selections of fruit, drinkable yogurt (who knew strawberry lime could actually taste so good?), juice and muffin - perfect for the Arlanda Express journey back to the airport in the early morning!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth_KCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Scandic Upplandsgatan
Scandic Upplandsgatan
#27 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#52 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western & Hotel
Best Western & Hotel
#37 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#95 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western Hotel Bentleys
Best Western Hotel Bentleys
#89 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Klara
Scandic Klara
#69 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Norra Bantorget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Norra Bantorget

Property: Scandic Norra Bantorget
Address: 15 Wallingatan, Stockholm 111 24, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Norra Bantorget 3.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the central Stockholm hotel, Scandic Norra Bantorget, within walking distance of Stockholm's best shops, theatres and attractions. The hotel has a great location in Stockholm. The hotel is close to Stockholm's top sights, great shopping opportunities, popular restaurants, plenty of entertainment and more. The popular spa, Centralbadet, is located just around the corner from the hotel and Stockholm's Central Station with airport buses, trains and metro are within walking distance. At Scandic Norra Bantorget you can enjoy a delicious meal in our cosy restaurant or if you just want to relax with a drink, you are welcome to our bar. During summer, you can enjoy the sunshine from our terrace. Borrow walking poles and head out for a brisk walk around Stockholm, we also have bicycles for you to borrow in the hotel's reception. We offer free wireless Internet access in all hotel rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Scandic Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Norra Bantorget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Norra Bantorget Stockholm
Scandic Norra Bantorget Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing