We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable price, nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Langholmen Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Langholmen Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Reasonable price, nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I've stayed there for 6 nights in July 2013. I really liked my room which was a former prison cell- so very interesting experience. The room was a good size and clean. I brought my own bedding and towel, so have saved a bit. But you can rent it there as well.
The hostel is on Langholmen island, about 10-15 minutes walking distance to the nearest subway stop. But it's very quit there and you can go for a nice walk in the evening or enjoy sunset on the little beach (which is about 100 meters from the hostel).
There is also a small museum where people can read an interesting stories and see original things from the former Langholmen prison. It's free for hostel guests.
The only thing didn't like- it was too hot in the room during the night and I couldn't open the window (it was locked).
The hostel also has washer and dryer. Tourists also can use the kitchen for a small deposit if they want to prepare some food.

Room Tip: Bring your own bedding and towel- you'll save a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RegVys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    89
    19
    6
    0
See reviews for
28
62
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
42660
Level Contributor
203 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We have stayed there 5 nights this time (first time was 5 years ago) and we have been pleased again by the hostel, his team.
Langholmen island is not really in the the center of Stockholm, it is +/- 30 minutes by feet from old city Gamla Stan but there is a subway station closed (Hornstull) to the hostel and a city bikes point. Langholmen is a quiet and popular place in Stockholm where you can swim (there is a beach) and practice kayak.
Don't hesitate to take the breakfast (continental) which is complete and prepare yourself for a good sightseeing day.

Room Tip: "Jails" which are located on the west side are a little bit more noisy. Jails numbers betw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojo42660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a great stay. The hostel is a little bit out of the town centre (nearest subway stop was Hornstull) and then a five minute walk from there, but this was quite nice to retire back to in the evening.

The hostel itself is great. Check-in was easy and the staff were very friendly and spoke exceptional english. Our room was a 'double' though this consisted of a bunk bed and was in one of the old cells. The room is a good size (given it was a cell) and the bathroom was also very good and had an excellent shower. The only down side was the bed, the matress on the top bunk was a bit soft/thin and after a few hours wasnt that comfortable. Also the sea-guls outside kick off really early, so if you are a light sleeper this might be annoying.

The kitchen is fantastic. I think it has been updated recently as it had very modern electric hobs, 3 microwaves and tea/coffee facilities and a good set of pots/pans etc.

Outside the hostel is the beach which was really popular and there is plenty of room around the outside of the hostel for picnics in the sunshine.

A great place to stay, I'd definitely recommend it despite a couple of small issues.

Room Tip: Choose a high room for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Once you get over the size of your room - it was a former prison cell after all - you'll find that it is really atmospheric. Very clean as well. And I love the island on which it is located - nice walks, beach cove. relaxing cafes. After an evening walk in the rain, i sat in the central hallway just outside my 'cell' to soak up the atmopshere, then went to sleep to the calls of seagulls and woke up to a lovely lush breakfast buffet.
And the location is not even remote. The nearest Tunnelbahn station Hornstull is a mere four stops from Slussen and five stops from Central. And the station is full of good shops, food outlets, etc. I'd seriously consider prison again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ming W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Simple - clean - fun as different - I stayed in the hostel part - single room two bunks. The rooms are small but functional - I was only looking to sleep and shower in the room and it did the job very well. Shower was good - plenty of hot water. Safe in the room, place to hang clothes etc as long as you're not looking to hang a huge wardrobe full.

A little bit of noise as I had the window open as it was warm - people coming and going etc on the gravel paths - but not a big problem. The walk was about 5 mins for me to the metro, slight incline back to the hotel might be a concern if you struggle with mobility but no problem if walking is fine. I didn't wait more than 4 minutes across the whole weekend for a train - only 4 short stops to the Central Station.
The price of the hostel was good.. Stockholm has got VERY expensive for a UK traveler though, especially eating out, so care is needed when eating if you want to stay within a budget.

I'd stay at the Langholmen hostel again - good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TK-Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bergen county NJ
Level Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed at the Prison hostel for two nights. We were lucky enough to get "cells" in the middle of the museum which was both a little creepy and neat. The island that the hostel is on is beautiful. There is a small beach, area with boats where you can rent a canoe and everything. It is not in the middle of the city but you walk about 10-15 minutes from the hostel to the bus/subway stop and you can easily get into any place you want. The hostel had a restaurant, a book exchange, free wi fi, a computer to use and you could rent linens. The island had lots of public areas to walk around in, it was a nice break from being in the major city.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovinparadise314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed in the hostel for three nights with a family of five o.w. three smaller children. It has a great atmosphere I.e. a former prison. Rooms are basic and not large but just what you need to visit Stockholm. Staff are nice if not too experienced. Breakfast not worth it though. A plus is that there is a nice small beach 50 meters from the hotel if the weather is good.

Room Tip: Small rooms are very small (prison cell!) so a room for four is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stef_VL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#8 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Hornstull & Langholmen
Langholmen Hotell
Langholmen Hotell
#78 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#92 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Vasastan
Hostel Dalagatan
Hostel Dalagatan
#6 of 62 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langholmen Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langholmen Hostel

Property: Langholmen Hostel
Address: 20 Laangholmsmuren | Box 9116, Stockholm 117 33, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Hornstull & Langholmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Langholmen Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langholmen Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langholmen Hotel Stockholm
Langholmen Hotel Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing