We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Hotel Tegnerlunden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tegnerlunden
Ranked #44 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This was my favorite hotel on our Scandinavian trip. It is about ten walkable (though uphill) blocks from the train station; and three blocks from a pedestrian street area. The tourist canal area is a few blocks (the other way) from the train station, so we found walking to there from the hotel very doable. We lucked into a corner room on the sixth floor overlooking the park. Though the room was on the smallish side, it did not feel at all that way with two very big windows. The room was very clean and the decor was a wonderful touch (Scandinavian provincial?). The bathroom was small but doable. Overall the room had a really nice feel to it.
The breakfast buffet was very good, and continually replenished.
Best of all we were able to stay Friday and Saturday (Aug. 24 and 25) through their City Package, which made the experience affordable.
Should I find myself in Stockholm again you can bet I will be revisitng this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 889 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2012

From outside the hotel looks unimpressive but the location is quiet, next to small park and near the shopping streat Drottninggatan. Rooms and bath room are quiet small and equipped in ikea-style. There is a writing desk and a really small locker which lasts only for a two or three day trip. There is no satellite-TV just swedish channels and no safe. The bath room is tiny and can only be used by two persons if one is in the shower. Breakfast is served on the toop floor with view over the roofs of Stockholm. The dining room is equipped without love and charme. Breakfast buffet is quite simple with juice from the automate and water for tea or coffee from thermos jug. If you need soya-milk, lactose-free milk or gluten-free (but not wheatfree) bread ask at the reception and they will provide it for breakfast. Altogether this hotel is fine for a trip of three or four days but not longer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iweber13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The Tegnerlunden is a good no frills hotel that is conveniently located at the beginning of one of Stockholm’s main pedestrian streets. Very good quality for money but don’t expect luxury: the rooms are ikea style and even the shampoo is an extra. All in all a good address in Stockholm.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vitt71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My mum and I stayed here for 3 days and were pleasantly surprised with the Tegnerlunden hotel. As this was our first trip to Stockholm we were unfamiliar with the city layout and worried we may be too far from the city proper. Our fears were unfounded when we discovered we were at the city's doorstep.

Drottninggatan (a shopping and dining strip) is less than 2 mins from the hotel and we found the walk to the "centre" (train/bus terminal area) an easy 10 mins away. Its also only 30mins to the centre of Gamla Stan by foot and we found this preferable to taxi's (due to the cost factor) or by tunnelbanna (as there was much more to see and absorb by walking).

The hotel had a lovely decorated room and was a manageable size for 2 people. We were lucky to have a view of the park and found there to be not disturbing street noise at all. Breakfast was nice and the dining room on the 6th floor looking out to the Stockholm skyline was a treat.

The staff were extra helpful and spoke perfect English (just like the majority of Stockholmers).

A lovely first visit to Stockholm!

TIP - the ice bar at the Nordic Sea Hotel was a tonne of fun and definitely a novelty to enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kirsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I stayed here over Easter which I would not recommend that time of year, as a lot of things are closed in the city! Due to the closures of everything I had to spend a lot of time in at the hotel....
Upon arrival we found the hotel fairly easily and discovered how close we were to the centre. The hotel is in fact a 2 minute walk from the main shopping district of Stockholm: Drottninggatan. They also have plenty of restaurants and cafe's nearby which is great - we went to an amazing Italian nearby and had one of the best Italian meals ever! We were a 10 minute walk up the hill from the train station/Arlanda Express which was great and very convenient. I thought the room was a little small and I was really disappointed that the room didn't come with a bath (just a shower) as this would have been a fantastic plus to the room. The room was clean and perfectly functional and had a few English TV channels to watch which was also good!
The breakfast was fantastic, plenty of choice; meat, cereal, fruit, toast maker, coffee/tea maker, yoghurts and all in a nice space to eat. As with most breakfasts I would say to get down early - we came down late to find not much choice and not much hope of anything being bought out.
Overall I stayed here at a bad time of year which is why I don't have more positive things to say, but the hotel has an unbeatable location at a great price and I would thoroughly recommend the hotel to all!

Room Tip: Request a nice view - I overlooked residential flats behind the hotel which I didn't like!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vicki52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

It's a very nice, clean hotel. Centrally located, 2 minutes walk from the main shopping street- many restaurants around as well. Friendly staff, good breakfast. Good value for money, would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Salvador74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

On arrival reception staff very pleasant. Requested corner room and though room was not ready as we arrived eleven o'clock we were able to leave our cases in luggage room. Room lovely though bathroom could be doing with update. Breakfast was simple but very good only hot dish was baked eggs but they were lovely. Would definitely stay here again if returning to Stockholm.

Room Tip: Request corner room which was light and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivyforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Vasastan
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
#32 of 155 in Stockholm
666 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Birger Jarl
Hotel Birger Jarl
#51 of 155 in Stockholm
1,598 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#54 of 155 in Stockholm
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Scandic Upplandsgatan
Scandic Upplandsgatan
#35 of 155 in Stockholm
502 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#18 of 155 in Stockholm
1,397 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#47 of 155 in Stockholm
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tegnerlunden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tegnerlunden

Address: 8 Tegnerlunden, Stockholm 113 59, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#22 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £70 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tegnerlunden 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tegnerlunden is located next to the tranquillity of the Tegnerlunden park, and yet only a block away from Stockholm's busiest shopping street, that will take you through Stockholm city down to the Old Town. The hotel has during the last few years gone thru an extensive renovation where all 102 hotel rooms and lobby area now have light and fresh furnishing. The whole hotel is non-smoking and has access to free wireless internet. You can enjoy your breakfast in the light, airy rooftop breakfast room. Lobby bar, mini-gym and garage. Welcome to Hotel Tegnerlunden! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tegnerlunden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tegnerlunden Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing