We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem outside the city center”

Browallshof Hotell & Matsal AB
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Browallshof Hotell & Matsal AB
Ranked #123 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 12 December 2010

I spent a pleasant weekend here with my wife. If we ever make it back to Stockholm, we'll definitely try to stay and eat at the Claes pa Hornet again.

We stayed in a two-window corner room overlooking on the side the restaurant patio. The windows did not open, but the inroom heater/AC was comfortable. It was snug by American standards, but there was enough storage and living space for a weekend. We enjoyed the antique furniture, which made the room quite charming. I thought the room would be loud as the restaurant is very popular, but it wasn't. At least, we had no trouble sleeping! There is internet access in the room, but it's not wireless. The attached bathroom was surprisingly big with a nice, large soaking tub and an adequate pedestal sink. A medicine cabinet or a storage shelf would have been nice. Overall, the room and linens were very clean. I rate the cleanliness average, however, only because when sitting in the tub, I could smell a strong mildew odor. It made the bath less relaxing, but otherwise I never smelled it. I never mentioned this to the hotel staff, so I don't fault them, but maybe there is a water issue in that particular bathroom.

We found the self-serve, buffet style breakfast adequate. We've certainly seen better and worse in Scandinavia. We prefer a hot breakfast, but the hotel provided a wide variety of cold cut meats and cheeses, granola/museli, hard and soft boiled eggs, breads, and fresh juices. Would have been monotonous for a week, but over a weekend, it was fine. Everything tasted fresh. The coffee was excellent--the best drip I've ever had on a vacation. I'm a coffee snob that is rarely satisfied, and for me, the coffee made the breakfast that much better!

The hotel staff we spoke to were all helpful and friendly (particularly by Scandinavian standards). They shared a lot of suggestions and tips as we planned our activities. This was particularly helpful because this hotel is off the tourist path, well outside the city center. A subway station is a short walk away, and you'll need it unless you have rented a car.

While staying there, you MUST eat at the attached restaurant, easily the best we visited in Stockholm and Oslo. The manager (owner?) waited on us and guided us through the menu. He suggested excellent dishes and wine pairings. His meatballs have won local awards, and I can understand why. I don't recall everything we had, but the food was excellent. Delicious and creative. This may sound hyperbole, but the meal we had was one of the most memorable my wife and I have had anywhere. The restaurant is frequented by locals for good reason. It really is a wonderful dining experience.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amicusterrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Browallshof Hotell & Matsal AB
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2010

Normally I don't have time to write reviews but felt compelled to in this case, since Claes På Hörnet is a fine hotel and the current reviews do not do it justice. It is conveniently located close to the KTH AlbaNova university campus and is a fine hotel for the business traveler including free internet. The breakfast is excellent and in the lobby there is one of the best-known restaurants of the area (with the same name as the hotel). Wall-to-wall carpeting was for me personally the only downside; everything else was A+. Service, quietness everything else was great. Restaurant has excellent food and locals come from all of Stockholm to eat here.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tkakus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We live in Stockholm and stayed at Claes På Hörnet in their suite for one night with a three course dinner and breakfast. We chose the hotel as a getaway in the city in a small charming hotel with a wonderful restaurant. And this was exactly what we got. And we got it for a real bargain price; approximately 180 Euro for everything! I can't say anything about the other rooms but this one was rather big with old style furniture and a marvellous looking bed (with flat-screen tv inside it!). The bathroom had a jacuzzi. The view wasn't any special but there is no special view to have here. The staff was kind and attentive, but not as attentive as in four star accomodations of course.The restaurant is very good and we could choose from any dish on the menu, even though our stay was at a fix price (since they could have chosen the cheapest dishes for us, i.e. a fixed menu, on instead of giving us the opportunity to choose whatever we wanted). The only downside was that there was no shampoo in our bathroom, we had to buy it. We found our stay pleasant, charming and for a very good price to. For a tourist coming from out of town this hotel is maybe a bit outside the "real" city. But with the train it takes you only a couple a minutes to get there. By foot 10-20 minutes to get to Odenplan, Hötorget and T-centralen.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonuSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2008

Hello World,

I emailed them to book a room. They didn't get back to me. I emailed them again. Again they didn't get back to me. I call them up and book a hotel room for the 20 May 08. The room is confirmed with the wrong date, nameley the 19 May 08.

Because emails hadn't worked when I tried to book the room. I called up and asked to change it to the 20 May. The woman who answered the phone said that would not be a problem. I trusted her.

So when we didn't show up on the 19 May 08 we were charged a no show fee although we were fully intending to show up the 20 May and had changed the date.

I then complained to the management. Who suprisingly didn't get back to me. Fredrik the Manager finally after being chased returned my email by saying that we didn't show up and therefore he charged me. He did not apologise for anything that I mentioned in the email. He was rude and utterly appalling.

I would not recommend staying at Clas Pa Hornet. However I will admit their food is excellent. But then again a lot of food in Stockholm is excellent and I'd probably choose to spend my money elsewhere.

I am dissappointed, that I was charged for a refund. But even more annoyed with the fact that on their website they do not state their cancellation policy, nor in the booking email they sent to us - so what right do they have - what legal right do they have to charge my card at this point?!

I am still angry and it's been 10 days!

Anna

3  Thank AnnaO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Worcester, MA
116
Reviewed 14 July 2003

We had a VERY poor experience. Our initial room was small, not at all like the rooms shown in their publicity. The carpet was soiled and the room over looked a park bench one floor below, where the local homeless congregate. The air conditioner was a freestanding unit that we turned on and departed for the afternoon. When we returned, the air conditioner was not functioning and our roof top room was sweltering hot, far warmer that the outside temperature. The windows could not be opened without also having the drapes open, a problem given the men sitting on the nearby bench. After pointing out the air conditioner malfunction to the management we were offered a different room which was approximately half the size of the original room. No apologies were offered, their attitude was dismissive, and no discount was offered despite the room size. We choose to move to another hotel, the Nordic Sea, which was delightful!

16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jobbarende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ulf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Vasastan
Browallshof Hotell
Browallshof Hotell
#93 of 154 in Stockholm
51 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Hansson
Hotel Hansson
#122 of 154 in Stockholm
298 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Drottning Kristina
Hotel Drottning Kristina
#24 of 154 in Stockholm
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Vasastan
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
#40 of 154 in Stockholm
830 reviews
Vasastan
Ibis Styles Stockholm Odenplan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browallshof Hotell & Matsal AB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browallshof Hotell & Matsal AB

Address: Surbrunnsgatan 20, Stockholm 113 48, Sweden (Formerly Claes pa Hornet)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: £91 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Browallshof Hotell & Matsal AB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claes Pa Hornet Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing