We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for claustrofobic ;-)”
Review of Langholmen Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Langholmen Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The area is a little bit off track, but in the summer this is just good since it's located in an area where you just want to sit outside in the nature and relax. Along the island there are numeral places to sit and have a picnic and to swim.
So how is the Långholmen hostel? It's very nice, clean and great service - although if you have a slight claustrophobia like I have it's a little downside to it since you you'll sleep in a real cell. Very very high standard but it's a cell - sorry! If you don't have a problem with it - just go and especially in the summer!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattsaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for Langholmen Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed in the Langholmen Hostel for two nights and were slightly apprehensive because of the word "hostel" - but it's not really a hostel at all if you book your own ensuite private room. Admittedly, the room is small, but that - and the bunk beds - just adds to the prison atmosphere. They are clean and modern but have retained their cell "feel". The ensuite has been converted from half the adjacent cell and again was airy and bright. Our room was on the 4th floor, and we had a good quiet night's sleep. The breakfast buffet was great with a huge range of hot and cold food, but try to avoid peak serving times, as it gets incredibly busy. To sum up, despite the hostel being a bit out of the way (about an hour walk to the Old Town), this is a great place to stay, it's cheap (for Stockholm) and its really interesting!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank eeeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay, nice hostel, clean, and really cool concept. Bit pricey, but so is everything, so that's fine. Location is on a beautiful island, short walk to nearest tube. I didn't find many cafés or shops around but I wasn't really looking either. Overall was cool, would stay again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Reka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night in a single room at the Langholmen Hostel, and it was super cool. Decent price, nice bathroom, clean, and that little bit of extra charm - who wouldn't love sleeping in a renovated prison? But seriously, the place is tops. The breakfast buffet had a good variety of food on offer, and good quality too. I had minor troubles in finding the hostel part once I reached the complex - the provided directions to the area were fine, but once I got across the bridge I didn't realise I had to walk around a building, up a hill and turn a corner, especially late at night with no one around to ask for directions! It was all good once I found the place though, the staff were friendly, and I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Ongface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My sister and I stayed in the hostel for 3 nights it's a fantastic place to stay, nearest tube stop is ten min walk at the most. The prison has been renovated to a very high standard is spotless everywhere, staff are friendly and helpful, the restaurant and bar are warm and inviting with excellent food. Breakfast is nine kronor but well worth the money. If you want to stay somewhere quirky stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flymetothemoon66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed there during out weekend visit to Stockholm in mid-October this year. When booking, I was looking - as always - for a place with a special look and feel. Langholm Hostel was a hit! Prison cells converted to hostel rooms, with bunks and a little window high on the wall on one side and a comfy, clean, fully equiped bathroom on the other side - for us it was a perfect place. Relatively cheap (taking into account that we are in Scandinavia), good location, about 30 minutes to get to the Central Station on foot, bus and subway stops close to the hostel. What I disliked here, was the fact that the bedsheets, towels and cleaning (!) was not included in the room price, not even mentioning no breakfast. I would definitely prefer paying more and not seeing all these separate payments - it's just annoying, isn't it? But still, I totally recommend the place for all of you, comrades inmates:)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ekaterina_Eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed in a double room, at the hostel (private room). The private room was away from the dorm hostel rooms.

Pros:
Good value for Stockholm
Private bathroom and shower which were clean and new
Flat screen tv
New furnishings
Comfortable bed

Cons:
A fair way from the centre of Stockholm - about a 20 minute walk from Gamla Stan

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller755953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Hornstull & Langholmen
Langholmen Hotell
Langholmen Hotell
#73 of 154 in Stockholm
223 reviews
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#97 of 154 in Stockholm
266 reviews
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Södermalm
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
#9 of 154 in Stockholm
2,121 reviews
Vasastan
Hostel Dalagatan
Hostel Dalagatan
#12 of 67 in Stockholm
600 reviews
Kungsholmen
City Hostel
City Hostel
#2 of 67 in Stockholm
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langholmen Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langholmen Hostel

Address: 20 Laangholmsmuren | Box 9116, Stockholm 117 33, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Hornstull & Langholmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range: £32 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Langholmen Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Langholmen Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langholmen Hotel Stockholm
Langholmen Hotel Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing