We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A total rip off” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Klara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Scandic Klara
Ranked #69 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cambridgeshire, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A total rip off”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights on business. I knew that Scandanvian hotels (and everything else pretty much) were really expensive but nothing prepared me for what I got. £367 for a 2 night stay in a room that was literally like a student dorm...no, actually students are better treated these days! Breakfast was good and staff friendly but zero value for money apart from that. Do not stay here if you can help it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbug365_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    499
    274
    92
    33
See reviews for
144
346
99
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Friendly staff in reception. Room clean but very small. Nice bathroom, but low water presure in shower. Aircondition very, very noisy. I had to turn it off to be able to sleep. Breakfast was included and choise was exellent. Resturant crowdy with too many tables.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larswahlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I didn't have high hopes for my 1-night stay at this hotel. The reason was that i booked very late and chose a very central hotel with reasonable price.
Based on my expectations I was positively impressed with what I got. I had a double bed, so even if I asked for single in booking I might have ended up with a double one. I'm not sure though since the room was slightly smaller than usual scandinavian double rooms.
The room was modern with good lighting and modern equipment. Facilities in the room included tv with lots of channels, deposit box, ironing facilities, magasines, air-condition, wireless internet.
The bathroom was slightly small, but very clean and modern. There was a shower only (no bathtub).
The breakfast buffet was above average with a wide selection. The area by the breakfast was also very nice occupying the 2 lower floors of the inside atrium of the hotel.
The hotel is very close to Central station, Sergels torg and Drottninggatan. This means it's ideal for base for shopping & sightseeing. There are also many restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gothenburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Sure, Good location, but the street itself is not very nice with low-end pubs and a not very friendly crowd. the rooms are extraordinary small, the double bed is squeezed against the wall so that i had to climb over my fiance in order to get up. Well, in short, Stockholm is a great town but my weekend was disturbed by a bad hotel experience. There are plenty of hotels in the same price range but with much better comfort. i do not recommend this hotel to anyone. I was fooled by the hotel's good rating on tripadvisor. Can't understand how it got such a good rating. Even checked with the reception if i got left over room below normal standard. The answer was of course "no".

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gastropedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

A great hotel if you want convenience to walk the old town of Stockholm. Access to many, many treats in Stockholm. Clean, friendly and comfortable. A very good value in an expensive city.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bhardyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

I've stayed at Rica Hotels in Norway before and liked them. I assumed they had a quality standard. I was wrong. This hotel is old and run down. It is not worthy of the Rica label. It is in an excellent location and was priced at 1595SEK ($250US - which amazingly is a decent price in Stockholm in the summer).

The room was small and the bathroom was smaller. The room overlooked a busy shopping street and had some light. I thought it would be noisy, but it wasn't. They offer free wifi and breakfast was included.

This was the 4th hotel I've stayed at in Stockholm. It was by far the worst. Of course, it was by far the cheapest, so you get what you pay for. If you need a place near the Armanda Express or Central Station... this can do for one night (it's 10 minutes walking). If you need to stay longer, look elsewhere. You won't like it here for too long.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook a busy shopping st. I didn't find them noisy, but if you're worried ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

The hotel was very nice and the location was great! We were able to walk everywhere! The breakfast is included and it had a great spread of food! The room was a little small but it was enough room for three adults. There was free Wi-Fi in the hotel which was very nice. We were leaving early on the last day and the front desk even packed us a to-go breakfast! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#50 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#21 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Norrmalm
Haymarket by Scandic
Haymarket by Scandic
#32 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#30 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel Terminus Stockholm
Hotel Terminus Stockholm
#97 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#47 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Klara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Klara

Property: Scandic Klara
Address: Slojdgatan 7, Stockholm 111 57, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel Stockholm)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#48 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Klara 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Scandic Klara, and enjoy central Stockholm at its best city location. Our hotel is a popular meeting place with a newly renovated restaurant, meeting facilities and modern hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotelopia so you can book your Scandic Klara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Rica Hotel
Rica Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing