We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Tegnerlunden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tegnerlunden
Ranked #41 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A nice hotel”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel only for a night, but were satisfied. The price was moderate and we got (almost) everything we needed.
The hotel doesn't look too nice from the outside, it used to be an apartment building, but the location is really good - there is a nice little park nearby and it's only a couple of minutes walk away from Drottninggatan (even though from the other end of it, so it takes a little while to get to the old town and the castle, but I guess one would anyway take this walk to explore the area). The staff wasn't particularly nice, but I guess it was okay on the Nordic scale.
The room itself was nice and simple, very Nordic as well. It wasn't too small, but still it didn't seem as big as it actually was because a relatively significant part was taken by the anteroom which had no other purpose than having a large closet in it. The bathroom was tiny but functional, except the shower. The number of (non-Swedish) TV channels was limited. The bed was really comfy and we had a good night sleep, no disturbance at all.
The breakfast was nice, the food selection was okay, I especially enjoyed different types of Swedish bread. The selection of cereals was very limited though, but then again they had fresh fruits to make up for it.
Altogether it was a pleasant stay and it is certainly a good place for a city trip to Stockholm.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unelma333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    460
    118
    17
    3
See reviews for
114
377
64
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

It may not be much to look at from the outside, but this hotel is excellent - fresh modern decor, everything you could want in the rooms, and amazing breakfast buffet included in the price, right in front of a beautiful little park. Comfortable bed, free wi-fi, nice bathrooms, great in-room facilities (tea, coffee, cable TV etc).

For the location, and the price, and the excellent service, I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone looking to stay somewhere central-ish in Stockholm.

My partner has to visit often for work, and she was so impressed by this place that she's now booking here whenever she has to come.

Room Tip: The higher up you go, the better the view over the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the Arlanda Express exit from the central railway station. It is also very close to the top end of Drottningattan, the pedestrian street that runs all the way to Gamla Stan Island. A group of us were there to support friend running marathon, so we chose this end of town to be closer to start/finish at the stadium. Even so, we did not feel that we were too far from downtown or Gamla Stan. Room was pleasant, with simple décor and mine had a view over the square, which was nice and there is little or no street noise. Breakfast was plentiful, but a bit light on hot dishes for those who are fans of English-style cooked Breakfast (but this is Stockholm of course, not England). A small fridge would be a welcome addition, otherwise it's an excellent mix of comfort and value.

Room Tip: I was told (but did not see) that the rooms overlooking the square are a little bigger than those ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterC489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holen Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

A nice place to stay. It is situated only a short walk from the senter of Stockholm. A very ice breakfast-room on the top floor. A good view from this room. The surroundings are quiet. No street noice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorsteinHolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sintra, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Spent 4 days in Stockholm at this hotel. Very friendly helpful staff always willing to give good advice. The bar is friendly and a good place to unwind just a little before bedtime. The room was on the 5th floor and I'll admit it was a bit cramped for a couple, but the beds were good, everything clean and in working order. We had (free) wifi all over the hotel and besides some occasional freezes it worked well enough. Breakfast was good in a spacey large windowed room on the top floor. This might make it noisy for guests on this floor... but no complaints on the 5th floor, even next to the elevator. Overall: good location, good value for money and minus 1 star for the tiny room I had. It'd have been fine if I was alone, but for 2 it was cramped.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MartimW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Very late review: stayed there 29 Mar - 1 Apr. We landed at night and were tired so at the start we weren't so sure about the place. It was about 15min walk from Central train station and lugging our baggage behind us uphill wasn't that fun. But check in was pleasant - Per, the front desk manager was very welcoming and we had a wonderfully spacious room on the top floor overlooking the park. It was an odd hour about 9pm but we hadn't had dinner so we asked Per for a recommendation and bless him, he directed us to Restaurant Knut down the road. He also kindly called ahead (unbeknownst to us) as we were walking down and so we were met with smiles from the restaurant staff. The recommendation was spot on (and we ended up eating 2 more meals there - A definite must try for beautiful Swedish dishes). Thank you, Per!

The next day revealed how perfectly located the hotel is. The park across the street from the hotel seemed ominous at night but is actually quite lovely with many locals enjoying a sit in the sun or dog walking. Turn around 2 corners and we were smack at the start of Drottninggatan (Queen's Street), Stockholm's main shopping street. Walk down the main street and it links all the way down to Gamla Stan and the river and Fotografiska, a photography museum with spectacular views of the river. Take off to the sides along Drottninggatan and it connects to Birger Jarlsgatan. Every turn never failed to have a café or shops...so it was just lovely to walk and explore.

We enjoyed the room and breakfast is served at the dining room, end of the hallway on the same floor. Breakfast buffet spread was generous with various cheeses, cold cuts, bread, cereal, fruit and one hot dish, usually eggs of some sort all served in the dining room that's naturally lit with its double paned windows. The little sitting area at the lobby is a lovely nook to plan the day before setting out.

As mentioned, it's 15mins away from the Central Station and walk another minute on the opp side of the station (at Vasagatan 18) we caught the Ikea shuttle bus to Ikea Kungens Kurva. (Incidentally, we noticed that this Ikea is located in an area with many outlet malls, including a soon to be open H&M outlet mall) Again, another convenience of the hotel.

Overall, we would come back to the hotel when visiting again...and I would imagine it being even lovelier in spring and summer.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor rooms overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SingaporeStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Vasastan
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
#26 of 154 in Stockholm
585 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Birger Jarl
Hotel Birger Jarl
#51 of 154 in Stockholm
1,541 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 154 in Stockholm
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Hotel With Urban Deli
Hotel With Urban Deli
#32 of 154 in Stockholm
193 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#38 of 154 in Stockholm
362 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Upplandsgatan
Scandic Upplandsgatan
#30 of 154 in Stockholm
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tegnerlunden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tegnerlunden

Property: Hotel Tegnerlunden
Address: 8 Tegnerlunden, Stockholm 113 59, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#22 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tegnerlunden 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tegnerlunden is located next to the tranquillity of the Tegnerlunden park, and yet only a block away from Stockholm's busiest shopping street, that will take you through Stockholm city down to the Old Town. The hotel has during the last few years gone thru an extensive renovation where all 102 hotel rooms and lobby area now have light and fresh furnishing. The whole hotel is non-smoking and has access to free wireless internet. You can enjoy your breakfast in the light, airy rooftop breakfast room. Lobby bar, mini-gym and garage. Welcome to Hotel Tegnerlunden! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tegnerlunden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tegnerlunden Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing