We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay in exelent location.”
Review of Scandic Klara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Klara
Ranked #69 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We first went to the other nearby Rica hotel.
Fortunatly we ended up at this hotel. Friendly personel and very easy check in and out.
Rooms are well equiped with refridgerator and minibar.
Location is exelent in very central position.
Breakfast was real nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matsjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,275)
There are newer reviews for Scandic Klara
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 330 of 1,275 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

The lobby and the breakfast area is newly rebuilt. The result? Awesome! The lobby is cozy and you can easily spend some hours in the lobby, having a coffee or a sandwich at the lobby café. The breakfast area is also a huge improvement! The breakfast itself is really really good. A huge variety of food as well as beverages.

I got a room that was a bit worn out, so I think the hotel needs to renovate the rooms pretty soon. It feels a bit 1980's (and not in a good way). The gym is rather small, but functional, very fresh and the equipment is very good as well.

All in all, Rica Stockholm is a very good hotel. The staff is service minded and the location is just amazing. You have everything nearby.

Room Tip: if possible, ask for a room away from Drottninggatan, as it can be a bit noisy with street musicians...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobias V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Rica Stockholm has recently been renovated, and the hotel itself looks really good. Some of the rooms are awful though. Both me and a colleague got rooms with tiny tiny windows looking out on a patio floor... Anyone in the patio can look down into your room (although the window is so small they probably won't see much...).

The prices are pretty hefty: 2000 SEK per room, and the standard really doesn't live up to it.

Avoid first floor rooms if you can, in case they are anything like room 143.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank ebben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraWiberg, Rooms Division Manager at Scandic Klara, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

I'm sorry to hear that You did not like our rooms. Room 143 that You were staying in has a normal sized window as in all our rooms but that room is a little dark since it is facing the courtyard.

The hotel has put some flowers outside the window so that one should not get too much disturbed by the guests out in the courtyard.

Of course we also have rooms facing the outside. Next time You come to us You could request for a room not facing the courtyard.

During 2012 and 2013 we have renovated the public areas of the hotel and we are hoping to be able to start renovating our rooms as well in a near future.

Kind Regards,

Sara Wiberg
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The nice thing about this hotel is that it is centrally located (and not far from the central station /Arlanda Express). The rooms are not so big but they are comfortable (also soft bed) and clean. I was lucky to have a room with a window facing the Drottninggatan (no cars allowed in this street). So, during the night, it is quiet and it is possible to open the window. However, later I noticed that there are also many rooms facing the breakfast area (courtyard or atrium). In that case, you can expect a lot of noise and light and opening the window would not be an option. If I would have obtained such a room, I would have tried to change immediately. The breakfast is good but not exceptional (especially not in view of the high price of this hotel).

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Drottninggatan (street)
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snorkelingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

A good, centrally located hotel with good facilities, helpful friendly staff.
You could not get a better hotel in central Stockholm. Everything is in easy walking distance, and the bars and restaurants are plentiful

Room Tip: Get one away from the breakfast room on 1st floor, as it gets busy at weekends.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roytheroady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraWiberg, Rooms Divison Manager at Scandic Klara, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

I'm glad to hear that!

Welcome back!

Kind Regards,

Sara Wiberg
Rooms Divison Manager
Rica Hotel Stockholm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Arrived at 1.00 am to find that they had given my colleague's pre-paid room to somebody else. I was not impressed with the way they handled it. Did not really seem sorry or made any attempt to contact us in advance to make alternative arrangements.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClauClau82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraWiberg, Rooms Divison Manager at Scandic Klara, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

I'm sorry to hear about Your stay.

Please contact me at sara.wiberg@rica.se with some more details and I will look into what happened.

Kind Regards,

Sara Wiberg
Rooms Division Manager
Rica Hotel Stockholm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Breakfast was great and the position is strategic both to Arlanda Express station and to the city center, walking distance from both. End of the positive aspects...

Talking about negative, the rooms are small. Be aware that the internal rooms at first floor have the windows that litterally face the feet of people in breakfast room/courtyard. The room we were given was horrible!!! Even if it was at first floor, the window was literally facing the feet of people having breakfast in the hall, that has been obtained in the covered inner courtyard, which floor has been raised. Moreover (we discovered this during the following days) it was close to the music speakers so... no privacy and no quiet! Please look at the picture to better understand...

As soon as we entered into the room we went back to reception. We had to longly argue with the staff to have it changed, they wanted to charge us for a "premium" fee for the change. After discussing with the supervisor, at last we were given another room, at 3rd floor. The bed was smaller (french size, 140cm) but at least the room was quiet. Reading another review about this hotel, I fear that booking.com customers are some sort of b-class. We paid for a standard room and we were given a less-than-budget room, same situation.

Hotel very expensive compared to other similar places.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor rooms that have windows in inner courtyard.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
3  Thank Valerio_1980_RM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#46 of 154 in Stockholm
1,553 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#17 of 154 in Stockholm
1,303 reviews
Norrmalm
Haymarket by Scandic
Haymarket by Scandic
#38 of 154 in Stockholm
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#27 of 154 in Stockholm
1,069 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#48 of 154 in Stockholm
1,861 reviews
Norrmalm
Hobo
Hobo
#25 of 154 in Stockholm
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Klara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Klara

Address: 7 Sloejdgatan, Stockholm 111 57, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel Stockholm)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#49 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £100 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Klara 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Scandic Klara, and enjoy central Stockholm at its best city location. Our hotel is a popular meeting place with a newly renovated restaurant, meeting facilities and modern hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scandic Klara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Rica Hotel
Rica Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing