We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business and pleasure”
Review of Hotel Tegnerlunden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tegnerlunden
Ranked #43 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Spent 4 days in Stockholm at this hotel. Very friendly helpful staff always willing to give good advice. The bar is friendly and a good place to unwind just a little before bedtime. The room was on the 5th floor and I'll admit it was a bit cramped for a couple, but the beds were good, everything clean and in working order. We had (free) wifi all over the hotel and besides some occasional freezes it worked well enough. Breakfast was good in a spacey large windowed room on the top floor. This might make it noisy for guests on this floor... but no complaints on the 5th floor, even next to the elevator. Overall: good location, good value for money and minus 1 star for the tiny room I had. It'd have been fine if I was alone, but for 2 it was cramped.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MartimW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (860)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tegnerlunden
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 860 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Very late review: stayed there 29 Mar - 1 Apr. We landed at night and were tired so at the start we weren't so sure about the place. It was about 15min walk from Central train station and lugging our baggage behind us uphill wasn't that fun. But check in was pleasant - Per, the front desk manager was very welcoming and we had a wonderfully spacious room on the top floor overlooking the park. It was an odd hour about 9pm but we hadn't had dinner so we asked Per for a recommendation and bless him, he directed us to Restaurant Knut down the road. He also kindly called ahead (unbeknownst to us) as we were walking down and so we were met with smiles from the restaurant staff. The recommendation was spot on (and we ended up eating 2 more meals there - A definite must try for beautiful Swedish dishes). Thank you, Per!

The next day revealed how perfectly located the hotel is. The park across the street from the hotel seemed ominous at night but is actually quite lovely with many locals enjoying a sit in the sun or dog walking. Turn around 2 corners and we were smack at the start of Drottninggatan (Queen's Street), Stockholm's main shopping street. Walk down the main street and it links all the way down to Gamla Stan and the river and Fotografiska, a photography museum with spectacular views of the river. Take off to the sides along Drottninggatan and it connects to Birger Jarlsgatan. Every turn never failed to have a café or shops...so it was just lovely to walk and explore.

We enjoyed the room and breakfast is served at the dining room, end of the hallway on the same floor. Breakfast buffet spread was generous with various cheeses, cold cuts, bread, cereal, fruit and one hot dish, usually eggs of some sort all served in the dining room that's naturally lit with its double paned windows. The little sitting area at the lobby is a lovely nook to plan the day before setting out.

As mentioned, it's 15mins away from the Central Station and walk another minute on the opp side of the station (at Vasagatan 18) we caught the Ikea shuttle bus to Ikea Kungens Kurva. (Incidentally, we noticed that this Ikea is located in an area with many outlet malls, including a soon to be open H&M outlet mall) Again, another convenience of the hotel.

Overall, we would come back to the hotel when visiting again...and I would imagine it being even lovelier in spring and summer.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor rooms overlooking the park.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SingaporeStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Hotel Tegnerlunden is a nice hotel that is within close proximity to many attractions. The shopping street, Drottninggatan (sp?), that leads directly to Gamla Stan is a stones throw from the hotel. The rooms are of decent size by European standards. Breakfast is standard fare as well, nice venue. Nice playground opposite the hotel for children. Negatives include no fridge in the room (though you can store in the fridge at reception), and wifi was in and out at times. Be prepared for a hike if walking from central station, gradual incline for about 3/4 of a mile.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

It is a 15' walk from the central station. All features are OK for its category. The road is upward sloping towards the hotel, so be careful with carrying heavy luggage if you are on foot. The Breakfast restaurant is simple and the breakfast simple as well, but all clean and OK.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The2ndMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I was lucky enough to find this hotel in a deal at £55 a night for a single room, incl. breakfast. This is really cheap for Stockholm, so I was surprised how nice the hotel was and would happily stay there again. It is plain and simple in the Swedish style, but with everything you need as the other reviews have said. I did get a taxi from the station as I had a big case, and it was £10 but worth it. The hotel is in a secluded square and very quiet. It has a nice bar which also serves snacks like toasted sandwiches, which are great - even the wine was nice, and the staff were unfailingly helpful. Breakfast was also surprisingly good, with cooked eggs and a big choice of other things. Everything worked well. I don't have any criticisms. There are bus stops nearby and the metro is about 5-10 min walk. Buy a 24 or 72 hour pass, which works on all the transport except the Arlanda Express.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bowbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed here for three nights with my teenage daughter. This is a good little hotel, slightly off the beaten path but with very good value for the money.

It is located on a small residential circle, near a park. Yes, it is a ten minute walk from the train station. I would just caution though that if you have a lot of luggage, then there is a slight hilly incline that you have to walk from the station. It is very quiet at night.

For two of us, we found the room spacious enough. Compared to other smaller rooms that I've seen in other areas of Europe, the room was really quite big. We had two big suitcases and still had plenty of room.

The bathroom is small but efficient. Love the heated towel rack, handy if your clothes get wet in the rain (as ours did!). The breakfast room, located on the sixth floor, is bright and quite big. Nice views from there. Plenty of selection for breakfast: breads, cheeses, meat, yogurt, cereal, eggs.....great way to start the day and it's included.

The hotel is well located. You can walk right onto Droggninggatan - one of the main shopping streets - only about a two minute walk from the hotel. We walked all the way down to the old town in approximately 15-20 minutes. We found a few good restaurants in the area. De Peppe is an excellent Italian restaurant within a five minute walk along Upplandsgatan. Queen's Head Pub is at the corner of Droggninggatan. Both are quite good.

Overall, great value for the money. I almost booked other hotels, located closer to the train station - I'm glad I didn't. This hotel is quieter than those and for the slight difference in distance, very worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mortyatport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel is located 10 min from the Central Station, you can easily walk there. Not far from Drottninggatan shopping street. Lots of small restaurants in the area. Great staff at the reception desk, very helpful. Large and bright rooms. Breakfast adequate, would have liked some more fruit and berries. Good value. Would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanochBarbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Vasastan
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
#35 of 154 in Stockholm
620 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#17 of 154 in Stockholm
1,298 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Birger Jarl
Hotel Birger Jarl
#52 of 154 in Stockholm
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#45 of 154 in Stockholm
1,551 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Upplandsgatan
Scandic Upplandsgatan
#28 of 154 in Stockholm
470 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#44 of 154 in Stockholm
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tegnerlunden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tegnerlunden

Address: 8 Tegnerlunden, Stockholm 113 59, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#22 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £100 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tegnerlunden 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tegnerlunden is located next to the tranquillity of the Tegnerlunden park, and yet only a block away from Stockholm's busiest shopping street, that will take you through Stockholm city down to the Old Town. The hotel has during the last few years gone thru an extensive renovation where all 102 hotel rooms and lobby area now have light and fresh furnishing. The whole hotel is non-smoking and has access to free wireless internet. You can enjoy your breakfast in the light, airy rooftop breakfast room. Lobby bar, mini-gym and garage. Welcome to Hotel Tegnerlunden! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tegnerlunden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tegnerlunden Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing