We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel...Amazing Breakfast!”
Review of Scandic Klara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Klara
Ranked #70 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cincinnati, OH
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel...Amazing Breakfast!”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed one night as part of a Silja cruise package. The hotel was in a perfect location, the rooms were nice, the desk staff very helpful, and the breakfast was GREAT!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cincytraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    554
    309
    103
    33
See reviews for
180
387
110
362
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff and a great breakfast make this a good choice in the heart of Stockholm. While not as close to Central Station as expected, still within walking distance even with luggage. Stayed on two separate nights in rooms that would be considered small but adequate. Comfortable bed with good facilities. Amount of timber including outward opening doors confirmed we were in Sweden.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hameenkuja 2 b 30
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Rica hotel Stockholm has a wonderful location right in the middle of Stockholm,you are near of all the sights and the underground is just round the corner.
The reception was friendly and effective and our room was ready though we arrived quite early.The only thing we were not aware of was that the hotel had no ordinary twins and we had to pay extra for our twin.
The room was well decorated and big enough for two. So was the bathroom which was clean and well organised with a small supply of bathroom things.
The only thing (which we did not know) that bothered us a little was that the hotel was completely alcohol-free(no dining with wine and no beer in the mini-fridge.)

Room Tip: The doubles are quite small-- pick a twin if you don´t mind extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eki123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Stayed in a superior room for 2 nights

It is centrally located so most of the tourists spots are within walking distance. (e.g Skansen, Vasa musee) I was stupid enough to take a taxi when we checked-in...which was totally unnecessary since the airport bus took you to the Central station and from there it's only 5-minute walk to the hotel!

It is not a big room but space is adequate , it's not cheap either but i think the price is fair in this expensive city. The bed was comfy and it's quiet (just a bit of wind during the night) though our room was facing the street.

Also like the breakfast with a variety of choices from the buffet, can definitely skip lunch after breakfast.

Don't forget to check out the candy shop next door!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catling55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This Rica couldn't be more centrally located: in Stockholm's main shopping area (Drottninggatan), in walking distance from Central Station (and the bus station with buses from airports Arlanda and Bromma), near the lively Hötorget-square. Its single rooms are extremely small (they reminded me of monk-cells in a monastery), but contrary to those they are nicely designed and have all the necessary fixtures and fittings, including a well-stocked and not too expensive basket full of 'nibbles'. For the fridge the same applies as for the rest of the hotel: bring your own alcohol if you like a drink. As the hotel-building is owned by the Salvation Army: only light beer and alcoholfree wine are served. Yuk! So, no nice bar to get together for a nightcap (or several) with friends and business partners. But then there are lot of nice watering holes nearby. Breakfast -in the airy atrium- is a well-stocked delight. Lunch (three choices a day) is nice and reasonably priced. Staff are pleasant, though sometimes not particularly focused. Another plus: free WiFi in the entire hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaxiFaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Once upon a time there was a 4 stars hotel... now ugly and very small rooms, and no way to regulate heat system (cold!). Bathroom? In style, ugly and small. Breakfast: in a small, crowded room near toilet back of reception but food and choice was good. Hotel needs a full and fast renovation Now looks completely overpriced despite good central location.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sar1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

Turku, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I've stayed at Rica Stockholm three times now, and I'm genuinely looking forward to my next stay. With the exception of somewhat inexperienced, fumbling staff at the reception, I find it hard to come up with anything negative to say about this hotel. The rooms are clean, quiet, comfortable, and spacious enough (Standard twin room). The location is awesome -- can't really get any more central than this. As a bonus, the hotel chain's own line of hygiene products smell absolutely wonderful :)

The breakfast at Rica is one of the most enjoyable I've ever experienced: the food itself is excellent, the restaurant is really nice and calm (especially upstairs in the atrium, which has its own serving area), it's never been overly crowded, the staff is very friendly and helpful, waitresses serve coffee refills to the tables... it's almost a therapeutic experience, compared, for instance, to the stressful breakfast-warzones at Scandic hotels.

On our first stay at Rica, we had to wait to 4 PM until we got our room, for some reason. I guess you might want to confirm your check in time when you book, in case you need your room before that. The other times we've gotten it straight away when we've arrived early in the morning, so perhaps it was just a fluke.

Overall, the only real downside is the lack of a bar, or any form of alcohol serving whatsoever at the hotel. On the other hand, it's in the middle of the city, so the nearest bar is only about a block away...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RSmeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#19 of 154 in Stockholm
1,255 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#45 of 154 in Stockholm
1,517 reviews
Norrmalm
Haymarket by Scandic
Haymarket by Scandic
#37 of 154 in Stockholm
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#31 of 154 in Stockholm
1,011 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#44 of 154 in Stockholm
1,815 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#39 of 154 in Stockholm
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Klara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Klara

Property: Scandic Klara
Address: 7 Sloejdgatan, Stockholm 111 57, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel Stockholm)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#49 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Klara 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Scandic Klara, and enjoy central Stockholm at its best city location. Our hotel is a popular meeting place with a newly renovated restaurant, meeting facilities and modern hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Klara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Rica Hotel
Rica Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing