We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad we found it”
Review of Hotel Bema

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bema
Ranked #98 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Arlington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Glad we found it”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Tourist info office near train station found this for us. A bit of a hike from typical tourist points, but a great value. Breakfast included, and they deliver it to your room! Wifi worked well. Room quiet, comfortable, but small; ours faced street and sometimes got traffic noise. Staff helpful and pleasant. Many dining options nearby.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gonzocook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    50
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
27
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Our bright, pleasantly decorated and furnished room overlooked the park. The hotel is convenient to shopping (an ICA supermarket is 5 minutes away for more budget conscious travellers) and coffee shops and restaurants with sidewalk seating are plentiful in the area. Breakfast served in the room was more than adequate--a variety of rolls with butter, jam, ham, cheese, and coffee and tea. This hotel is a real value in an expensive city. The 65 bus, which stops across the street, gets you effortlessly to lots of tourist destinations and back. 10-15 minute walk to Central Station or Arlanda Express to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roamingbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minsk, Belarus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Room is small, but perfect for 2 people. TV, free WiFi, bathroom and breakfast in the room. This is the best you could find for this money.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SergeyVereshnya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Hotel Bema is not cheap, but is cheaper than most other hotels. The staff is ok, but not too smiling. The room I've got was very small. The best thing to say about this 2-star hotel is the location nearby Tegnerlunden. It is a short walk to both Drottninggatan and Sveavägen.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morten_dahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
489 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Me and my wife stayed in this hotel over the 2010 Easter Holidays.

We got the Bus from Skanska Airport to the Bus/Train station, and from an email from the hotel, they said the hotel is within 5 minutes walk of the station (though Googleearth say its 15 minutes walk for some reason) and they were correct. Just walk out the main entrance of the train station, turn left and walk pass the Raddisson hotel and Burger King until you come to a small square with a large church. Cross the road and continue up the hill and the hotel is on the left hand side.... so it is within 5 minutes walk of the train station easily!!!!

We arrived at 10pm, and the hotel staff were more than ready for us.... after they give you the key to the room they will ask what time you want breakfast at, as there is no dining room, and breakfast is served in your bedroom.

The hotel seems to be the whole bottom floor in an appartment complex, and the rooms are pretty small, but the main thing is the room is clean.

Uusal hotel facilities, but the tv only has something like 4 channels and most of them are not on untill 10am (nothing in English though)

Only fall back for this hotel though is the Air Conditioning... it sounds like a jet engine, and unfortunatly its controlled at the front desk and is for the whole hotel, not just individual rooms, so is a pain for sleeping at night, though my wife was not really bothered by it.

Breakfast is nothing special...a pot of coffee/tea, 2 white and 2 brown rolls, a plate of cheese and ham, and butter and jam.

In a city where every penny counts, and finding a cheap hotel is a challenge in itself (this hotel is only £15 more than what Hostels in the city wrere charging) you get what you pay for I suppose.

The hotel location is good in terms of sightseeing..... just 10 minute walk and you are at the edge of the old town and the Royal Palace. In our time there we never used public transport or taxi's once, as the city centre s very compact and everything is walkable.

As with the hotel, there is a Burger King and a 7 Eleven within a jump of the front door, so getting those essentials for a day out is easy to get.

Staff in the hotel are really friendly and will go out of their way to help you with whatever task you give them.

Also the free wi-fi is a welcome addition to the rooms.

I have already recommended this hotel to friends going to Stockholm.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wanderer_scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2008

Hotel Bema enjoys a great location, putting almost all of Stockholm's main sights within walking distance. Staff were very friendly & helpful but we had some problems. Cleanliness was OK (bedlinen and bedroom generally) but the bathroom sink was clogged and we found that the plug insert was clogged with old hair and muck. Despite pulling it out and leaving it in the sink one morning so that it was not overlooked, I found on return that it had simply been put back in the same state. I cleaned it myself in the end. On the first night we were woken by the bedside alarm going off around midnight - presumably set by the previous guest. This is something housekeeping should check as it is difficult for guests to spot that these fiddly bedside radio/alarms are set or not. The other complaint is the breakfasts. Sweden does not have good bread anyway but the morning rolls (accompanied by processed cheese & ham, plus marmalade/jam) were very dry and perhaps croissants or pastries would have been a better offering. All these things could be easily addressed by the management/owners.

Our room was on the ground floor overlooking the street and was comfortable and light. We were able to open the tip windows above the main windows to get fresh air with complete security. We don't mind traffic noise so that was no problem and Swedes are early to bed anyway it seems. There was very little "people noise" late at night.

We were very glad we did not waste money on one of the Stockholm Cards (for transport & attraction entry costs) as you would not get anywhere near your money's worth on a short stay, in our case 6 days. In fact, we heard two guest offering theirs to the hotel at the end of their stay as they had not been used. It's easy to walk around Stockholm and that's much the best way of seeing it anyway. The boat trips (for example, to Drottningholm) are not included in these Visitor Cards - perhaps you get a discount but that's all - and are you really going to visit 75 attractions in 72 hours? We used the metro once and the Saturday only tram, bought 2 boat trips, entry to Drottningholm (Palace & Chinese Pavilion) and the Vasa Museum entry (a must-see - absolutely amazing and so well presented) and were happy to have saved the 121 euros that 2 adult 72-hour Stockholm Cards would have cost us.

A big plus for Hotel Bema is its location. It's an easy walk from Central Station and the various boat trip departure points. If you continue up Upplandsgatan away from the city centre, you come to the Odenplan area where there are lots of well-priced restaurants. Stockholm seems to be in love with sushi, Indian food and Italian and it wasn't easy to track down local dishes although we did have a wonderful meal of classic Swedish cuisine at Prinsen in Master Samuelsgatan (incl. reindeer). Closer to Hotel Bema, in fact just around the corner in Radmansgatan is a wonderful small Italian restaurant called Buchetto - we highly recommend it too.

One word of advice - watch the weather reports. We had two days of drizzly rain and then clear blue skies and sunshine but the wind remained freezingly cold and scarves, boots, gloves, thick socks etc are not out of place in early to mid September when much of northern Europe is still enjoying much milder conditions.

  • Liked — Location & staff friendliness
  • Disliked — Breakfast and bathroom cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank TravellingScribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2008

It was our first time in Sweden and we stayed at Hotel Bema for two nights. The staff members were very helpful. For example, my luggage wheel loosened while lugging it through Stockholm's cobblestone streets. We asked the man at the front desk for tools to repair my luggage wheel, and we repaired my luggage within minutes!
Other positives include the breakfast! Breakfast was served to our room! Plenty of food! The room we stayed in (on the 1st floor) had wooden floor and there was a couch area, which can be turned into a bed. The room was large by European standards. The other thing that I really like was the towel warmer! The hotel is in a residential area and surrounded by schools. There is a park across the hotel. Very good if you have kids or want to be outside.

Downsides of the hotel. The bathroom, especially the shower and bathroom floor, was not that clean. The hotel requires some walking to downtown Stockholm. Make sure you bring comfy shoes! Lots of cars zooming down the street outside of the hotel, especially during rush hours (morning and evening).

  • Liked — Amenities for the price
  • Disliked — Bathroom not clean as expected
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank heysugar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Vasastan
August Strindberg Hotell
August Strindberg Hotell
#137 of 155 in Stockholm
3.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Norrmalm
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#96 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western & Hotel
Best Western & Hotel
#37 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Hotel With Urban Deli
Hotel With Urban Deli
#44 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Upplandsgatan
Scandic Upplandsgatan
#28 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Kungsholmen
Hotel Aldoria
Hotel Aldoria
#128 of 155 in Stockholm
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bema

Property: Hotel Bema
Address: 13 Upplandsgatan, Stockholm 111 23, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bema 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bema reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bema Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing