We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of character”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Langholmen Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Langholmen Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lots of character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

This former prison has lots of character. Like everywhere in Stockholm, it's expensive, but clean with all the amenities. The waitress in the restaurant at dinner was lovely; she saw I was on my own and took extra care and even brought me a complementary starter. On arrival, I got an upgrade on my room, which can't be bad. The room was still tiny, but the shower was powerful and hot, and the wifi was fast. Breakfast was expensive but amazing- definitely worth it to fill up before a day's walking. The location is a bit out of the centre, but the island of Langholmen is beautiful, and walking into town wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisDrizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    89
    19
    6
    0
See reviews for
28
62
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flen, Sweden
Level Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

The area is a little bit off track, but in the summer this is just good since it's located in an area where you just want to sit outside in the nature and relax. Along the island there are numeral places to sit and have a picnic and to swim.
So how is the Långholmen hostel? It's very nice, clean and great service - although if you have a slight claustrophobia like I have it's a little downside to it since you you'll sleep in a real cell. Very very high standard but it's a cell - sorry! If you don't have a problem with it - just go and especially in the summer!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattsaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Langholmen Hostel for two nights and were slightly apprehensive because of the word "hostel" - but it's not really a hostel at all if you book your own ensuite private room. Admittedly, the room is small, but that - and the bunk beds - just adds to the prison atmosphere. They are clean and modern but have retained their cell "feel". The ensuite has been converted from half the adjacent cell and again was airy and bright. Our room was on the 4th floor, and we had a good quiet night's sleep. The breakfast buffet was great with a huge range of hot and cold food, but try to avoid peak serving times, as it gets incredibly busy. To sum up, despite the hostel being a bit out of the way (about an hour walk to the Old Town), this is a great place to stay, it's cheap (for Stockholm) and its really interesting!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eeeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay, nice hostel, clean, and really cool concept. Bit pricey, but so is everything, so that's fine. Location is on a beautiful island, short walk to nearest tube. I didn't find many cafés or shops around but I wasn't really looking either. Overall was cool, would stay again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Reka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night in a single room at the Langholmen Hostel, and it was super cool. Decent price, nice bathroom, clean, and that little bit of extra charm - who wouldn't love sleeping in a renovated prison? But seriously, the place is tops. The breakfast buffet had a good variety of food on offer, and good quality too. I had minor troubles in finding the hostel part once I reached the complex - the provided directions to the area were fine, but once I got across the bridge I didn't realise I had to walk around a building, up a hill and turn a corner, especially late at night with no one around to ask for directions! It was all good once I found the place though, the staff were friendly, and I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ongface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

My sister and I stayed in the hostel for 3 nights it's a fantastic place to stay, nearest tube stop is ten min walk at the most. The prison has been renovated to a very high standard is spotless everywhere, staff are friendly and helpful, the restaurant and bar are warm and inviting with excellent food. Breakfast is nine kronor but well worth the money. If you want to stay somewhere quirky stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flymetothemoon66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed there during out weekend visit to Stockholm in mid-October this year. When booking, I was looking - as always - for a place with a special look and feel. Langholm Hostel was a hit! Prison cells converted to hostel rooms, with bunks and a little window high on the wall on one side and a comfy, clean, fully equiped bathroom on the other side - for us it was a perfect place. Relatively cheap (taking into account that we are in Scandinavia), good location, about 30 minutes to get to the Central Station on foot, bus and subway stops close to the hostel. What I disliked here, was the fact that the bedsheets, towels and cleaning (!) was not included in the room price, not even mentioning no breakfast. I would definitely prefer paying more and not seeing all these separate payments - it's just annoying, isn't it? But still, I totally recommend the place for all of you, comrades inmates:)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekaterina_Eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#7 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Hornstull & Langholmen
Langholmen Hotell
Langholmen Hotell
#77 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#92 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Vasastan
Hostel Dalagatan
Hostel Dalagatan
#6 of 62 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langholmen Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langholmen Hostel

Property: Langholmen Hostel
Address: 20 Laangholmsmuren | Box 9116, Stockholm 117 33, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Hornstull & Langholmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Langholmen Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langholmen Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langholmen Hotel Stockholm
Langholmen Hotel Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing